We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Nearby Hotels
Smithfield Station(Smithfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
30
18
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
18
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshe crab soupgarden housesmithfield hamham rollbrunswick stewmain stsouthern hospitalitynext morninggreat place to staycolonial williamsburgsuitewedding
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The suite (sitting room, bedroom and bath with entrance foyer) was at the back of the second floor and was delightful. Great bed, two flat screen TV's in case you and traveling companion have different viewing tastes. You're cheating yourself if you don't take at least one dinner at the Tavern downstairs. Best food in town. Great hot breakfast cooked to order is included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I always look forward to stopping at The Smithfield Inn on our way from Richmond to the Outer Banks. We love the inn and have enjoyed lunches in the bar area as well as outside. The service and food is always good--until our last visit. The Cuban sandwich was NOT a hit. The pork tasted old and it was definitely not their best effort. On our way home from OBX we had a pulled pork sandwich at Subway in Smithfield that was much better.....and cheaper! We haven't given up on Smithfield Inn, but we will definitely not order the Cuban again!.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N2Books
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This inn dates to 1752. It is an excellent place to stay and dine. You have the option of eating in the Tavern, which is casual, or the dining room for fine dining. The staff are great folks with your needs in mind. Much to see in this historic town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here one night this week in a suite in the Garden House as it was the only one -available with a king-sized bed. Apparently, there is an a/c system for the house in general and also a "through the wall" unit which can be controlled inside the room. Unfortunately, if you used the room-controlled unit the air was directed toward you while in bed. Your only option other than being in bed was sitting on it or in a small wicker "dressing table" chair. There was no place to sit and relax, read, do needlework, etc. There was a large closet and an adequate bathroom and the unit was set up as a "jack and "jill" connecting to another bedroom with two twin beds (I think (only glanced in the room, looking for a place to sit)). The space (such as there was of it) was well done and very clean. The temperature when you opened the door to the house felt like it was set somewhere around 50 degrees and there is no elevator.

We ate dinner on the outside patio and the food was very good and we enjoyed watching the lightening bugs and having the place to ourselves as other diners obviously left fairly early. We spoke to the waitress about our accommodations and she told us the suite we had originally wanted would be available the next night as the reservation had been cancelled and the money was being refunded. She checked again to make sure and told us the manager had been notified and they would hold the suite for us until the next morning.

When we called the next morning we were told the suite was not available and had not been at any time that week. The room we were in was available but we declined in order not to tempt claustrophobia. Overall, it's a nice place. I would suggest asking specific questions about the room(s) you are interested in to make sure your needs are met.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the size of the room and where it is located. Some have elevator access, some do not.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We ate dinner at the Tavern. The food was average and overpriced. I had a spinach salad which said it came with strawberries, blueberries and nuts, for $8.95. I had exactly 4 thin strawberry slices, 6 blueberries and a small amount of of nuts with about 2 cups of raw spinach. My husband had the chicken salad sandwich and asked for two sides. We knew there would be a charge for the second side but $4.95 for a half cup of fruit was really overpriced! I suggest you eat across the street at The Taste of Springfield which offers much better food at more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cew718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews