We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isle of Wight history personified”

Isle of Wight County Museum
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Smithfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum chronicles the history of the Isle of Wight County with a special emphasis on water, ham and agricultural industries. The exhibits include prehistoric fossils, Native American and Colonial artifacts, a turn-of-the-century country store, displays interpreting the Smithfield ham industry and perhaps the museum’s most notable artifact: the world’s oldest, edible cured ham.
Smithfield, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Isle of Wight history personified”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Isle of Wight County Museum was founded (in a former 1913 bank) to preserve and promote the county's history : peanuts, ham, and cotton. There is something for everyone - prehistoric fossils, a newly developed Cold War exhibit in what was the former bank vault, an exhibit on the steamboat James Adams which was a floating theatre, a 1900 era country store exhibit, a smokehouse, the world's oldest ham and the world's oldest peanut. Great place to visit. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. It's free to one and all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetJellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! With almost 400 years of documented (and millions more undocumented!) history, we try to tell stories that are somewhat unique to our county history. The museum is lucky to be housed in a beautiful old bank building topped by a stained-glass dome that many guests overlook when they visit.
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of history.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

A good way to spend an hour. Nicely laid out displays and artifacts, including a peanut from 1890 and a ham from 1903. Interesting short film on the history of the region. Plus it's free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSSaternye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for visiting the museum. We are so glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the go again”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The museum was interesting, we looked at a film telling about its history, an old general store and has the oldest ham. This is in the building that was erected in 1913 as a bank.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elsie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. We are so glad you had a nice visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very nice local museum with a great layout!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Isle of Wight County Museum is a hidden gem in the Tidewater area. The museum alone is reason enough to visit Smithfield along with other attractions and restaurants within walking distance,.

Adults and children alike will equally enjoy this museum as there are a number of interesting displays along with a few hands-on ones for the children. The layout and quality of this museum is on par with some of the finer ones around the country despite it's small size.

Outstanding example of a local museum!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSZY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our museum. We try to balance our exhibits to appeal to both adults and children. We are currently in the process of revamping our exhibits, so when you get a chance to come back, you will have more to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyro, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Been there several times. The old store display is neat. Bought some local books from the gift shop. Go on Saturday and you can go to the Farmer's Market next door too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pwNma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We keep a variety of local history and genealogy books in stock in our gift shop. Beautiful downtown Smithfield is definitely the place to be on Saturday mornings.
Thank you for your continued suppot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight County Museum also viewed

 

Been to Isle of Wight County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing