We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“County Museum”

Isle of Wight County Museum
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Smithfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum chronicles the history of the Isle of Wight County with a special emphasis on water, ham and agricultural industries. The exhibits include prehistoric fossils, Native American and Colonial artifacts, a turn-of-the-century country store, displays interpreting the Smithfield ham industry and perhaps the museum’s most notable artifact: the world’s oldest, edible cured ham.
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This small museum is free and is very interesting. Has the world's oldest and the world's largest Smithfield ham and interesting facts about Smithfield.

Thank 747Luv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to the Isle of Wight County Museum. We hope you enjoyed it and learned a little bit of history in the process!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Isle of Wight County Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The museum is located in the historic downtown district of Smithfield, VA. The building is an old bank with a small gift shop. Its a self guided tour covering old style methods of local farming, and great Civil War artifacts that were recovered from Fort Boykin which is still being restored. The museum has a large room which houses an old time country store. In the main gallery there is a civil war cannon which was made by the Confederate Tredegar Iron works in Richmond, VA. There is no admission fee.

Thank jaimeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review! We try to cover most of the history pertaining to the county with emphasis on certain parts of that history. We are in the process of creating new exhibits to further tell our story. Look for our Civil War Sesquicentennial program this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Isle of Wight County Museum was founded (in a former 1913 bank) to preserve and promote the county's history : peanuts, ham, and cotton. There is something for everyone - prehistoric fossils, a newly developed Cold War exhibit in what was the former bank vault, an exhibit on the steamboat James Adams which was a floating theatre, a 1900 era country store exhibit, a smokehouse, the world's oldest ham and the world's oldest peanut. Great place to visit. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. It's free to one and all.

Thank RetJellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! With almost 400 years of documented (and millions more undocumented!) history, we try to tell stories that are somewhat unique to our county history. The museum is lucky to be housed in a beautiful old bank building topped by a stained-glass dome that many guests overlook when they visit.
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A good way to spend an hour. Nicely laid out displays and artifacts, including a peanut from 1890 and a ham from 1903. Interesting short film on the history of the region. Plus it's free!

Thank SSSaternye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for visiting the museum. We are so glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The museum was interesting, we looked at a film telling about its history, an old general store and has the oldest ham. This is in the building that was erected in 1913 as a bank.

Thank Elsie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. We are so glad you had a nice visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight County Museum also viewed

 

Been to Isle of Wight County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing