We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinning spot”

The Restaurant at Smithfield Station
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Restaurant at Smithfield Station is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and offers a variety of fine cuisine. Renowned for an extensive menu that places an emphasis on Fresh Local Seafood that combines the flair of legendary Smithfield Ham into many of their dishes. Beautiful Water Views, Reservations Recommended.The Smithfield Station IBX Bar & Grill is also located next door and offers the same great view, but with a more casual setting and great bar specials.
Lexington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice dinning spot”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Plenty of room, they have outside and inside seating. Large menu, good salad and appetizers, full bar. Local and tourist people enjoying the evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank U103TXkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    100
    46
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Seafood”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife, Sandra, said she had some of the yummiest scallops ever! Thanks!! My cousin, Patsy, had an amazingly yummy salad!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillipig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is in a beautiful area, sitting on the water, so the scenery and the good food are well worth the visit. The Sunday Brunch is excellent... They make your omletes right in front of you to your own order. Very good oysters rockafella, yum, yum !!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DE
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Used to be a favorite...”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sad to post this review after so many years of great service and food from Smithfield Station, but after a couple of less that satisfactory experiences, I have to say the restaurant has become a disappointment. My family has been coming to this restaurant for 20 years. We have celebrated many birthdays, holidays, etc and always been very pleased with the food and service. I do not know if the restaurant is now under new management or what, but our last few visits were not up to standard, and this visit was abysmal. The server and food practically ruined my sister-in-laws birthday celebration. Food was forgotten, took almost an hour to arrive, was served cold, and was not all that great. We were forgotten in a corner most of the time, and always waiting for someone--anyone --to come over and refill our drinks, take away dishes, bring napkins, etc. The server even ruined the surprise of the birthday cake--he totally forgot that we had this prearranged and brought the check without bringing the cake out from the kitchen! Then when we reminded him that we were not quite ready "wink wink", he says "oh yeah you want the cake". Oh brother - I think that he just wanted us to leave. They did remove one entree from the check, but the check was still 150$. We were all so disappointed, and I felt bad for my brother who had planned such a nice evening for his wife. In time, I will give Smithfield Station another try, hopefully they will get a handle on things and return to the wonderful restaurant that my family has always loved.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DixieSherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful View but an average meal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a beautiful place to sit and enjoy the water. The server was excellent, but the table we were taken to was right next to the coffee pots and servers station so it was noisy and just not pleasant. We asked to be moved, but they said they could not reseat us, even though there were several tables empty and it was early Friday night.

The food did not match up to the views, it was just ok, nothing special, and did not go to this beautiful establishment for average.

They say to do the Sunday Buffet, so maybe next time we will do Sunday mornings rather than Friday nights.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Smithfield Station also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing