We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet getaway”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Smithfield Station is a great getaway if you need quiet, relaxation and GREAT food. We called to get a reservation the week before we decided to go and got one of the last rooms available that weeked in the original building. The room was recently renovated and comfortable; however, it was on the corner of the upstairs so although we had a water view, it was also streetside which is noisy until late evening because the street is so close. It tunred out to be a cloudy, cold weekend so being in a room overtop the restaurant was great! The food was excellent and service very good and friendly. Would highly recommend Smithfiled Station only be sure to ask for a creekside room and in the lodge (unless bad weather) if possible. The lodge just feels newer and more areas to sit and move about.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms creekside - avoid streeside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PasadenaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Glad to hear you all had such a nice time! The lodge rooms are more spacious for sure, but had the weather been better, I think you would have really enjoyed the huge private balcony in the room you were in. Unfortunately, weather is one thing we can't control! We really appreciate such a nice review. Give us a call with a little more notice and we will see if we can't take extra special care of you and let you check out some of our new rooms!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

Recieved and used Groupon.It was a TERRIFIC value. Warm friendly family owned hotel with marina on Pagan River. Clean BIG beautiful room w/balcony overlooking marina, fireplace, and stunning bath with jucuzzi tub! Dinner was divine with the Norfolk Platter, buttery garlicy scallops, crab, and shrimp..oi! Breakfast was a full buffett of Southern Goodness.The light house are actually guest rooms..a really special Gem of a Hidden Secret...will certainly return and recommend highly! All set in a quaint little Victorian water town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opyl1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Wow! Thanks for the great comments! Can't wait to see you guys again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I spent one night in the top floor of the lighthouse in March. What a lovely, unique room! We were extremely comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. We also took advantage of the winter special at the hotel restaurant (a very good deal) and enjoyed ourselves greatly. A peaceful night away from it all! We will be back again.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank MamaSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

We truly appreciate your kind words! My family and our staff are very proud of what we do here and it is only when our guests enjoy themselves that we get the reward we work for. Thanks again!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We had stayed at Smithfield Station in the early 1990's when our daughter lived in the area. The addition is wonderful. On a cold January week-end we really enjoyed our room with view of a much cleaner Pagan River and a realistic electric fireplace in our room. The mattress was extremely comfortable for a husband with an ailing back. The restaurant food was as superb as it had been years ago with seafood and Smithfield ham as our favorites along with Sunday brunch. We plan to be back much sooner this next time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Thanks for the kind words! We are always reinvesting in this property to make it enjoyable for our guests. We look forward to a return visit and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed in the upper room of the Lighthouse at Smithfield and were overwhelmed at the romantic atmosphere that had been created. The view from the platform up in the light of the lighthouse was calming and breathtaking all at the same time. The king size bed did not dwarf the room and slept very comfortably. The fireplace provided a cozy atmosphere and made the room toasty warm. The bathroom was stocked with Bath and Body Works lotions and soaps and had a large mirror and cosmetic area. Our favorite part was the jacuzzi tub with plenty of room for two and the spacious shower with two shower heads. The staff were friendly and worked very hard to accomodate us. We felt spoiled rotten when we left.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank birthdaygirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thanks for the kind words! Spoiling you rotten is what the lighthouse suite is meant to do! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed in the "lighthouse" suite and it was very lovely. The entire room was very nice, great views of the water from every window. The jacuzzi and double shower were wonderful. The small built in eating area was just perfect for the 2 of us to have evening snacks and do some reading. The only negative, according to my husband but not to me, was that because of so many windows and the lighthouse at the top, you can forget sleeping in late if the sun bothers you. It didn't bother me at all and I slept in very comfortably. Wi-Fi in the room would have been nice and maybe updated electronics. Because I wanted the trip to be relaxing without having to worry about cost, they allowed me to prepay for everything, including dinner and breakfast and the staff at the hotel and the restaurant were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back for a longer trip, but only because of the cost, we may not stay in the lighthouse suite but definitely one of their other rooms.

Also, I had the very best burger I've ever eaten in my life at their restaurant. The breakfast was wonderful and I had the best seafood omelet ever. The food and the service was splendid. There was also a cute store nearby called Girl This where we purchased gifts and the staff was friendly there as well.

The parking lot could use some updating, as it seems to be gravel and sand instead of asphalt. Since it was snowing when we arrived, it was a little tricky getting in and out and walking to our suite.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2010

Thank you for such a nice review. We here at Smithfield Station strive to make every stay a memorable one and any special requests you have are always met with enthusiasm. Wi-Fi is available in all of our rooms here at the Station so I am sorry to hear you did not find it. If you ever need anything, our helpful staff is only a quick phone call away and it would be our pleasure to make sure you have all that you desire. Once again, thanks for visiting us and for the wonderful comments. We would love to see you again soon and if there is anything we can do to accommodate you in the future, please let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Great waterfront inn -quaint town with lots of shopping. Great restaurant on location with wonderful food. Don't hesitate to try this for a romantic, quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunsterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2010

Thank you for the great review. Being a family owned and operated restaurant and hotel, it is words like these that make our dedication to this business worthwhile. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
17.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
11.0 mi away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
622 reviews
13.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: £104 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing