We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Rare Find”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Rare Find”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Smithfield Station exceeded my expectations. My room was located on the third floor of the original building above the restaurant with windows facing the Pagan River and the marina. It was beautifully decorated, comfortable, large and spotlessly clean. It had a sofa, desk and mini-refrigerator. My only complaint about the room is that there was no light above the desk making it difficult to read at night. Breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was bountiful. Although it is described as Continental, it included freshly made omelettes, waffles, breakfast meats and an array of cereals as well as the expected pastries, breads, fruit, jucies, teas and coffees. The women workers in the breakfast area were very friendly and helpful. For an evening meal, the restaurant, though pricey, is excellent. If you are on a tight budget, there are other options available in town. The hotel is located in the historic area in walking distance of places of interest, museums and art galleries. Across the street, is a huge park which has about four miles of walking trails that pass over marshes, through woodlands and alongside of orchards. Persons planning to visit Jamestown and Williamsburg should consider staying here. There is a free ferry that transports passengers and their cars across the James River and deposits them at Jamestown.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingProf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Glad to have you guys and thanks for the great comments! If you liked the room you were in, let me set you up in the Lodge next time and I think you will truly be blown away! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    86
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
251
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had a night to kill between a vacation in the Outer Banks and our flight out of Norfolk. Didn't know much about the area, and didn't want to end up in some anonymous suburban or airport chain hotel surrounded by parking lots. I saw this place listed on Expedia and after checking out their website decided to book a room for my family. I'm so glad we chose Smithfield Station, because it was like a little mini-vacation within our vacation. Smithfield is a really cute, tiny town with a lovely historical main street. Smithfield Station is a marina, restaurant and hotel on a very picturesque riverfront. It was a quiet, friendly and pretty place to spend a night. Our room was one of the older ones, I think, but still very comfortable and met our needs just fine. The view was great and there was no bothersome noise of any kind (I'm a little picky that way.) We ate at the restaurant, and though the ham croquettes weren't exactly my husband's cup of tea I loved my bacon wrapped scallops. The brunch was HUGE and a great value. It felt like we were in the place where locals of all ages and color come when they want to have a nice weekend brunch, which was cool. Everyone was very friendly overall and I would totally recommend this as a stopover, or even a home base from which to explore Williamsburg, Jamestown, etc...it's a pretty ferry trip and short drive to Jamestown from Smithfield.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akafau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thanks for the kind words and recommendations. We have found that those traveling to and from the Outer Banks of NC have started staying here more and more often so every good review helps! If we can ever be of service again, please let us know and I hope to meet you next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My family rented 3 rooms in the Lodge section of Smithfield Station over the past weekend (June 24-26). We got a great deal from Randy, the head hancho at the hotel - who patiently answered the many questions I had before booking - we are talking a minimum of 5 calls I made to the guy - and he graciously answered and helped me with everything :) .(Thank you Randy!) We had never been to Smithfield before so we did not know exactly what to expect. To me Smithfield meant ham...and that was about it it. We drove in on Friday from Richmond, VA - very easy 1.5 hour drive with minimal traffic on backroads :). Once we got into the town of Smithfield we were so pleasantly surprised. Definitely a small town with lots of charm! Our room in the Lodge was on the 3rd floor and ENORMOUS! I have never stayed in such a big room that wasn't a "suite". The room was very clean and we were excited about the equally as huge bathroom - complete with a very nice jacuzzi and large tiled shower. :) We had a balcony with a beautiful view overlooking the docked boats and beautiful river. Over the weekend we went bike-riding in Windsor Park which is conveniently adjacent to the hotel. We also rented kayaks and took a beautiful self-guided tour of the river. Saw lots of river-esque birds (herons, egrets, etc...) It was so peaceful and a GREAT workout. This weekend was the Olden Days Festival - one of Smithfield's bigger festivals - complete with food tents, live music, classic car shows, parades, raft races, venders, beer garden, etc... We had lots of fun on Main Street (which was blocked off for cars all weekend). All of the food we had in Smithfield was phenomenal. The Bakery & Beanery on Main Street had great sandwiches and even better desserts. We had dinner at Anna's Italian Restaurante one night - delicious pastas and pizza. But most of all, the Restaurant at the Smithfield Station...WOW. We had dinner there one night and brunch there the next day. Dinner was YUMMY. Get the bacon wrapped scallops app AND the spinach artichoke dip app. Ridiculous! Brunch was also DELISH. The omelette station had a bit of a line but it was worth the wait! I got shrimp, tomato, and green onions in my omelette - SO GOOD! Overall our stay in Smithfield was relaxing, serene, food-heavy :), and lots of fun. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morganashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thanks for such a great review! It was nice to put a face with a voice I had spooken to ... hope to see you all again soon!

Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

For the third year in a row, the Tidewater Grady-White Club held a rendezvous at Smithfield Station Marina. We had 11 boats and 27 people. Every part of our visit was well-managed and professionally done, from the docking of all our boats, to the ten rooms and cottages we booked, to the catered lunch under the tent, to the great food in the dining room and bar.
Each year the word gets out in our club and we have more attendees. And each year, the staff at Smithfield Station find a way to not only accommodate us, but to do it better than the year before. We have already scheduled our "4th Annual" visit to Smithfield Station for next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thanks for the kind words guys! We always enjoy having your group here. You all are a blast. See you next year for sure, if not before!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena MD
Level Contributor
181 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Smithfield Station is a great getaway if you need quiet, relaxation and GREAT food. We called to get a reservation the week before we decided to go and got one of the last rooms available that weeked in the original building. The room was recently renovated and comfortable; however, it was on the corner of the upstairs so although we had a water view, it was also streetside which is noisy until late evening because the street is so close. It tunred out to be a cloudy, cold weekend so being in a room overtop the restaurant was great! The food was excellent and service very good and friendly. Would highly recommend Smithfiled Station only be sure to ask for a creekside room and in the lodge (unless bad weather) if possible. The lodge just feels newer and more areas to sit and move about.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms creekside - avoid streeside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PasadenaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Glad to hear you all had such a nice time! The lodge rooms are more spacious for sure, but had the weather been better, I think you would have really enjoyed the huge private balcony in the room you were in. Unfortunately, weather is one thing we can't control! We really appreciate such a nice review. Give us a call with a little more notice and we will see if we can't take extra special care of you and let you check out some of our new rooms!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Recieved and used Groupon.It was a TERRIFIC value. Warm friendly family owned hotel with marina on Pagan River. Clean BIG beautiful room w/balcony overlooking marina, fireplace, and stunning bath with jucuzzi tub! Dinner was divine with the Norfolk Platter, buttery garlicy scallops, crab, and shrimp..oi! Breakfast was a full buffett of Southern Goodness.The light house are actually guest rooms..a really special Gem of a Hidden Secret...will certainly return and recommend highly! All set in a quaint little Victorian water town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opyl1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Wow! Thanks for the great comments! Can't wait to see you guys again soon!

Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I spent one night in the top floor of the lighthouse in March. What a lovely, unique room! We were extremely comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. We also took advantage of the winter special at the hotel restaurant (a very good deal) and enjoyed ourselves greatly. A peaceful night away from it all! We will be back again.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MamaSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
We truly appreciate your kind words! My family and our staff are very proud of what we do here and it is only when our guests enjoy themselves that we get the reward we work for. Thanks again!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing