We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was the first stop that was part of his "birthday week-end staycation." We used the Travelzoo special (King room, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries). It was very much worth it. The hotel housekeeping staff were very professional and friendly. Being an environmental professional, I love the fact that the hotel has made great strides in being environmentally conscious. The location and atmosphere in great. Accommodations were nice, the room was large. I loved the large bathroom with the walk-in shower. Definitely not designed like the normal "hotel chain" bath. Two people could function in the bath at the same time. The linen was very luxurious and top of the line. I was not afraid to sleep on the sheets..... they had that "fresh out of the dryer" smell and feel. The toiletries were Bath and Body Works. We ate lunch in the bar. I did not feel like I had to cut my foot off when I mistakenly walked on the carpet without my slippers. The carpets were really clean. The food was good and the bartender told us about happy hour. Of course we went back to partake in happy hour libations. I wish there were more Northern VA happy hours like this one. Good food, inexpensive but great drinks, and great ambience. The owner was there and very friendly and engaging. The breakfast was an added plus. I loved the ham biscuits! The cereal and breakfast bars were Kashi. I definitely recommend this hotel. Only a short 2.5 hours from DC area and close to so many Tidewater attractions. We are coming back in the Fall (I am craving that country ham).

Room Tip: Get a room with a private balcony facing the waer. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent! Hats off for your efforts in saving the environment for future generations.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvln_d_wrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for the review trvln_d_world! Did you also know we are a certified green hotel and restaurant by Virginia Green and recently won the Governors Award for Environmental Excellence? We pay attention to the environment that affords us our great views and natural beauty. While we don't advertise it often, we feel it is something we just SHOULD do. Thanks for noticing and for your kind words. We appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you this fall.

Yours in Hospitlaity,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    82
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
242
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Resort –

We booked the 2 night Travelzoo special, which included a Lodge King room, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries (3) and a gift card credit ($40) to the Smithfield Station restaurant. The front desk personnel were very nice and accommodating to our needs and our change in room requests. We ended up staying in the Junior King Suite - Room 3323 at the end of the hall – an extra large room that does not have a balcony; it does have plenty of windows though – it has 4 windows in the main part of the room and another two windows in the bathroom. You have a lovely view the Pagan river and the parking lot/main road/ and wetland nature area out front. There is a flat screen TV; free wifi; fireplace; king size bed with upgraded linens; two nice large cushioned chairs in the sitting area and a desk and chair in the room also. The bathroom was very large with a little sitting area in the corner; there was a nice large tiled walk-in shower; marble vanity with one sink; and some nice bath and body works soap/shampoo/conditioner. There was a safe and mini-fridge in the room also. We quickly viewed one of the pool side cottages – I was very happy that we were staying in the main lodge instead.

Complementary Breakfast – Smithfield Station offered a complementary Breakfast with our package. The Breakfast is set up in the Smithfield Station restaurant, and consists of the following; mini ham biscuits; waffles; eggs; delicious bacon; yogurt; fruit; bagels; toast; cereal; Danishes; juices; coffee; tea; and milk. Suggestion: inclusion of some peanut butter and more gluten free options would be wonderful.

Resort Shops – The shops at the resort seem to be struggling a bit. Hopefully, more shops will occupy the space in the near future. There were a couple of shops that we ventured into which were very nice; Victoria Rose and Sir Cakes A Lot.
Victoria Rose was a large shop with an array of interesting items; I purchased a beautiful silver cuff bracelet with a crystal studded starfish on it for $19; very nice lady runs the shop. Sir Cakes A Lot – the young lad at the counter was a gem…he was very sweet and took time and effort to explain the luscious baked goods before me in yummy detail – chocolate chip cookies made with 5 kinds of chips; bacon topped chocolate chip cookies and chocolate chip cookies with 5 kinds of nuts baked in the same cookie…and cupcakes…and ice cream! Don’t bypass either one of these shops! I just wish the shops stayed open till 9pm for guests to browse through after dinner and to grab those cookies and ice cream for dessert!

Pool - Pool was nice and clean and the water was warm on the first day and a bit cooler on the second day. We had the pool to ourselves practically for two days. There were lounge chairs and table/chair combos at the pool. There is a tent for some shade to get out of the sun. There are no electric outlets for electronics and no pool towels.

There weren’t many boats coming and going during the two mid-week days that we were there. We didn't see that many people at the resort, even though the lodge balcony rooms were all booked. We ventured into town to look around and we strolled through the local Dollar Store; Dollar General Store and Family Dollar store.


Restaurants:
Anna's Italian Restaurant –
For lunch the first day in town, I got the steak and cheese sub (only one size offered - large - which amounted to about a 12 inch sub) and it did not come with any fries or chips $7.50; my husband ordered a side salad (aprox $5) and onion rings ($3.95). The sub was not very good; looked like they used steak-um's and didn't even bother to cut the meat up when they cooked it; meat was laying on the bun in a solid flat slab; oil on the sandwich made the sandwich soggy; tomatoes were pitiful looking and lettuce not very appetizing either. My husband's salad was fine and the plate of onion rings was huge. We both had upset stomachs after eating here; not sure if it was the food or what.

Restaurant at Smithfield Station –
First night we just wanted a salad...something light. My husband ordered the chopped salad for $7.95 (mixed greens/avocado/bacon/tomatoes/ cheese/vinaigrette dressing) and I got the Wedge salad for &7.95 (iceberg wedge/tomato/bacon/blue cheese crumbles/balsamic vinegar/blue cheese dressing) and two nice refreshing glasses of water. The waitress brought us a nice mini-loaf of bread while we waited (very good and warm). The salads were large enough for a meal for each of us. If you order one as larger salads as a side salad to a meal, you’d better be prepared to split it between two people! Service was friendly and prompt. Restaurant was very clean.
The second night, we had a drink at the adjacent pub during happy hour (4pm-7pm) - $3.00 rail drinks and $3.50 large draft beer. I had a cranberry and vodka rail drink, and unfortunately, it must have been made with the cheapest vodka possible. After sitting outside with our drinks for a while, we went in to the restaurant and spent our gift card that came with our Travelzoo package. My husband got the broiled seafood platter ($26) - he said that it was plentiful and the shrimp was very fresh - the platter included fish, shrimp, scallops, a crab cake, green beans and coleslaw. I had the Chicken Isle of Wight ($26), which was a boneless chicken breast with Smithfield ham and peanuts rolled in the center, lightly coated and fried and then covered with a cream sauce; it was served on a bed of wild rice and came with green beans. The portion was huge. Don't bother with the side salad ($3.75 add on); it wasn't that good (some of the lettuce was wilted and brown) and the meal itself was more than enough food.

Taste of Smithfield – A visit to Smithfield is not complete until you have a meal at Taste of Smithfield Restaurant downtown. For lunch, my husband had the barbecue salad – a good mound of your choice of barbecue over mixed greens, with your choice of dressing ($8); he said it was very good and of adequate proportion. I had the Smithfield Lunch platter, which consisted of soup of the day (potato w/ sausage), a Smithfield ham biscuit a scoop of chicken salad, pickle, and a few crunchy pita crisps. It was delicious. The soup was very good with a smoky taste; the chicken salad was made with all white meat chicken and had a little bit of onion and dill in it. The ham biscuit was made with a soft crumbly homemade biscuit and a slice of salt ham. I have heard some people complain that at various places there wasn’t much ham on the biscuits around this area. Please realize that you are being served COUNTRY SALT ham in most instances, and the proper amount on a biscuit is a few slivers of ham…because of the salt content! It is a proper serving of Va. Salt ham!

Downtown shops:

You can take a nice leisurely walk from Smithfield Station to downtown historic Smithfield; it is just a few blocks away. You will walk past many interesting and beautiful historic houses – it is worth taking a stroll rather than just driving down the few blocks!

Paisley Pig – Wonderful consignment shop where the price tag on a wide array of items will list progressively lower prices depending how long the item has been in the shop. Many nice things to see in here.

Christmas Shop – Lovely shop chock full of Christmas trees, ornaments and whatnots! They offered patrons free water and tea. Very nice people run the shop. They were also offering free tick removal kits while we were there…may sound weird, but it is actually a very useful product!

Gimme Shelter Thrift Store – at the very end of the street where all the shops are was what looked to be a second-hand yard sale type thrift store. My husband ventured down there; I wouldn’t have been tempted to go in otherwise. Boy, was I wrong. All items are donated for sale and 100% of the proceeds go towards the care of the local homeless animals! Look around and find something to buy! I bought a little antique mirror and an artsy clay rooster! Please support those homeless animals!


You can do everything there is to do in Smithfield in one day unfortunately. We ran out of things to do...but we are the type of people who like to stay on the go. I hear that a vineyard is being established over at the Windsor Castle property (across the street from Smithfield Station). A winery there will certainly bring more business and tourism to this fine little town and the fine Smithfield Station Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valorie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so much for such a thorough review of our town and our facility. Gluten Free items on breakfast noted, it’s always nice to hear what our guests would like more of. While Smithfield isn't a huge town by any means we are quite proud of its quaintness and everyone is excited to see the winery become a part of Smithfield. We also realize that much of town can be seen in a day, but if you explore a bit more regionally you will find great farms to visit, Williamsburg/Jamestown attractions, Norfolk’s bountiful amenities and only an hour to the ocean front of Va Beach. There is a little bit for everyone here! Thanks again and we look forward to a return visit!

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I received a coupon from Groupon to stay at Smithfield Station. The special came with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. So my Birthday was July 25th and I thought what better place to stay for my Birthday. We had never had a room with the jacuzzi and it was wonderful. The rooms are very large, the beds are very comfortable and the view from our room was great. I didn't know they had breakfast with the room. Sue was wonderful and does a great job with the breakfast area. The food was so good.

Room Tip: Room 2205 has a great water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEasternShoreBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for making Smithfield Station a part of your birthday plans! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself and we welcome you any time.

Thanks again,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncks Corner
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel was the best I have stayed at in a long time, quite, clean, great views, and great staff! Then to top it off the restaurant has great food, go figure. Each morning they give a continental breakfast, but not just any breakfast. Made to order omelets or scrambled eggs and maybe more, all you want. The bathroom in the room was big, wish it was mine at home. The only thing that would have made it better would have been robes but hey, the balcony was great without them. Location is also great, not far from Jamestown or Williamsburg. Downtown Smithfield is a nice time also, The Smithfield ham shop is a must. Would stay there again and again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akrider1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Interesting to see a visitor from Moncks Corner, SC. I was just in Moncks Corner fishing Lake Maltrain (sp?) with a good friend this spring. Anyhow, I am glad we could accommodate you in our neck of the woods this time! Robes have been discussed in the past and are available in a couple of our rooms including the Lighthouse and Junior Suite. We just haven't made the investment to bring in to all the others just yet. And yes, you are welcome to live here!

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our room was very clean and spacious. It had a balcony with a nice view of the river and marina. There was enough room for 2 chairs and a table to relax and read. The table had a broken leg and our drinks kept sliding off! However, we didn't notify anyone until we checked out, so there wasn't an opportunity to fix it. The bathroom was also large and had Bath and Bodyworks products. We were happy that we had a separate waste basket for recyclables. Overall, we were very impressed and satisfied with our room. The only negative thing was that there was a lingering citrus/lysol smell in the room. It must have been from the cleaning products used, but didn't dissipate over the course of our stay. A suggestion: add additional space to lock up bikes other than the one near the bridge to the park.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressed that there was a separate waste basket in the room for recyclables.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for the review! Also a good idea for more bike racks... we are actually considering getting some bikes for our guests to use so accommodating a couple extra bikes should be very easy. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back with a few more bike racks ;)

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Friday nights are often crazy at restaurants in Smithfield. No one wants to cook and everyone want to eat out. The Smithfield Station is a great place to meet friends and enjoy a relaxing dinner. Their specials are wonderful. My hubby enjoyed the soft-shell crabs. Oh, did I mention desserts? Had a big strawberry cake. it was big enough we could have shared it between the 4 of us. Ended up taking it home for later. Be sure to walk around the marina after your dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dialady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Dialady! I imagine this review was meant for the restaurant page, but I am happy to have it here! Our cake is made for us by Jeff's Sir Cakes A Lot on our boardwalk, so please be sure and stop by there and check out some of their additional offerings. Thanks for leaving us such great comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent two sleepless nights at the Smithfield Station Hotel. While our room was spacious and spotless, the staff excellent and the restaurant outstanding the room wall unit airconditioner was extremely loud. The light on the boardwalk shined right into the room which made it very difficult to darken the room. Very hard to get a good nights sleep and consequently would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Frank G, We have made some changes based on this review. All the A/C units have been updated with a "sleep mode" you can press on the control panel of the A/C and really quiets them down for 8 hours at a time. We also have installed room darkening pull down shades located behind the blinds to keep the room dark for as long as you like. Thanks for the input and we hope you give us another try since you mentioned everything else was terrific.

Thanks again,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing