We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Station”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Station”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Being a US Civil War buff, there have been quite a few travels in the American Upper South as a result of my interest in US history. This was my first visit to the Hampton Roads area though, and I found Smithfield Station, and Smithfield itself, almost “by accident”. But what an accident! I’ve never stayed at a nicer hotel. The people were friendly; the food was great (I recommend their Spare ribs!); and my hotel room, a corner room with a balcony and an awesome view of the marina and the Pagan River, was quite simply breathtaking. You must visit this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Xavier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Awesome review and thank you so much. Yes, we do have a lot of Civil War history here in Smithfield and we are delighted that you found us too. I think I know the exact room you stayed in and we do find it one of the favorites we have here at the hotel. Please come back for a visit soon and continue your tour of Smithfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    86
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
250
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Smithfield Station for 2 nights in March and throughly enjoyed ourselves. We had never done a Living Social trip before but I am sure we will be doing it again. Smithfield was a delightful town and everything was in walking distance. The Windsor Castle Park had an entrance right across from the hotel and it took us right into town. We stopped in all of the shops and everyone was friendly and welcoming. From the museum,to the visitors center, to the Taste of Smithfield staff, to Darden's Country Store, to St. Luke's tour, and all of the food !!! The Smithfield Station rooms were up to date and spacious with huge in suite baths and comfortable beds. The rooms overlook the Pagan River and it is very relaxing and quite, especially off season. We would recommend the Smithfield Inn lounge for dinner and the Smithfield Station is another choice especially when staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room on the water on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buster434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
WOW!!!! Thank you for the great review. I appears that you made the most of your stay with us. It seems by your review that you were on the go taking in all our town has to offer. We are so glad that you explored and found wonderful things to see and do. We thank you for staying with us and please come back for more fun in Smithfield anytime. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grottoes, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband came by a deal from Travel Zoo for Smithfield Station, we were there for two nights during March at a very reasonable rate. Other than this time of year being somewhat cool and having a rainstorm during our stay, it was pleasant enough. We can easily see that the Summer and Fall times would be beautiful there.

Smithfield Station rooms face the James River. There were a number of boats in their slips but being March were just parked and waiting on warmer weather. The river was muddy but you could see lots of birds flying in the marina area.

Our room was nicely decorated. The bed was very high, difficult for a short person to get in and out of but provided a comfortable sleep. The room had two upholstered chairs with low backs and were very hard to get out of as you sank into them. We resolved that issue by placing the cushion from one chair onto the one we were using. There was a desk and wifi internet which was relatively speedy (compared to most hotels). We had a small fridge in the room, coffee maker and safe in the closet. There is a fireplace in the room which added to the atmosphere of the room, although we were not sure if it was throwing off any heat.

We would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Smithfield and explore what there is to offer there.

Room Tip: There is an elevator so request a room on a higher floor, you will have a better view of the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingAimlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It is great to hear from one of our hometown guests. It is always nice to come back to your roots and we thank you for choosing Smithfield Station as your home away from home. We do strive to give the best service possible as we want each guest to have a wonderful experience staying with us. Thank you for your kind comments on our service. We hope you will come back soon and we look forward to seeing you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My family has stayed at "The Station" several times as my husband grew up there answer try to get back occasionally to visit.
The folks who run and work there are friendly, hospitable, and will do almost anything to make your stay better. Once when our boys were small, they booked us a room with just a king size bed. That was the only room left, so they ran out and got the kids an Aerobed.

Love the views, especially on 4th of July when the fireworks light up the river.
The restaurant is great and the bar a great place to unwind after a long day of visits and sightseeing,
The Station is the only place we stay while in the area.


Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We took advantage of a Groupon offer and purchased 2 nights at this beautiful hotel. It was not only quiet and peaceful, but the room was exquisite, with a fireplace and a view to die for.

The town is a lovely, small, unique town. We browsed through the downtown shops and it was just a great weekend.

We did eat at the restaurant in the hotel. Service was excellent, food was not as good as we had hoped for, but all in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor (there are only 3 floors) and see if you can get one with a firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We do appreciate your comments on your visit with us. It seems you enjoyed all that Smithfield Station has to offer. Our downtown area is a big hit with our guests and I am glad to see that you were able to visit there as well. Please come back soon and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at Smithfield Station this weekend in one of the Deluxe Lodge rooms w/ jacuzzi. We were so impressed. I was beginning to get discouraged because the weather and other events were putting a damper on our plans, but the room made all my worries go away. I didn't have time to worry about what was going wrong because Smithfield Station was so right. Everything we needed for a weekend getaway. Thank you Beth for checking me in and holding your laughter while I had him blindfolded trying not to bump into things. The room was spacious as well as the bathroom which I was most pleased with. I even hinted at him designing our master bedroom in our home to match. Everything down to the vintage vanity seat in the bathroom was perfection. Blindfolded, he walked into the room not knowing where we were (due to the key, not key card) and stated that "we can't be at a hotel because it smells so clean in here". Can't wait to return and hopefully have a chance to go out to the park as well as experience the restaurant. Almost certain we will return this year. Thanks for all you did to make our stress free weekend enjoyable!!! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We appreciate your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at Smithfield Station. despite the weather. Our rooms do offer all that you need to spend a relaxing weekend enjoying what we have to offer. Please come again soon for that walk in Windsor Castle Park. We welcome your return anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent a night at the Smithfield Station Inn and we were very impressed. We were greeted by a very friendly clerk who had us checked in within a few minutes. We had reservations and had selected the deluxe lodge junior suite, which was an end room on the top floor. Very impressive room which had a large sitting area with a fireplace and scenic views from 3 sides of the room. Very clean hotel. It came with a continental breakfast, which included freshly made waffles and omelets with a large variety of pastries, ham biscuits, breads, etc. We'll definitely stay again in the near future. Very close to the downtown area which has lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The deluxe lodge junior suite has windows on 3 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Yes we do love our Junior Suite!!!!It Your comments described it perfectly. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in that room. Please come and visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing