We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Location (Really 4.5 rating)”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Lovely Location (Really 4.5 rating)”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

There was so much to like about this inn that I almost feel bad that I have some negative things to say also. Let me start by saying that overall, I am glad I stayed here. It was peaceful and quiet, it was charming and quaint, and it was romantic when the sun set over the water. So first, the pluses: the woman who checked us in was friendly and helpful; the room itself on the boardwalk was cute, clean and included a mini-fridge; the bathroom was clean and nicely decorated and the shower was good; the view from the room was terrific (see photos); and the free breakfast was a step up from the typical "free breakfast buffet" because the scrambled eggs actually tasted good! The only minuses were the bed and the light. The bed was good, but rather soft. This felt good during more romantic moments, but was a little uncomfortable for overnight sleeping. Now, I realize that everyone is different and if you like a softer bed, you would probably like this one so I can't really fault the inn for not pleasing everyone. However, I also had a problem with the amount of light in the room at night. The blinds did not block enough of the bright lights right outside our window during the night, nor the sun in the morning. I personally like to sleep in a darker room. However, I do recommend this place to anyone who doesn't mind some light and a softer bed at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aibutiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. We so enjoy hearing our guests feedback and appreciate the time you spent here with us at The Station. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced with the mattress and lighting. We hope you will return again soon We will do our best to find you the perfect room for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    86
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
251
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Smithfield Station was a great place for a family get together. The party was on the first floor of the Lighthouse with great views and fun atmosphere. The food was super, too. I stayed in the hotel in a very comfortable room with balcony overlooking the marina. It was clean, quiet and elegant. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a great park across the street where I took nice walks with lovely water views. I would definitely return if I have occasion to be in
Smithfield again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLGinFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We do so appreciate your wonderful comments about your stay with us at The Smithfield Station. It sounds like your family had a wonderful time enjoying our Lighthouse. What a great place for your family to get together. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope you will travel back to Virginia soon. . Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel! The hotel is clean and is more of an Inn than a hotel. The staff was tremendous. So helpful and so friendly. The room was not large but was adequate and clean. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was included and good. The grounds are beautiful with docks and boats. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We do so appreciate your feedback on your stay here at The Smithfield Station. Guests opinions of our hotel are so important to us. it appears from your review that we are doing the right things to insure you have the best experience possible. We appreciate your comments and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will have another opportunity to visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent our anniversary in Smithfield and stayed at the Smithfield Station Lodge. The accommodations were perfect: balcony view overlooking the Pagan River, spacous room with faux fireplace, large bathroom with granite counter. Upon our late night arrival, we were greeted by a very freindly and extremely helpful desk clerk who continued to check on us daily throughout our stay. Service was outstanding!
Across the street is the beautiful Windsor Castle Park with a 3 mile loop walking trail and state-of-the-art kayak/canoe launch. The biking in and around Smithfield is fabulous too. All in all, Smithfield is a wonderful place for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you Lynn M for your review of our hotel. It appears by your comments that you had a wonderful time here at our hotel and in the Town of Smithfield. We do love our Windsor Castle Park and as you stated it does offer wonderful scenic trails and great kayaking. We do appreciate your feedback about your room and our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we would love for your to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very good experience here - beginning with the lovely location, right on the water. The room was not lavish but nicely designed and furnished, with a great bathroom. The service was polite and helpful. The only downside was the restaurant, where the food is on the heavy side and not very inspired - but again, good service. Overall, though, a very nice destination and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you oldrose1 for your review of The Smithfield Station. Our staff tries very hard to make each guest feel welcome. We are glad that you found everyone friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your stay with us .. It is great to get feedback on how we are doing our job . We do strive to make you feel right at home and we appreciate guests comments letting us know how well we did. Thank you again for your kind comments We hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I spent out Honeymoon here in 1991 and visited again in 2004. It is truly an awesome experience. The food, service, rooms, and views are priceless. You could spend a whole day just there at the room and surrounding property.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halt1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank You so much for your wonderful review. We do like to think that memories are made here at The Smithfield Station. We are so delighted that you chose us to celebrate your wedding and anniversary. Our views of the river are a perfect backdrop for a romantic evening We certainly hope that you will visit us again soon...perhaps to celebrate another anniversary. Once again thank you for sharing your "memories" of your visit at The Smithfield Station..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Haven, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved the captain Todd suite. It was a perfect room to entertain family there for a wedding. Food on the deck at lunchtime was also wonderful. The customer service was so friendly and professional. Our big group had multiple rooms and we were all very pleased with the resort!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your stay with us. Yes The Captain Todd suite is "sweet".. We are so glad that you enjoyed the room. That suite was a very good choice for your wedding entertainment. and it sounds like you had a great time. We appreciate you choosing The Station for your accommodations for the wedding. Please come again soon we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing