We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed in the lighthouse. You can climb to the top from the room. Well appointed room. Good breakfast with Smithfield ham included in room price.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lightseeker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

We were transfixed by the images of a sleepy little town on the James River. Private boats all in line at their moorings. The image of the light house soaring above the hotel enticed us to try a "riverfront" vacation for a change of pace from our normal "beachfront" version. In the end, I must say, we have mixed feelings.

I have good news, and bad news. Which do you want first, Captain? Aye Aye, the good news. Righto! The hotel is immaculate. The hotel staff is very professional, helpful and friendly. The room was outstanding, clean, modern and well designed. The toiletries were high end from Bath and Body. There was a fireplace with a remote control, and the television was high definition with a nice assortment of channels. Also, if you like sunrises and sunsets, you get them both here. Yes, its true (at least in July) you can see both from your balcony (but not much in between, see below) . I could have spent and month or more living out of the room.

Now for the bad news. There is not alot to do around Smithfield. If you want to get anywhere, you have to drive 45 to 60 minutes. Now I am the first to realize that there are some advantages with this situation. First and foremost is the evening quiet. Yes, me mateies, this place is quiet. And I slept like a king (of course, my wife slept like a queen, punching the king all night to stop the snoring!). Oh yeah, the sunsets. They were fabulous. But then, just as you were beginning to unwind, THEY showed up. Some of the biggest, ugliest spiders I ever saw! Soon, the patio was filled with them, and we would retreat inside. We never saw one inside, but we couldn't enjoy the patio past 8:30 or so.

We had a maid come in and try to clean all of the webs, but they just showed up the next evening. We never really got to enjoy the evening as we intended to.

So that is it. I can't say don't stay here because it is really a nice place with really nice people running it. It is clean, modern and comfortable. But if you want and nice evening on the patio, forget it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McParioandGumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Smithfield Station and we actually never left the hotel after we checked in. The scenary was beautiful and the hotel staff was very friendly. It was perfect for my husband and I because we had our eight month old son with us and everything was so convenient. We enjoyed drinks on the deck over looking the water and then went inside and had a delicious dinner. Since our room was right upstairs it was easy for us to tend to our sons needs and still enjoy an evening out. There was also a few shops so if we needed anything it was at the tip of our fingers.The room was very spacious which was perfect since we had to set up our sons pack in play. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast the following day especially when the lady who was waiting us offered to stroll our son around the eating area so we could enjoy the rest of our breakfast. Were really looking forward to going back and exploring more of the town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This was our first trip to Smithfield and Smithfield Station. It was a great weekend getaway. I was most impressed with the cleanliness of the room and hotel! Each night we enjoyed a bottle of wine on our balcony overlooking the marina and then walked down the deck for dinner. My husband said the Lobster Lasagna was the best thing he ever ate. The service at the restaurant was excellent!

The area offers great sightseeing, dining, and unique shopping. I would also recommend the Smithfield Gourmet Bakery for lunch and the Olde World Tea Company for sipping chocolate and tea.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyLitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Great service from the moment we pulled the boat up to the dock. The dock hands were waiting as we pulled in. Hotel check in was well organized and our room in was Lodge was nicely furnished, exceptionally clean and comfortable, and with a great view of the river and wetlands. The restaurant did a great job of preparing and serving our group picnic on the dock, and later accommodating the entire party of 25+ at dinner. On Sunday morning, the breakfast buffet is not to be missed. On top of all this Smithfield Station has several nice shops ranging from an ice cream shop to "Girl This" a shop for girls of course. All in all a totally delightful place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom23692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

- We came by boat, with six other club members. All the marina arrangements were excellent.
- Our catered BBQ lunch was on time, with great food.
- Our room in the hotel was excellent.
- Our group (22) was afforded outstanding service and excellent food for a casual dinner in the bar.
- The famous Sunday morning brunch was everything we expected it to be - and more.
- All the staff members were friendly, helpful, and highly-professional.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The Tidewater Grady White Club has made an overnight trip by boat to Smithfield Station an annual event. Some of the highlights from our stay this year (June 2010) were:

- Upon arrival the docking of our boats was done quickly and we were all kept together.

- Rooms were ready upon arrival, neat and clean. The one member who asked to upgrade was accommodated.

- The catered lunch was on time, the food was great and there was plenty off it.

- Once again this year we asked for dinner reservations (22 people) on short noticed and that request was granted. A member of thestaff greeted us with a smile and promptly seated us. Our server, Holly, did a great job of keeping it all together and stayed on top of things. She earned our admiration and a TGWC t-shirt for her efforts.

- The pool was very popular given the hot weather.

- Many members enjoyed shopping on the premises and also in the Main St. shops a short distance away.

- Easy access to the new nature park acroos the street was a welcome addition.

- The Sunday breakfast buffet is very good and you can even have an omelette made to order.

- Finally, I can't recall how many times I heard our members describe the staff as hospitable, courteous, accommodating, and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#15 of 73 in Williamsburg
390 reviews
20.3 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: £103 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing