We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent property, just needs to keep up with rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites South Boston
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
North Dakota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very decent property, just needs to keep up with rooms.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Some of the negative reviews puzzle me because it doesn't sound like the same property! Well, I can share my experience to say it wasn't bad. I booked a couple of nights at the last minute for a funeral. I have family in the area and I've stayed at a few different properties in the area and this was the best hotel so far. We arrived around 2pm on a Sunday and waited about 20 minutes for a room to be ready. We were happy they had a room because we'd just been on the road for about 17 hours.

On the outside, the hotel looks nice, and the lobby and halls look great. Upon closer inspection in the rooms, there are many wear and tear items that need to be addressed. Some wall paper issues, wear on furniture, walls, locks on doors looked worn. The bathroom looked fairly new, but it looked like they did a terrible job stripping the old wallpaper and painted over lots of bumps and textures and fuzzy looking things.

The breakfast had many items and was sufficient. Most of the items were canned/refrigerated or frozen items that were likely microwaved and then placed under the heat lamps. But, the items were plentiful and for the rate, quite decent. There was also fresh fruit, yogurt and a small refrigerator that had hard boiled eggs and cartons of milk. A plus is that the breakfast is open until 10am every day, which is not common. There were lots of work crew at the property who are likely staying there as they work on local construction projects but I didn't notice them acting terribly. I only saw them early in the morning at breakfast and they were probably gone at work all day.

In general, for the rate we paid, which was around $69, I felt the hotel was sufficient. It just looks as though they need to do a better job addressing the areas that are worn. The property was what I needed and a good value. If I thought I'd spend more time in the room and was there more for leisure, I likely would have chosen the Fairfield a few blocks down, but I did not want to pay that rate this time.

If you do go for leisure, check out the Charles Bass House - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Cdame

Thank you So much for taking your time to review our property and share your experience , I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction is the utmost importance to us , We will address this points and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. and thank you again for mentioning the negative reviews and share with everybody that " it doesn't sound like the same property"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    32
    22
    21
See reviews for
38
25
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norlina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. The free breakfast was even quite good. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and will be back. Make sure to check out Bistro 1888 while you're in South Boston. It's a little pricey but the BEST restaurant ever. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareem B, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Amy M

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hardworking, dedicated staff are thankful for your kind words . We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you love our breakfast and we are so looking forward for your next visit . thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

I stay here on business. Staff is always helpful. Best breakfast I've had at a express. They make home made spiced apples on the breakfast bar. Gotta love them. Rooms are a little small but very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beekeeper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Beekeeper49
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hardworking, dedicated staff are thankful for your kind words .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The wallpaper was splitting away and exposing mold covered walls. Shower heads was moldy. Spoke to front guest and they moved to another room that was just as bad. We could not stay there for one night so we checked out at midnight and went and found another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Kim M,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express South Boston, MA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Boston hotels

bethlehem pa
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

we stayed at this hotel on sat july 13 to sun 14
the rooms were clean great breakfast very quiet every one of the staff was very nice no complaints it was in a good location went to pick up a puppy from a breeder in bufflao jct va it was close by for us to get a good night sleep with a new puppy and we did drive to va beach from their it was a great location for us

Room Tip: we recomend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 521puppyraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear 521puppyraiser,

Thank you so much for sharing your good experience that you had when you stayed with us, that makes us work even harder to make everybody's stay more enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, but when you pay this much for a room and they advertise the great breakfast, one should expect it to be well stocked. Breakfast attendant didn't show up until 7:00? When I asked front desk clerk about eggs and forks she was uncaring and unapologetic. There were no eggs no bacon and most of coffee pots were empty. Also the trash was overflowing onto the counter top. To be fair the hotel had a lot of guests but it is the hotels responsibility to keep the food stocked. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareem B, Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Mr , Steveritter

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are very sorry the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. And our breakfast attendant she did show up late that day because the one that she was suppose to be working she had a car accident while she was coming to work and we had to find somebody else to cover for her . Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.


Thank You
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have been to this hotel in South Boston many times, and have always found it clean, comfortable, and accomadating, however.......Construction workers working in the local area stay there during the week and from around 6pm until midnight they sit out in the parking lot drinking, cussing, and being rude and loud in general. You can hear them while in your room, and they run in and out the hotel all times of night....It is uncomfortable even walking from the parking lot to your room because of their rudeness....No place for a family!!!! Why should people who are just trying to sleep or vacate have to put up with such??? Will not stay here again for that reason. It has been this way for the last 2 times we have stayed there....

Room Tip: Upstairs room would probably be better, due to the traffic of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webetrippin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareem B, Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Webetrippin_13


We greatly appreciate the time that you have taken to post a review for our property . Your Comfort and satisfaction are of the highest importance to us and for that pleace accept our sincerest apologize that we fell below your standards and expectations . Rest assured that we have taken action to make our property more comfortable for all of our guests and we hope that you allow us another chance in the future to provide you with great service if you are ever in South Boston, Va area Again .


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
0.8 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Roxboro
Hampton Inn Roxboro
#1 of 3 in Roxboro
173 reviews
19.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites South Boston

Property: Days Inn & Suites South Boston
Address: 1074 Bill Tuck Highway, Highway 58 East, South Boston, VA 24592-7134 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express South Boston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites South Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express South Boston Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the heart of South Boston, Virginia. We are convenient to all area restaurants, shopping, and the Halifax County Industrial Park. We are also 2 miles from South Boston Speedway and only 25 miles from VIR. If you're ready for quality service at an affordable price, STAY SMART, stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn & Suites South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Boston Hotel South Boston
Holiday Inn South Boston
South Boston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing