We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality in a Peaceful Country Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 South Boston B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Hospitality in a Peaceful Country Setting”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Warm hospitality in a peaceful country setting awaited my husband, poodle at me at Oak Grove Plantation. Pickett was a gracious innkeeper. We enjoyed her relaxed and tasty breakfasts and her company. The property has multiple places to sit and read or to stare dreamily into space. The well-kept trails gave us a chance to feel removed from the world.
Oak Grove was perfect for our home base so we could explore South Boston and Halifax.
This homey and classy place ranks high among the bed and breakfasts we have enjoyed. We were especially grateful for the hospitality for our dog.

Room Tip: We liked the separate entrance to our room (especially with the dog).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was looking for a quiet, charming B&B within reasonable driving distance of Durham, NC. I truly believe that Oak Grove is the very best place I could have hoped for! Pickett was friendly, attentive, gracious, hospitable, knowledgeable, and a great cook. Breakfast was excellent. The rooms were spotless and well-appointed. The place has so much history and charm but the history is never oppressive or stifling.

I went for a long hike on the main path that traverses the wooded property and found several items of interest (old tobacco barn, abandoned sharecroppers' cabin), but most importantly I found hours of peace and quiet.

I hope to come back next year! I would definitely recommend Oak Grove to friends--in fact I already have.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Mills_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My sisters and I stayed at the Oak Grove Plantation this past Memorial Day weekend and we were treated to true southern hospitality. Pickett was a great hostess and breakfast chef. We all felt at home and welcome. She was very accomodating and went out of her way to meet our needs. The property is lovely, too, with a nature trail, fields and forest. We saw fox, deer and lots of birds. It is a definate "go back to" B & B! I would highly recommend Oak Grove Plantation!

Room Tip: Downstairs bedroom is quietest.
See more room tips
Green Features: Solar panels are very forward thinking. She has installed them behind the house to assist with power needs.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonBrown44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The wife and I wanted a place to relax and catch our breath last weekend. This certainly fit the bill. Pickett was the perfect hostess, and a pretty good cook for breakfast. Friday night and Saturday were raining, but we had a large front porch and an indoor sunroom with comfortable wicker rockers for reading and drinking some nice Virginia wine. The house is located off the main road with a wooded buffer so that car traffic is not heard. A very few trains pass and you can hear them whistle at the crossing, but that was just fine.
With only 2 rooms, or a suite and one room, everyone, including Pickett and her family, (2 were there when we were) ate breakfast at the same time. Although breakfast was served promptly, the breakfast took a long time because we all enjoyed talking to each other so much. A special experience.

Room Tip: The house is pre-civil war. So if you hate stairs choose the downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

What a perfect oasis in southern Virginia. You feel and live the history of this old plantation. Oak Grove Plantation is perfectly suited for children - and anyone who wishes to get away from everything stressful and modern for a few days (there is, however, free Wi-Fi and excellent cell phone connection). The inn-keeper, Pickett, could not have been more accomodating. The great food and special treats will make you come back - and so will the plantation itself. You can have privacy in the great old rooms or enjoy games and books in the historic living quarters. Do spend a couple of nights, at least, at the plantation to fully enjoy this affordable treasure. We had good pool outings to Stanton Park and excellent dinners in South Boston. Your host will tell you all the local tips you need to know in order to get a truly historic southern Virginian experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Oak Grove became our base for a four day wine, dine and relax get away. Pickett and her dog Bonnie greeted and treated us well. Food was good (it was strawberry season!)and the house was comfortable and led to many family stories from Pickett who is a decendant of the original home builder. The property provided opportunity to hike and roam. Stress seemed to melt away as the time there served its purpose.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Oak Grove is a welcoming grand old home in Southern Virginia. My family of five - 2 adults and 3 boys 4 and under - stayed in the family suite which consists of two rooms separated by a landing. They are the only two rooms on the second floor which is nice since you aren't concerned with disturbing anyone. There was a big bathroom with a clawfoot tub (big enough for all three boys to fit in for a quick cleaning) along with a shower for the adults. We were very comfortable in the generous accommodating space. The boys could run around in the yard and we relaxed on the porch. There are trains throughout the day that pass through the property. There is a wooden bridge to stand on as the train passes underneath. We heard one coming, got to the bridge just before it passed underneath and the engineers waved as they went underneath. Then as end passed us, the engineers flashed the lights and blew the whistle. Pure joy for kids.

The innkeeper is knowledgable about the area as well as activities available. We got out to dinner in nearby South Boston which was nice and visited Stanton River State Park as a family. There is a great pool within the park and a nice playground on the same property. If we'd planned ahead we would have taken advantage of the events the park hosts. There was a full calendar of activities.

All in all we had a very nice visit to a quiet area within Southern Virginia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canonanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Boston hotels
6.0 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
4.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.8 mi away
Charles Bass House
Charles Bass House
#1 of 2 in South Boston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.5 mi away
Super 8 South Boston VA
Super 8 South Boston VA
#3 of 7 in South Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1245 Cluster Springs Rd, South Boston, VA 24592-7055
Region: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer bedrooms with fireplaces, comfortable period furniture and family pieces. The elegant parlor and cheerful sunporch provide common space for music and reading. In the Victorian dining room you will be served a full country breakfast in the tradition of Southern hospitality. The plantation has 400 acres for hiking and biking on farm roads and paths. Open May to Sept. Near South Boston, Va. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing