We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 South Boston B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2005

My weekend at Oak Grove was billed as a "woman's retreat". And it was. I met some very nice people and will go back as often as I can. I came away less stressed and ready to tackle my busy life. Pickett, the owner, started me out with some slow stretches and a Reiki session. The next day after breakfast, I ventured out with a packed lunch of a rice salad, ice tea, fruit and cookies. That evening, I dined at a local restaurant and was treated like a queen! And the food was fantastic. Sunday, after breakfast Pickett drove me to another B and B, and I met Linda. Linda gave me a full body massage and ministered to me at the same time. It was a very satisfying experience. This was the first time I was able to connect with the owner as a friend. I will go back!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2005

Stayed at Oak Grove Plantation in Cluster Spings, Va. on August 20, 2005. We had a wedding to attend that evening and knew all the family would already have company so I search the web for Bed & Breakfast in Virginia. Came up with 2 or 3. When I viewed the pictures and details, I made contact to see if a room was available. It was and we booked it. We arrived about 5:00 pm and needed to be at the wedding at 7:00. So we rushed in met everyone and was shown to our room and offer lemonade, tea, and cookies. The lemonade was great. Immediately got dressed to go to the wedding and came out to our truck and it would not start. And our wonderful host drove us at least 20 miles to the wedding. What a hostess. We did not have much time to look around the Plantation Grounds because we had to return back to SC because my Mother is ill. However, we had a wonderful, tasteful, colorful and very delicious breakfast and the company, including family and one other guest was very comfortable. Just like being at home. Our room was lovely, clean and bright. Enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2005

Oak Grove Planation is a great place to go if you are looking for peace and quiet, and you want to get back to the good old days.

We had a mini class reunion there recently and it was just wonderful. We had plenty of time to relax and talk together. The plantation house is a big old house with large rooms. We could get our whole group around the dining room table for meals. Mrs. Mary Pickett Craddock is a great hostess. She really makes you feel at home.

I highly recommend Oak Grove Plantation.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2005

I just spent nearly two weeks at Oak Grove Plantation at a women's college reunion. What a wonderful experience it was! The locale was southern comfort personified. Open, large sunny rooms, very comfy beds, well kept agounds, attentive, perceptive innkeeper and family, very knowledgeable about the history of the plantation itself and about the surrounding areas. great food, creative and abundant. Need I say more??!! All in all, our stay was relaxing and interesting and fun.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2005

Oak Grove Plantation is a lovely old home that is still, more or less, in its original state. Settled in a lovely, but rural part of Virginia it is a pleasure to find an inn still run by the original family. The rooms are large and quiet. There is one room w/ handicap and bath ensuite. The rooms upstairs share a comunal bath that is large and close by. You feel as if you were staying at a friend's home. There is no fuss, but some lovely antiques are in evidence throughout the house. Breakfast is a hearty meal served in the dinning room on the family china by Pickett who inherited the home from her parents. There are some trails to hike and bike on and several very good restaurants in neighboring towns. A very lovely place for a few friends to gather for a special weekend or if you are touring the area by bike. Well priced. Car recommended.

Bluff House
Antigua, West Indies

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Boston hotels
5.9 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
6.8 mi away
Charles Bass House
Charles Bass House
#2 of 2 in South Boston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Super 8 South Boston VA
Super 8 South Boston VA
#3 of 7 in South Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites South Boston
4.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1245 Cluster Springs Rd, South Boston, VA 24592-7055
Region: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer bedrooms with fireplaces, comfortable period furniture and family pieces. The elegant parlor and cheerful sunporch provide common space for music and reading. In the Victorian dining room you will be served a full country breakfast in the tradition of Southern hospitality. The plantation has 400 acres for hiking and biking on farm roads and paths. Open May to Sept. Near South Boston, Va. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing