We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Certificate of Excellence
ft. lauderdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stopped for the night while traveling. The room was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was great as well. I didn't have a chance to eat the breakfast included in the room as I left early, but it looked like they were putting out a lot of options. A very nice place!

Room Tip: I was driving through some back roads and maybe that made it necessary to navigate with the GPS, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francyl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
14
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed for two nights at this hotel. It feels brand new inside and is very nicely decorated for a budget friendly hotel. The gym is fantastic. Nice selection of equipment and they even give you headphones if you don't have them for the TVs on the machines. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was decent, though nothing spectacular. Would have preferred additional toppings for the oatmeal aside from raisins and brown sugar or a granola to have with yogurt. Good range of options though and mainly healthy. Great location, easy access to everything including downtown South Boston and Halifax. We had a 2 bedroom suite, though it really wasn't two separate bedrooms. Not sure if this was because it was a handicapped accessible room or not (we didn't need this, but we got it). So, made have 3 people a bit difficult since you could hear the TV clearly in the other "room" and had no privacy if you wanted it. Please keep that in mind of those traveling together aren't family! Otherwise, room was spacious and had lots of closet space. The kitchen was very basic, a sink, fridge and microwave which was fine for us.

As for eating options, there is a great Mexican restaurant very close by, just a couple minutes down the road called Mexican Viejo in a strip shopping center. Very tasty good and prices were super reasonable. Also, in downtown South Boston, there is a new place that is on the main street at a corner and believe it is called Southern Plenty. It is a bookstore, art store and restaurant. The food is awesome! You must go there. All homemade. I had butternut squash lasagna and a caramel brownie. Fantastic. Molasses Grill in Halifax is also recommended for more of a fine dining experience, though also very reasonable in price for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Hotel seems quite new; it was quite comfortable and beautifully appointed. Better than average pool and exercise facility. good breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Some terrific places to eat nearby -- very unexpected for rural South Boston! Make sure you eat either at Caffe Peroni or Bistro 1888 - you'll be surprised.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogwalkerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family and I are from Clinton Maryland and we stayed there for 2 nites and had a good stay the rooms are very clean and 100% customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessed247_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

stayed here 1 night whilst travelling. Hotel was fine, clean and comfortable with good staff.Shame that there is no decent restraunt within the locality

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippo432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
189 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed one night, passing through town. I got a great rate at a state government discount. The place was decent for a one night stay, a typical fairfield inn. I'm not impressed with the brand. Towel rack kept falling off the wall, but otherwise basically clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mittmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2010

By far the best hotel in South Boston. Great rooms, great service, super clean; exceptionally comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstockman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
3.0 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
21 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
38 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Roxboro
Hampton Inn Roxboro
#1 of 3 in Roxboro
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Address: 1120 Bill Tuck Hwy, South Boston, VA 24592-7138
Region: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® Hotel of South Boston, your hotel experience will be what you want - a clean, comfortable guest room, friendly service and outstanding value. Enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, indoor pool, indoor whirlpool and FREE Wi-Fi high speed internet access throughout the hotel. We are conveniently located near Halifax Regional Hospital, ABB, Dollar General Corporation, Presto, Annin & Co., Riverstone Technology Park, Southern Virginia Higher Education Center and the Carlbrook School. Looking for entertainment? Try nearby South Boston Speedway, VIRginia International Raceway, The Prizery, South Boston/Halifax County Museum, Bob Cage Sculpture Farm or The World of Sports. The area boasts a variety of wonderful restaurants; let us assist you finding the menu to suit your needs. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® of South Boston surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel South Boston
Fairfield Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing