We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch”

Windmill Farm Bake Shop
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in South Boston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sandwiches made to order, home made soups, cakes, pies, cookies muffins, doughnuts, all made with love by a Mennonite farm family. Prices are so low you'll be amazed. $3.50 yesterday for a roast beef sandwich on whole wheat with light mayo, tomato, lettuce and a bavarian cream doughnut.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was in South Boston for a few days for business and saw this restaurant on TripAdvisor. If you're looking for a simple, freshly made lunch, this is a good place. It's actually a bakery and deli, but there are tables inside so you can stay and eat. It was very busy when I went at noon, so I knew it had to be good. I had a deli sandwich and some chips. I probably should have also gotten donuts or cookies; they looked really good. If you need a quick, tasty, fresh lunch, this is the place. Note that it's not open very late (I think closes by 5 each day) and only accepts cash for payment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
386 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Super sandwiches and pie”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Tucked away in a strip mall, this place is easy to miss but don't. The sandwiches are standard deli fare but everything is very fresh and delicious. I had coconut pie and loved it. Can't say enough good about this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gstrange8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The food is absolutely amazing. The shop is clean, the people are nice. I just wish there was more than one location. Would love to have one in Roxboro, Durham or both!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ohhh My!!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A must stop. Only open Monday through Friday 7-5 and Saturdays 7-12. Homemade bakery items, premium fresh deli meats and homemade breads and chicken salad. A Mennonite family run business that has quality and customer service at its core. On Saturdays they only make a half bakery order so come early if you want homemade doughnuts, eclairs, cakes, pies, cookies, and other yummy items. All are delicious and they sell out usually before 12 on saturdays and all are very inexpensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1moresunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

I love this place, it is my favorite place to eat when I come to South Boston. I live 20 miles away, if l lived in town, I'd probably eat there everyday. Great food, wonderful service, always clean! I just wish they were open all the time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amcbdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windmill Farm Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Windmill Farm Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing