We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangrila Guest Ranch
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We just returned from our trip at Shangrila, and we can't wait to go back already! The owners, Gary and Julie, do an amazing job at making you feel right at home. From the time you drive up, to the time you leave, it is as if you are part of the family. All of the horses are so gentle, and obviously, loved and well cared for. Everyone there has a great love of riding and it shows with everything they do. The barn managers, Jessica and Brooks, were awesome! This trip was one of the best family trips we have ever had. If you love horses, nature, and relaxing, this is the place for you!! Even if you don't ride, there are loads of places to just sit with a book and take in nature. This is a "must-do".

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is an amazing place! From the time you drive up and are greeted by Gary, the owner, and directed to your lodging, until you wave your farewells, you will be treated like royalty. We loved our lodgings at the "log cabin", all the amemites, plus quiet and private. In the evening we enjoyed char grilled steaks to perfection and all the trimmings, plus the companionship of the owners and staff. We were delighted and highly entertained by their wonderful stories and knowlege of a modern family living on a horse ranch. Gary's hospitality extended to inviting us to wander the propery and we had so much fun exploring the old house, and meeting the menagerie of tame ducks, chickens and cats, horses and mules. In the morning we saddled up for our ride, and as we are both rank beginners, this started with an intoduction to the horses and the basics. The horses, well, amazing beautiful and gentle creatures. Gary was always careful about our comfort level as he guided us through the most beautiful Virginia countryside there is. If you want a memorable experience, this is the place. Plus where have you ever been, that upon leaving, you know you have also made friends with some amazing folks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle- Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

From the moment you turn into the driveway at Shangrila Guest Ranch you begin to relax and unwind. Here, you are greeted with welcoming smiles, horses grazing on green pastures and a step back in time. Nature's beauty is everywhere. Shangrila is where you can kick back on the porch at the pack house, in a rocking chair and read or just sit there in the moment...or, you can take a trail ride on Shangrila's wonderful and amazing horses (you can be a first time rider or an experienced rider..they have the perfect horse for your needs). The trails traverse through some of nature's quiet beauty and you might catch a glimpse of wld turkeys, hawks and deer.

I love the fact that all of this is just a short drive from Raleigh, Cary and Durham, NC . You are totally transported in a short time and the scenic drive is enjoyable. I can't say enough about how relaxing my time there is and the only regret is when I have to get back in my car and return home. The upside to that is I know I will be returning again the next year, as I have for the past 6 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelby k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have already booked our 6th annual Fall weekend at Shangrila Guest Ranch! The hospitality of Gary and Julie far exceeds any expectations and you will leave as friends.
You can be as hands on or hands off as you like, it's entirely up to you because Gary and Julie strive to make this weekend as relaxing, enjoyable and fun as possible.
Campfires, gators (of the John Deere type!), ducks, marshmallows, donkies, home cooking, trail rides, friends, chickens, rocking chairs on the front porch, beautiful horses, watching the morning mist over the pond as the deer graze in the pasture, fabulous lodgings, Gary and Julie......come for a vacation and you'll return to visit friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticmomnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Boston hotels
5.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
6.5 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oak Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Super 8 South Boston VA
Super 8 South Boston VA
#3 of 7 in South Boston
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Guest Ranch

Property: Shangrila Guest Ranch
Address: 3219 Cluster Springs Rd, South Boston, VA 24592-7037
Region: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in South Boston
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing