We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, great food, and personality”
Review of Ernie's Restaurant

Ernie's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in South Boston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charm, great food, and personality”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This place has great food and a charming rustic ambience. But beyond that, it has people who make the Ernie's experience fun and memorable.

While visiting in South Boston one recent Saturday morning we decided to have brunch at Ernie's. The door was unlocked, so we went in. The first thing we noticed was the old farmhouse atmosphere - it kind of felt like Grandma's house. Next we noticed the wonderful smells coming from the kitchen, as the cook staff loaded the buffet. The third thing we noticed was that there were no other customers. That didn't seem to make any sense... until a hostess greeted us cordially and informed us that we were a half hour early for opening. No matter, she told us. She invited us to stay, have a seat and drink some coffee or tea for a few minutes until the buffet was stocked enough for us to fill our plates.

Things got better from there. Our waitress Cathy seemed kind of shy at first but the more we talked to her the more interesting she got. By the end of our meal we were sure she must be the most entertaining waitress in at least three counties. We were also entertained by regular customer Joanne, who told us some stories about when she and her husband, who'd been in the Navy, were stationed at NATO and in the office of the CNO.

The people of Ernie's provided a pleasant, personable experience to go with their outstanding food. We will return at our next opportunity. Try it... You'll like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, VA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned charm, hospitality, and food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you remember old-style southern cooking with affection, you'll probably love this place. The buffet is hearty fare, not for the faint of heart. If you want to eat on the lighter side, either you settle for just the salad fixings on the buffet or else you order from the menu.

If your party is split between the buffet and the menu, as ours was, then I highly recommend having the buffet-goers wait to serve themselves until the food ordered from the menu arrives. We didn't do this, and the buffet eaters had completely finished their plates, and some had started on dessert, before the menu-ordered food arrived.

We were in a semi-private room off to the side of the main room, and it was cozy and comfortable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OpinionatedFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem only the locals have enjoyed since the 50's”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We coming down route 360 to South Boston, and saw their large bill board on the main highway, and decided to try it, as we love local restaurants. A little while later, we rolled into a quaint 50's style restaurant with columns and nestled under shady trees. Went trough the inlaid glass doors and was greeted by the waitress, and were seated at a booth that we had requested. Looked at the buffet and the menu, and as I am a sucker for good southern food, though I am a Yankee, went for the buffet, as did my wife. Before we started serving ourselves, we noted a separate room that overlooked a beautiful lake with trees, so we asked to be moved. Fried chicken, done right, pulled (they did this themselves) pork barbecue, spare ribs, green beans, corn bread, and a wonderful casserole of chicken and stuffing, excellent. As we were leaving, saw the seafood buffet being set up and wished we had room. Definitely will come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Like going to Grandma's house”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Fun, clean and good. This restaurant has the look and feel like grandma's house in the country. The chicken was well prepared, the vegetables fresh and the banana pudding was incredible. Great buffet, friendly staff. I was a visitor to the area and went with a local who knew everyone that came in the door. All friendly southern Virginia charm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a great restaurant featuring a buffet. We dined on Saturday evening which meant the seafood buffet. Very good selection and a very reasonable price. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ernie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ernie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing