We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH”
Review of Ernie's Restaurant

Ernie's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in South Boston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a delightful place! The Old time feeling of this place will surely make me want to return! GREAT food, AWESOME service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkdble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
terca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have dined here several times previously and feel that the quality of this restaurant and the food is going downhill. After stopping by again, I felt that I should write a review. The food: inconsistent. Carved beef was tasteless. Seafood casserole seemed like it was made from leftovers of previous buffets and had entirely too much breading. Fried chicken was okay. Green beans had no flavor. Hush puppies tasted old; probably leftovers. And the list goes on in the same vain. But the clincher was that they charged us for two glasses of water. Still in shock over that! Also can't believe that children's meals stop at age 8 (yes, you have to buy full adult meals for your 9 year-old). Won't be going back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank terca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A Buffet That Deserves Going To Again!!!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were in the South Boston area and decided to stop by Ernie's for lunch. Great choice!!! Tried the buffet and boy was it great!!! Large variety of food. The place was very clean and we had a great waitress. They were fairly busy but we were seated within a few minutes. Good selection of desserts also. This will definitely be a place we will return to very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxe, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service is great, food not so much”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The buffet looked old and dried up, everything had an odd smell. The steak I ordered was tender and juicy and the baked potato was huge. The did not have A1 but the steak sauce they did have wasn't too bad. The service was great, the server was friendly. The place was clean and had charm.

Helpful?
1 Thank miserysangel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Business Trip-Places NOT TO EAT”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This restaurant was not clean and the food was horrible. Passing through this town and tried a dinner meal. Buffet tasted as if it had been out all day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ernie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ernie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing