We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Hill's Best Value Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Rome City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“South Hill's Best Value Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here for a single night when my business brought me to the area. I called around on my way out and discovered that this motel had the lowest rates in the area and my total bill came to just under $50. I stayed in a room just a few doors down from the lobby and it was clean, comfortable and quiet. The wifi was strong and reliable all night and they provided a decent selection of cable channels. This is NOT a four-star resort. If you are looking for a relatively low rate and a comfortable room for the night, it's not a bad place to check out. I would stay here again if I ever have to return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Rick D,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in November 2013. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you visit us again in the future.


Regards,
Manish-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    2
    2
    14
See reviews for
10
3
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This inn is absolutely disgusting and should 100% be shut down. Our room was so disgusting, the beds were not even made, let alone clean. We demanded our money back and went to Best Western Plus down the road (MUCH BETTER!). Americas Best Value was sketchy, dirty, not safe, and the service was horrendous. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Leslie S,

On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and trained new housekeeping. We hope that these improvements will enhance the experience for our future guests.



Regards,
Manish-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Hill hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This motel should be closed down. It seems that they are either in the process of renovating or fumigating. I wasn't sure, but was advised that all of the furniture was stacked up outside because the furniture was being replaced. Good news, but there is no excuse for a dirty room. The sheets and pillowcases were yellow and did not appear to have been changed. The room wasn't just smokey, but also smelled of mildew and the bathroom was horrendous. A recliner in the room had the nastiest looking stains in the seat cushion and the carpet was filthy.

I checked in for one night stay and realized that was one night too many. I complained to the owner and was told I couldn't get my money back but there were other rooms available. Would that have been one of the rooms with no furniture? As it was stacked up outside each of the rooms on the first floor blocking the entrance to the rooms. Live and learn. It's true you generally get what you pay for and I understand a no frills hotel but the rooms shouldn't be dirty and smelly.

Worst hotel room ever. This place makes the Bates Motel look like the Four Seasons!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Set1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Set1234,

Thank you for sharing a traveler opinion with us. As you had mentioned, we did recently renovate our facilities including new mattresses, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs, luggage boxes, ottomans, headboards, pictures, night stands. I apologize for the mess during these renovations-this was a 2 week project. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during this time.

Regards,
Manish-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel was good for a one night stay. It is a one star place with just bananas,coffee and one kind of donut for breakfast. Luckily McDonalds was across the street. Room was large and we had a choice of beds. Had refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patc312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear patc312,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our large rooms and microfridges. We are planning on increasing the size of our lobby in the future to include a larger breakfast area. We hope that these improvements will allow us to increase our breakfast selections.

Regards,
Manish-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night as a stopover while driving to Atlanta. It perfectly met our needs, and we felt comfortable. The room was immaculately clean, the most important trait we are looking for. It was fully equipped with a fridge, microwave, and all the amenities we needed. There were a few minor defects, such as chipped paint in the bathroom, but they were no big deal. For just $40, we really got the best value.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank colorknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear colorknit,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am proud that you chose Americas Best Value Inn for your lodging needs. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and microfridges. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.


Regards,
Manish-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Clean and updated, nothing fancy but everything you need. The bed was comfortable. TV worked fine. Bath and shower were nice. Linens were new and clean. Generally it was a nice place anthough I only spent a night there. Convienient to the interstate and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert_Frobe_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Gert_Frobe_007,

Thank you for sharing an honest review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and clean linens. We have also recently renovated with new furniture such as dressers, night stands, desks, chairs. We hope that you visit us again and see the new changes!



Regards,
Manish-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

we stayed two days paid in advance.non smoking room first stronge smell of bleach when we checked in when that left strange order of who knows what.took shower it has the smallest tub
it was hard to move around railing sticking out of side to make it smaller.tv has 11 channels.
we were told cable went out and only so many came back on realy it would be all or none we
should of been informed of this before renting the room.plenty of empty rooms yet they have to check people in directly over our room ,the front of our tv and microwave were not cleaned we washed it, i will not stay here again i dont feel safe in a place where management lies .i was a motel manager and i would of told the guest the problem before they checked in to avoid promblems,instead we are told they are working on it,you only get what you pay for with cable. internet works fine.price okay havent seen bugs no extra toliet paper roll in bathroom stained towels sheets clean but stained no bedskirt to hide stained blood on boxspring eighter owner is cheap or broke old tv furniture was outdated but in okay condiction have fitted sheets i have been in 300 hotels last two yrs and always extra roll of tp.biggest complaint 1 in the morning and guy upstairs is walking around bet I dont sleep tonight complained already did nothing about it at desk not paying so i cant sleep wont be back .

Room Tip: if you must come here get a upstairs room so you have a chance at sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear rebapensacola,

On behalf of the management team of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the negative experience you encountered in 2012. I am sorry for taking so long to respond. Please know that we have made many improvements such as hiring and training new housekeepers, renovations including new night stands, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs, ottomans. We hope that you give us another change to earn your business.


Regards,
Manish-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn South Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Property: Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
Address: 623 E Atlantic St, South Hill, VA 23970-2709
Region: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn South Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of South Hill. Our 2-story, exterior design Inn features 47 guestrooms nicely furnished with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, microwave, hairdryers, cable TV with HBO, mini-fridge and iron and ironing board upon request. Complimentary continental breakfast served daily. Inquire about our Senior, Fisherman, and Truckers Rates. Minutes away from Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr Dam and walking distance from Brian's Steakhouse, Restaurants, Shopping centers, and Cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing