We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, lovely staff, good beer selection”

Thornton River Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Thornton River Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Sperryville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Serving great American food with a worldly flair, we’re open Tuesday through Saturday from 11am to 3pm for lunch and 5pm to 9pm for dinner. We also serve a lovely brunch on Sunday from 10am to 3pm and dinner from 5pm to 8pm. The atmosphere is at the same time elegant and casual. The richness and warmth of the hand-planed wood-paneled walls provides a comfortable dining experience that can be enjoyed equally in dressy-casual attire or hiking shorts. We are located in the heart of historic Sperryville, Virginia, 75 miles west of Washington D.C., at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We look forward to serving you soon!
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“great food, lovely staff, good beer selection”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

High quality food at reasonable prices, knowledgable staff, very relaxed and casual place where you could turn up in hiking gear or a shirt and tie. Unexpected find!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    160
    40
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great stop on your way in or out of the popular hiking trails of the Shenandoah! Excellent food and we took advantage of gorgeous weather and sat on the open, shaded deck. We visited for lunch so I ordered the smoked salmon wrap. It was so fresh and delicious with a combo of veggies, goat cheese and salmon...I was very pleased. The French fries are very good also! Hubby had the Rueben....it was huge and he was in heaven.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karrot719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our second time here, this time we brought friends with us. wonderful tasting food. Plenty of choices to please everyone. Cooked to order. Super size portions. Fun atmosphere. Great waitress.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went for Sunday brunch. Not a lot of choices, but my husband had the burger and fries. He said it was the best burger he ever had. It was huge. I had french toast. Wonderful. Definitely worth a stop when you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in the Area”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our experience here. It is worth a trip if you are visiting Skyline Drive or Luray Caverns. Try sitting on the porch upstairs. The Eggs Benedict with Crab cake (available at Sunday brunch) was delectable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thornton River Grille also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Washington, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Thornton River Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing