We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages
Ranked #4 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2013

After a rigorous hike up Old Rag, there is nothing like a cottage at the base located on a spectacular winery to look forward to. The setting and owners could not be nicer! The wine was great too! There were plenty of stink bugs around but they tried their best to clear them before we arrived. I would rather a few stink bugs than the heavy use of pesticides which doesn't seem to help much. The hot bread and fresh fruit in the morning made our day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levinfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Sorry I missed you all in the morning..Thanks again for your visit and it was a pleasure visiting with the three of you. Congratulations as it was great to see a Mom hiking Old Rag with her daughters. I appreciate the kind words and hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days/3 nights at the Sharp Rock over the Easter weekend. Jimm East, the owner/operator, was the perfect host and he was ably assisted by Oliver and Bo, the canine hosts. Our cottage was comfortable and well kept and we enjoyed each mornings' breakfast of fresh fruit and baked goods.
Jimm led us through a tasting of the Sharp Rock wines and we enjoyed an afternoon on our deck eating salami and cheese along with a bottle of Rose Noir. Jimm has the cheese and salami in his tasting room.
If you want to tour other vineyards, this location is ideal as we visited at least 8 other wineries in the area.
Be warned that Rappahannock county has very poor cell reception, so don't think you can receive calls or check your emails. We had dinners at restaurants that had wifi and that allowed us to stay in touch with family.

Will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doughirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Folks

Thanks for thinking of us for your home base while you traveled the countryside and wineries, You all were a pleasure to meet and your kind words, especially coming from a hotel manager, was even more gratifying. Please stop by for a glass of wine next time you all are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Sharp Rock in the Cottage for the second leg of our honeymoon. This place is peaceful, quiet, and absolutely gorgeous. They have some entertaining pets that will keep you smiling from check in to check out. The wine tasting is the only tasting we attended that week where we genuinely liked all of the wines they had to offer. Jimm is a great host and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed, even lending us some kitchen supplies from his own kitchen for Thanksgiving. The view from this property is stunning and I look forward to going back again to watch the sun set over the mountains while enjoying a stellar glass of wine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Folks

Thanks for the kind words. We have many weddings here but to have you all spend three days of your honeymoon at Sharp Rock was a real honor. Congratulations again and I hope you visit us again when you get back to Virginia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The wine is extraordinary, and the people running it are very nice - at the same time, it has a lot of potential for some investment to make it more comfortable to visitors. Most wineries these days offer a bit more comfort and options. The excellent quality of the wine deserves a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Folks

I remember visiting with you all on the winery deck and your great reviews of our wine. I take your comment to heart...we are a farm winery with 200 year old buildings that reflect the times gone by BUT we could use some updates while keeping the "feel" of the place. Thanks again...great food for thought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Sharp Rock B&B is a wonderful, relaxing place to stay. The wine is tasty (especially the reserve Chardonnay) and Bo and Ollie the winery dogs are very friendly. They will overtake your picnic, however, so be careful! Jimm and Kathy are gracious hosts. If you're looking for some peace and quiet (no cell service, no TVs) and some great star-gazing, a vigorous hike nearby (Old Rag mountain), then this is the place for you. It seems like you're 500 miles away from northern Virginia, but you're really not!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank KirkWannaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thanks for the kind words...always pleasing to know that our guests leave relaxed and enjoy their stays with us.....even though there is no TV and cell service! Please comeback and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our second trip to Sharp Rock in about six months, we just love it. The accommodations are lovely, peaceful, quiet, serene, beautiful. Jimm is a wonderful host, the breakfast is a true treat, and the vineyard, wine and tasting "barn" are terrific! It's a nice drive to get there, and Sharp Rock is a perfect home base for winery touring/tasting, hiking, antiquing, and more. The hospitality can't be beat and we already can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stay in the Carriage House. It is private, spacious, and has a big deck overlooking the lawn and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

You all were great guests and it isn't hard to be a good host when you all are out covering the countryside and hiking Old Rag....I didn't have to do too much but make sure you had enough cinnamon bread to fuel the day. The best part of returning guests is that are now friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Though there are plenty of wineries and B & B's in VA, many lovely ones, one being able to choose from simplicity to luxury; from cheap to expensive, this B&B gets an A+ ! It truly won a place in my heart from the first time I went there, which was over 5 years ago with my then boyfriend... we returned many many times... more than I recall... I have stayed in both the Cottage and the smaller Carriage House, both charming, cozy, lovely, fully equiped comfortable cottages. The entire experience takes you to another time, a simpler time.... the friendliest, loveliest inkeepers, owners and wine makers, Jimm and Kathy, give you everything. You taste wines in a simple, non pretentious setting, with the feedback of someone who knows the wines from the vine to the glass!... the wines are always wonderful, with a new favorite or two each trip or year... the lovely dogs greet you and transport you immediately to a peaceful state of mind. The grounds are lovely to walk and enjoy, and likewise, set your mind at peace right away ... there is no feeling like sipping Sharp Rock wine by the singing stream, surrounded by gorgeous trees and lovely dogs running around... and, of course, running into the owners, who are always warm, with lovely smiles happy to chat away or make any recommendations for dinner plans, hikes, help you set up to barbecue, etc. I must add, the breakfast is awesome! There is always fresh, home-baked goodies (YUM YUM!) with a great fruit salad... plenty of great coffee and teas! I have gone also by myself when, in need of my own time for retreat and peace... and it is an extraordinary setting for such an activity as well. I will, without a doubt be returning many times over... the trip is more than worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineLover12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thanks for the kind words and I am so glad that you had a great stay with us. You have been here so many times it is like you are family. Both Kathy and I hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages

Address: 5 Sharp Rock Rd, Sperryville, VA 22740-2333
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: £144 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two private cottages located at Sharp Rock Vineyards and situated with mountain views and overlooking the Hughes River. The closest lodging to hiking at Old Rag Mountain and a stay includes continental breakfast and a complimentary wine tasting and bottle of wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing