We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, Great Wine, and Panoramic Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages
Ranked #4 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Great Wine, and Panoramic Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at Sharp Rock Vineyard this fall and had a magical experience.

The B&B-
Sometimes the typical B&B experience can be a bit socially awkward, sharing an old house with thin walls and having breakfast with strangers. That was not the case here. Each cottage is private, quiet, quaint and more than adequate!! We absolutely loved having breakfasts, when we wanted, on our own private porch.
There is wifi on the property, but No cell phone service!!
We saw this as an excellent excuse to disconnect and relax.
The vineyard is quiet and secluded, and located at the foot of Old Rag Mountain.
If you enjoy being outdoors, this place will wow you with activities, views and scenery in all directions.
The Wine: Is Excellent!!!!!
The wine, the tasting room and the general ambiance were MUCH BETTER than a nearby vineyard that we also visited.
If you want a pre-packaged experience where you will have to stand in line, and be rushed through your tasting go visit the place that rhymes with Grump!!
At Sharp Rock, we got excellent personal attention and were able to take our time and savor the moment.
We left with a whole case!!!
Over all we give this place 10 stars!!!! (out of 5)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingofthemountains97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Folks

Thanks for the kind words...it was a pleasure having you all and an extra thanks for your hard volunteer work in the vineyard with harvest. Great to see young folks that are willing to do a little manual labor. Hope you all can visit again.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My boyfriend and I were taking a mini vacation in the area and wanted to stop by a winery. We aren't big wine connoisseurs but when we read the reviews for Sharp Rock and saw there were wine dogs we were sold.
Getting to Sharp Rock itself is an adventure, but very much worth it. About a mile off the main road, the gravel road leading to the vineyard is beautiful and ensures your total seclusion. The lack of cell phone service when you get there really solidifies this peaceful getaway.
The winery tasting room upstairs is sparse but cozy and Jimm is very friendly, welcoming, and knowledgable.
After tasting what felt like 8 or 9 wines we ended up buying three bottles. We also bought two glasses to enjoy outside with our lunch that we brought.
There is an abundance of seating outside (shaded, in the sun, a hammock, and a swing even), and the scenery was amazing and peaceful. Sharp Rock really is located in the perfect getaway area of the valley. We walked around, enjoyed the company of the friendly dogs, and really relaxed and took in the spectacular views. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I am so glad you all "found" us and enjoyed your visit. Being a very small winery we strive to provide a comfortable low key experience for our guests and it sounds as though we do okay by you all. Thanks for the support and please come back.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just returned from our weekend at Sharp Rock Vineyard B&B. What a fantastic time! My husband and I were joined by another couple at Sharp Rock to hike Old Rag. We stayed in the 2-story cottage and it was perfect. Peaceful, quiet, a lovely dusk walk through the vineyards. Our friends had an adjustment to living "unconnected"! No Wi-Fi, no cell service, no tv and I have to say my husband and I thought that was just the weekend break we needed. One bedroom is on the ground floor and one upstairs. Oddly, the bathroom is upstairs in the bedroom, but we're all good friends so it didn't matter to us at all. Our host, Jimm, was exceptionally gracious, sharing information about his grapes and various wines. We enjoyed many of the wines and purchased several. Fresh fruit and hot, freshly baked goods for breakfast while sitting on the porch....it just doesn't get any better than that. I highly recommend Sharp Rock and fully expect that we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Folks

It was great to have you all and congrats on your successful hike of Old Rag....hope you choose us for your next adventure. Thanks for the kind words and have a great rest of the summer.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our 2 nites at Sharp Rock cottage were serene, restful, and in a beautiful setting.We enjoyed our yummy breakfast of fresh fruit & delicious scones & cranberry bread,over looking the vineyards and running stream.
If you are seeking a complete break from social networking, electronics etc, this is it. Be prepared for no cell or internet service replaced by an abundance of natural beauty and quiet .
Nature trails are very nearby for hiking Old Rag & White Oak in the Shenandoah.
Also after a wine tasting late afternoon, we knew Sharp Rock had superior wines ! We left with 2 cases !!
Joy & Richard

Room Tip: we were in the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajoy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Joy & Richard

It was great to have you all with us and I am so glad you all had such a relaxing visit.. I enjoyed our conversations and connections with the past and hope you enjoy the wine for months to come. A future hike up Old Rag is calling! Thanks Again, Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband and I decided to take a wine trip to get away from the stress of work and found a delightful respite in Sharp Rock. The carriage house provided a great little deck overlooking the little creek; the winery pets gave us company; Jimm (the owner) gave us wonderful wine and great dinner recommendations. Every morning we received the most delicious muffins we have ever tasted and a bowl of very fresh fruit. The atmosphere is so serene and the entire trip was exactly what we needed! A short trip over the mountains gets you to Luray where you can do the caverns, some other wineries and some antique shopping. I would highly recommend this B&B and winery - we will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Johanna

Thanks for the kind words and we are pleased you and Charlie had a restful weekend. It sounded as though you all have busy lives so I am glad you could find a quiet and peaceful place to spend the weekend. PS..This is as close as I get to social networking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent three fantastic days at Sharp Rock Vineyards and our stay was perfect from start to finish. We had booked the larger of the cottages which was equipped with everything we needed. There were all sorts of goodies and snacks, and in the fridge, there was yoghurt and juices for our breakfast. In the morning, our host served us fresh baked cake and fruit salad. It was lovely sitting on the deck having breakfast after having slept really well in the comfy bed.
We tasted the different wines made in the winery, and every one was delicious.
This Is a truly beautiful place. The setting, peaceful and quiet and full of wildlife. Our hosts were super friendly and fun to talk to. If you are heading for the Shenandoah and/or are interested in wines; don't miss this place!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Caroline

It was a pleasure having you and Mats with us and I am so glad you all had a relaxing stay. For you "world travelers" from Sweden to pick our little place was indeed a treat for us and visiting with you all was a pleasure for me. I am so busy I can't travel so it is conversations with folks like you that give me the insights about the rest of the world. Thanks again and hope to see you all again if you get back to the US.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

After a rigorous hike up Old Rag, there is nothing like a cottage at the base located on a spectacular winery to look forward to. The setting and owners could not be nicer! The wine was great too! There were plenty of stink bugs around but they tried their best to clear them before we arrived. I would rather a few stink bugs than the heavy use of pesticides which doesn't seem to help much. The hot bread and fresh fruit in the morning made our day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank levinfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Sorry I missed you all in the morning..Thanks again for your visit and it was a pleasure visiting with the three of you. Congratulations as it was great to see a Mom hiking Old Rag with her daughters. I appreciate the kind words and hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.7 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.3 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Inn of the Shenandoah
6.3 mi away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages

Property: Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages
Address: 5 Sharp Rock Rd, Sperryville, VA 22740-2333
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two private cottages located at Sharp Rock Vineyards and situated with mountain views and overlooking the Hughes River. The closest lodging to hiking at Old Rag Mountain and a stay includes continental breakfast and a complimentary wine tasting and bottle of wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing