We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages
Ranked #4 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Togo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Three girlfriends and I went to Sharp Rock to celebrate our 30th birthdays. We had an amazing time. Jim and the dogs were wonderful hosts--always around when we needed anything, and invisible when we didn't! (Kathy was away during our stay.) We especially appreciated his willingness to take photos of us all dressed up before our dinner at the Inn at Little Washington.

We can be a loud group, so having our own cottage was ideal. The full kitchen and fireplace were nice perks that encouraged us to lounge around and do nothing--just what we needed. You can just barely hear the creek from the deck, which is so relaxing. The winery grounds are beautiful--rolling hills, mountain views, and strategically placed hammocks and adirondack chairs in just the right spots.

Breakfast each morning was simple and perfect--hot from the oven muffins and fresh fruit. The cinnamon bread was extraordinary.

There is no cell phone service at this location! (or in much of the surrounding area). This was a perk for us, actually as it enabled us to fully turn off work mode. However, it's hard to find the winery after dark, so make sure you know where you are going!

I can't wait to return with my husband for a romantic weekend. :)

This is a SMALL winery. The tasting was nice but no-frills.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed in the carriage house at Sharp Rock Vineyards for our anniversary and had a lovely time. The carriage house was well appointed and very fresh. Some country spots can be a little "too" country (and dingy, old) for my taste, but this place was really comfortable and updated while still maintaining country charm (beautiful antique pine floors, dried flowers and a pretty wreath in the room). We even listened to the CDs provided with the very nice stereo. The house has a nice little porch that is great for drinking wine or enjoying the yummy breakfast of warm baked goods and fresh fruit. The innkeeper, Jimm, was very personable and helpful. We really enjoyed learning about wine and the wine here is delightful. Our favorite part was enjoying views of the vineyard and the little stream while lounging in the hammock. A nice drive to the Luray Caverns and the beautiful Shenandoah National Park skyline drive. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtRhapsody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Sharp Rock is very accessible from the greater DC area, and easily worth the trip. We arrived later than we had planned, but that was no problem for our hosts, and some very friendly & large winery dogs greeted us cordially as we walked up the driveway. The room was beautiful & clean, with a simply stunning view of the river & mountains in the distance. The complimentary wine tasting was delightful; all the wines were delicious. The breakfasts were simply stunning - honestly 5-star baking talent. The atmosphere was laid back and very relaxing; it was really hard to leave. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I planned a surprise trip and weekend stay at the Sharp Rock B&B for my husband's birthday. We arrived after dark and were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by a handful of BIG loveable dogs - we wish we could have taken one home with us : )

We stayed in the Carriage House and absolutely loved it! We enjoyed a bottle of their red wine with a fire and some music. It was so relaxing and we just absolutely loved every minute while we were there. From walking around the vineyard to the delicious breakfast of warm muffins and fruit to having the dogs visit us at the Carriage House (hoping to get one of those delicious muffins), everything was perfect! We also loved hearing the running water in the stream just outside.

On Saturday, we ventured out for a trail ride at the Marriott Ranch in Hume, Virginia (lots of fun!) and then visited Luray Caverns (well worth a visit). Dinner at Thorton River Grille later that evening was okay. Believe them when they tell you need to make a reservation - it's a small place. My husband enjoyed his steak there.

Sunday, we drove around town checking out the antique shops before making our way home. Be sure to check out the coffee shop in town that's in an old church. Great coffee and they had live music on Saturday night which was nice to sit and enjoy before going to dinner next door.

We would definitely go back for another visit here in a heartbeat, so we highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The Fire, Wine, Music, & Decor - GREAT Place to Stay!
  • Disliked — That we couldn't take one of the dogs home with us - they were SO cute! : )
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JML_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALLS CHURCH, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Jimm and Kathy have created a spectacular oasis! We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary in the Cottage - one of two guest houses they offer. We grilled out the first night, as we pondered our hike up Old Rag the next day, from the deck looking across directly to the mountain. We also enjoyed the adirondack chairs next to the Hughes River. After tackling the mountain the next day, we enjoyed dinner at nearby Thornton River Grill - Jimm's recommendation. On our final day we lingered in the vineyard, visited with Jimm in the winery, had a tour of the winemaking - and most of all enjoyed visiting with their wine dogs! If you love peace and tranquility, a river lapping by, beautiful sunsets over a mountain, and great wine, this is the place for you!

  • Liked — Mountain views, accessability to Old Rag, Hughes River at the base of the property, owners, wine dogs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Sharp Rock in Sperryville, Virginia is one of those places you rarely discover so close to a major city. It’s unpretentious with friendly hosts, great wine and unspoiled natural beauty.

My husband and I have returned three times over the past couple of years. We enjoyed it equally before having a child and afterward. It can be a quiet romantic retreat coupled with hiking and wine-tasting (don’t miss the Chardonnay Reserve) or a kid-friendly weekend escape where you can make your own meals, go fishing, nap in a hammock and run the grounds. Kathy and Jimm, the energetic couple who manage the winery, will even take your child to feed the horses.

Each time we visit, we completely relax and drift to sleep to the noise of the beautiful brook that runs through the property. And if you’re an animal lover, Sharp Rock is ideal because the menagerie of dogs, cats and horses will make anyone feel like a kid.

Don't miss staying here before others discover it!!!

  • Liked — the hosts, wine and natural setting
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tranquilamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2007

My girlfriend and I had a spectacular time at Sharp Rock. The owner (Jim) was incredibly attentive. The wine at Sharp Rock ranks in the top of VA wines that we have had from all over VA. Makes for great access to Old Rag. I can't praise this place enough (even though I wish they would allow well behaved pets - but - sniff - they don't).

  • Liked — Rustic setting and great service
  • Disliked — No pets allowed
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.7 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
7.3 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,084 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages

Property: Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages
Address: 5 Sharp Rock Rd, Sperryville, VA 22740-2333
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two private cottages located at Sharp Rock Vineyards and situated with mountain views and overlooking the Hughes River. The closest lodging to hiking at Old Rag Mountain and a stay includes continental breakfast and a complimentary wine tasting and bottle of wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing