We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Fox Distillery

Copper Fox Distillery
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Sperryville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hidden away, but a gem of a place - well worth visiting. Producing Scottish Whisky and Gin, the tour is interesting, and the tasting is generous. Be prepared - they do not go in for weak alcohol!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    28
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We saw the sign on 211 and stopped in over Memorial Day weekend 2014. We got lucky - a tour was starting in 15 minutes (no charge). We hung out on the porch with the resident dog enjoying the day, then started the tour with the owner. He showed us the entire process - from grain delivery to bottle sealing wax. He was (of course) very knowledgeable, and had a good sense of humor to make the tour fun. The venue isn't designed to be beautiful/scenic/picnic-inspiring, as it's their workplace more than a showplace. However they have a small shop, and plenty of room for parking. Across the way there's also an antique place, though I get the impression from the fabric office chairs on sale outside that it doesn't deal in anything fancy. The tour was around 40 minutes and ends with a chance to smell their products (not taste). You can get their products at VA ABC stores and some DC stores, Founding Farmers in DC serves it, and 25% of their product goes to the UK. They have plans to expand, so check this place out before they're too busy making whiskey and gin to give tours!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hilaryg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved our tour at the distillery. We were the only ones there, had a great extremely knowledgeable and passionate guide. Very interesting process, great to see people who love what they do and do it well. Only thing missing was a tasting!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Educational and unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a must-do when traveling through Sperryville! Even if you do not care for "spirits", this is still such an educational tour to watch the whiskey making process. The staff's passion for their commitment in making a top-quality product, shines through, as they make the tour fun and well organized. They are working on tasting their products in the very near future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Visited today. Was looking forward to a possible sample, even with a small fee. Came in and was told the next tour would be in 15 minutes. Watched another employee take a couple back to the distillery - the tour - while others were waiting.

The product is very expensive and there is an "air" about the place that everyone will purchase after the tour.

Just did not seem like a well run business. Passed on the tour and product.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OldPugVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copper Fox Distillery also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Copper Fox Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing