We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed this personal and informative tour!”

Copper Fox Distillery
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Sperryville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is where your new favorite whisky comes from! At Copper Fox Distillery we dedicate ourselves to making great American spirits by emphasizing a combination of innovation and tradition. We start from scratch, floor malting our locally grown barley, flavoring the grain with apple and cherry wood smoke, then aging with a progressive series of hand toasted wood chips in used bourbon barrels. All of our fine spirits are available for tasting and purchase at the distillery. We look forward to seeing you.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I really enjoyed this personal and informative tour!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I am more of a wine drinker if that, but Copper Fox was recommended by Tom at Killahevlin B&B where we were staying. The young man who gave us the tour was personable as well as informative. Glad I went.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    31
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday in Sperryville”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Being from No Virginia sometimes we just slide through Sperryville on our way to/from rides on Skyline drive. Today, we made it our destination. Our Copper Fox tour guide was informative, entertaining and made the whole distilling process interesting. He said that they recently started offering tastings, which were enjoyable. We bought a bottle of their blue top whiskey and single malt barrel aging kit as a gift for friends.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Merry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, informal tour and tasting”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Even my wife, who begrudgingly joins me for vineyard tours, found this stop to be interesting and eclectically charming. I guess they only allow tastings for the cool people, because I got to try a finger of single malt and a finger of rye. Seriously, someone needs to ask why they do tastings only sometimes, so TripAdvisees know how to plan! The whisky is very drinkable once you accept that it not going to taste like scotch. We purchased a couple of bottles to remind of us our visit and to share (the story and the hootch) with friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibbstown
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Part of our vacation plans were to visit a few wineries and the Copper Fox Distillery. We did not know what to expect once the barn door opened. Well, the distillery tour was so cool, I hated to leave. We were all impressed with the entire process that occurred behind the wooden door, so much fun. Devon our tour guide was very informative and you could tell he was very excited to share his knowledge. We were the lucky ones and did get to participate in a tasting. Definitely worth a visit!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LeezaGibbstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

OK this was so much fun. I've done a bunch of winery tours but this even more interesting. And now they offer tastes so i highl recommend visiting. From there we walked through the art studios and second hand store. What fun! Loved our tour guide.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoxyAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copper Fox Distillery also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Copper Fox Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing