We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully comfortable and very nicely furnished” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Ranked #2 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
washington dc
2 reviews
“Wonderfully comfortable and very nicely furnished”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We just returned from our stay at the Inn at Mt Vernon Farm. I will say at the outset that staying at B and B's is something I tend to avoid at all costs as I do not like the cramped quarters, lack of privacy and generally fussy interiors. But this was a delightful experience from the time we rounded the driveway with the fabulous view to when we left the handsome house with the lovely garden. The family is super welcoming and the house decor strikes the perfect balance with antiques and comfort. There are no overdone, fussy rooms here -- just very comfortable beds and lovely cotton sheets and good pillows. The bathrooms are all up to date and nice renovated. Our hosts could not have been nicer and we were impressed with the farm in general and their work producing and promoting local products. we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NW w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
105
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Airy, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

There are a lot of choices for B&Bs in Rhappahannock County, but you will not find a friendlier, classier, and more comfortable spot anywhere in the area. Located on a working farm which employs a very forward-thinking approach to raising animals, The Inn at Mt Vernon combines the best of the old with upgraded amenities throughout including completely refurbished bathrooms and showers. Not primitive or backwards by any means. The views from the porches are spectacular at any time, and in any weather. It is quiet, and unless you knew there were farm animals, you wouldn't know since they are kept some distance from the house (no worries about a rooster waking you up at zero-dark thirty!) The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfasts -- are simply wonderful -- ranging from a homemade granola mixture to farm fresh eggs, bacon, lamb, and on and on. Coffee is made via a french press and of course is a great way to wake up. Lots to do in the immedate area and the proprietors -- Cliff Miller III and IV -- know where to send you, and what to avoid. The soaps and shampoos are top notch -- something English -- but well appreciated. We spent 5 days in the area and had a blast.

Room Tip: The website provides and excellent overview and photos of the rooms, The ones on the second floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyandDeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Inn is simply lovely...beautifully and tastefully decorated with a warm and inviting host. A wonderful respite with pastoral views from the front porch - the perfect spot to watch the end of summer thunderstorms over the Blue Ridge Mountains. The full american breakfast on Spode "Foxhunt" china was delicious. My only regret was my stay was only one night. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves2travel90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We chose the Inn to relax, refresh, and recharge. It is the perfect place for relaxing and refreshing!

The Inn, a nicely renovated 19th century farmhouse, sits on a rise in the midst of a 600 acre farm, with grass fed cattle and lambs pasturing nearby, with great views of the Blue Ridge Mountains not far away. It's secluded and quiet, far away from the stress of our everyday life. We enjoyed the porches, overlooking the view, for our morning coffee and newspaper, as well as for afternoon reading and relaxing.

The Inn's hosts are charming and most hospitable, eager to make our stay everything we wanted it to be. Breakfasts were custom-made and delightful in every way. Great suggestions for what to see and what to do, where to eat, are part of the hospitality.

Our room was very comfortable, the furnishings an eclectic mix of family antiques, with a very modern and comfortable king-size bed. And the shower is a treat to look forward to each morning!

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Queen's room, with reading area, king size bed, and large shower in the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave44720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookneal va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Extremely comfortable beds and fabulous bathrooms. The breakfast was "over the top" using local ingredients from the farm. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Susansmullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We spent one night at the Inn and enjoyed every minute of it. The house and accomodations were beautiful and the hosts extremely friendly. We will definitely be back. Breakfast was also very good and we brought some steaks back with us from the farm...looking forward to grilling them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whblab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at this charming and impeccably renovated inn while having dinner down the street at the Inn at Little Washington. Mt Vernon Farm is just six miles away, a very easy drive. From the moment we were greeted by the very welcoming owner, Cliff Miller, we knew we were in for a great weekend. The house has been lovingly renovated with family heirlooms and modern amenities. The style is classic and traditional but immaculately clean and well-kept, with sparkling bathrooms that have all been re-done. The linens on the bed were particularly crisp and comfy--I had to force myself out of bed in the morning. Cliff offered us wine and port when we returned from dinner, and the next morning there were eggs from the farm for breakfast. All in all a perfect stay--the farm house you would build for yourself if you could. I hope I have the chance to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crimsbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.7 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

Property: The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Address: 147 Mount Vernon Ln, Sperryville, VA 22740-2186
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 845 acres of working farm land in the heart of Rappahannock County, the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm offers an award-winning, romantic escape into tranquility. Just 72 miles from Washington DC, guests of the Inn are provided with the opportunity to explore the beauty of the Shenandoah, enjoy a once in a lifetime dining experience at the nearby Inn at Little Washington, and fall back in love with all that nature has to offer. With 6 historically restored private rooms, the Inn at Mount Vernon is the perfectly intimate, unique, and personal escape that you and your loved one will never forget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing