We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
179
2
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
2
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiller familymusic roomowner's suitebacongrass fedfrench press coffeemy husband and ifamily portraitslambglass of wineskyline drivefront porchhomemade granolaart galleriesfine linensrappahannock countysouthern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hosts are gracious, and congenial; the staff is welcoming and accommodating. The room is unusually comfortable. The farm breakfast is original, delicious and ample (catered to my gluten free needs!). The building is historic and full of character. The décor is harmonious and appealing; and the view, outstanding. It all adds up to a sense of relaxed elegance and grace. It’s akin to having a particularly fine meal, feeling deeply satisfied by the creativity of the menu, the aesthetics of the presentation and the delicious taste, and the price is well worth it for the beauty and artfulness of the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot_N686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Mt. Vernon Farm is 840 acres of paradise--stunning views, quiet places to sit, indoors or out, as much or as little privacy/company as you wish, in a beautifully restored circa1823 home.

The owner greeted us in the well-planned circular (around the home) driveway, and insisted upon carrying in our bags, before giving us a brief, but perfect, tour of facilities.

Unusual in having actual staff, in addition to the lovely owners, no matter what you wish for, it magically appears. French press coffee, to sip in the ultra comfortable bed? Not a problem. A late evening glass of wine? You can help yourself, or merely mention the wish for one, and it appears, quietly.
In the summer, proximity to the Castleton Festival w Lorin Maazel conducting, is a huge plus, with many performances to select from, and there are vineyards, antique shops, and even a distillery tour, all very close by, if you wish entertainment. Skyline drive, cute small towns, cute or elegant restaurants, also all nearby.
We stayed in The Brief Room, and loved its easy access (1st floor), porch access, large soaking tub--heavenly--and luxurious, cozy bed. The bedroom/private bathroom is beautifully appointed, as is the entire home, frankly. Marble, crystal wall sconces, period light fixtures, oil family portraits from many eras--Country elegance, tastefully done, w/o the cloyingly too-sweet touches some B+B's suffer from--this B+B is that 'perfect B+B'. Relaxed, but elegant. Oh, and great Wi-fi. :)
The fragrant aroma of breakfast wafting down the hallway may actually awaken you, despite the quiet of a country morning. Breakfast is served either at small 'couple' tables, or at the larger DR table, all beautifully set. Your French Press--a very large one, with freshly ground coffee--is served directly to your table, or tea, or pressed cider, as you prefer, while breakfast--creative, and with all fresh ingredients, is served buffet style, with a wide variety of choices. The food is excellent, and hot--always a plus!
The hosts are charming, interesting, gracious, people, with a broad knowledge of the area history and 'things to do', not surprisingly, given that the owners family has owned the home since 1823. A guest staying there while we were there, wanted to go with the owner to gather the eggs from the chickens--"No problem, we'd be delighted to have you join us!" Yes is the operative word at this B+B.
This is also a working farm, with lambs, cattle, pigs, chickens, etc., so for a city girl like me, between the vistas for the Blue Ridge Mts., and seeing the magnificently cared for farm animals, it was heavenly.
We already know that we will return, whether for weekends or a week--both of which we agreed would be in our plans. Having stayed in B+Bs around the country, we know that few meet the high standard of excellence that this one meets, and exceeds. Perfectly maintained, exquisitely decorated, w fascinating guests, a wonderful breakfast, wines available afternoons and evenings, and a palpable generosity of spirit, exuded by the hosts/owners, make this B+B a clear stand-out.

A classic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary at the Inn and couldn't have had a better time. The house is beautiful and excellently restored. The owner, Mr. Miller, was very friendly. Not only did he arrange for a local restaurant to let us in after closing, but he also gave us an extensive tour of the farm. The food was also wonderful. Overall, it was the perfect relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsmarks1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Inn at Mt. Vernon Farm, a beautifully restored farm house filled with tasteful antiques. The farm house sits on a hill with a panoramic view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The bed was very comfortable with luxury linens and pillows. The bathroom featured a wonderful glass shower as well as a claw foot tub, terry bathrobes, and many towels.
Books and current magazines were in the room and the entry area.
Breakfast was outstanding. The dining room is lovely. We had a selection of fresh fruit salad, homemade granola, scrambled eggs, bacon and lamb sausage from grass fed animals on the farm, buttermilk blackberry pancakes, from berries on the farm, with real maple syrup. While all was very elegant, the guests were informally dressed for the spectacular hikes in the adjacent Shenadoah National Park. Other activities nearby are antique stores, art galleries, wineries, excellent restaurants including the world class Inn of Little Washington.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the expensive side, but well worth it. All the rooms looked lovely. There is a cabin also, but we did not see the inside.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdranitzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We wanted to cut the 10 hour trip in half so we decided to stop in Sperryville and stay here with the hopes of proving the other reviews to be true. The inn absolutely surpassed our expectations... ! My parents and I stayed in the Foxes Lair room which was very comfortable; my Mom loved the sheets. The owner, Mr. Miller, happened to stop by, and indulged us in a private tour of the grounds. What an awesome learning experience and a beautiful way to discover his holistic approach to farming. The sun was setting over the Rappahannock hills as the grass-fed pigs followed us out to the area where all the cows were chowing down grass. We met the donkey and his llama friend, and admired the chicken coop, and learned some aspects of farming that hopefully will inspire every farmer and consumer! An experience that I highly recommend, and a spot that I will definitely be returning to one day. Thanks again to the owner for his warm welcome, - the Robinson family

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews