We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Ranked #2 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Shame on me for the delay in writing this review. My wife and I stayed at this inn on the way to a KKG parents formal at UVa last November and found it very genteel. We were in the Music Room and arrived in the early afternoon. Prior to a festive dinner at the Inn at Little Washington we enjoyed wine & cheese in the living room of Mt Vernon Farm in front of a roaring fire.

The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with Cliff, the father of the current owner. He graciously gave us a tour of the property, including the massive barn they use for large weddings.

The Inn at Mt. Vernon farm is an absolute gem.

Room Tip: the inn is situated on a hill so all of the rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJAP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I just spent a long weekend at the Inn. The brick home that has been in Cliff's family for generations sits on a hilltop with a view of beautiful rolling hills and meadows amongst the Shenandoah mountains. Horses graze down below,watched by Hannah,Cliff's Border Collie.
The scene is magnificently peaceful! Our room,the "Music Room",was lovely! Napping in the afternoon with windows open and the breeze rolling through was heavenly!
Cliff was delightful! He is warm and very inviting.Lillian,who has helped manage the Inn for many many years could not have been kinder! Breakfast,as other reviewers have mentioned,was top notch.
I highly recommend a visit! I wish I lived there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slowtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a perfect place to celebrate our third anniversary! The inn is an authentic family home, furnished with lovely antiques and decorated with family portraits. The Millers have graced this land for six generations, and Cliff Miller is the quintessential host. Lillian, the family's longtime employee serves delicious breakfasts featuring meat and eggs from the environmentally sensitive family farm. A true joy in a magical setting.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It's been over a year since I've been at the Inn at MVF and it haunts me to this day. The best people! The best service (friendly, welcoming, intelligent, earthy, fun, kind, therapeutic without over-doing it). The Inn (family home for generations) is exquisitely furnished, yet you can sit in your blue jeans in a genteel, southern parlor or dining room, etc., and not be frowned upon or feel out of place. To the contrary!

I love the owners, staff (hate calling them that because they are sooooo much more). Seeing them and chatting with them is like subtle aroma therapy. You can't help but be invigorated or soothed. Cleansed and renewed. I felt I could believe in humanity again (baaaad week leading up to my visit). Please save your pennies and stay here. Shut out the world and welcome in heaven. It welcomes you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GibbyGabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We already miss the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm after a lovely weekend spent enjoying it's historic and restfully appointed lodgings, delicious breakfasts (including gluten-free blackberry pancakes!), and the spectacular hospitality of Cliff and Lillian. We will be back!

Room Tip: The guest cabin is perfect for your romantic getaway. Enjoy the live fireplace, ready-to-use kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

With a wedding anniversary in early January it is hard to find a lovely spot to celebrate. But we found it at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm. Starting with a rainy cold day, we curled up in front of the fire in the living room reading books and enjoying the historic room graced with portraits of Miller ancestors.
At sundown I was amazed at the sunset flaming over the Blue Ridge mountains to the west. And again when I awoke i saw the early light making shadows on Old Rag.
Breakfast of a variety of locally raised and home made (by Lilian Aylor) meats, eggs, and pastries took a long time, what with the local conversations with Cliff and Lucile and their guests. Then, skies cleared, we took our anniversary hike up Turkey Mountain with Cliff Miller, seeing the glimpses of mountains through the forest.
Finally after 48 years we have found the best place for our January anniversary!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Queen room. Be sure to ask for instructions on using the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I got married on the property (the wonderful barn) of this little gem in October. We rented the entire inn for the weekend for our families to stay with us. The inn and the innkeepers are wonderful! It has great historical charm yet fantastic modern bathrooms; this touch done during renovation was brilliant. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Our families and guests loved the accommodations.
The grounds around the inn are gorgeous -- beautiful views of the mountains, wildlife wandering around in the area, plus all of the farm animals as you drive in and out.
All of the staff were friendly and bent over backwards to help you or attend to your needs. Lilian, Jackie and Cliff made us feel like family during our stay.
Not that this isn't enough... Then there was the breakfast. It was fantastic!!! The sausage and bacon from the farm were absolutely delicious and Lillian's breakfast was all around delicious. We were lucky enough to taste her chicken hash on our last morning there. The dining room was great for a group or for a quiet intimate breakfast.
The only downside (for some people) is the lack of cell phone reception--there is none. They do have wi-fi so you can post on Tripadvisor or facebook to make all your friends jealous of this great place. It's a must!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
6.6 mi away
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Sperryville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
253 reviews
4.7 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
328 reviews
10.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

Address: 147 Mount Vernon Ln, Sperryville, VA 22740-2186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: £179 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 845 acres of working farm land in the heart of Rappahannock County, the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm offers an award-winning, romantic escape into tranquility. Just 72 miles from Washington DC, guests of the Inn are provided with the opportunity to explore the beauty of the Shenandoah, enjoy a once in a lifetime dining experience at the nearby Inn at Little Washington, and fall back in love with all that nature has to offer. With 6 historically restored private rooms, the Inn at Mount Vernon is the perfectly intimate, unique, and personal escape that you and your loved one will never forget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing