We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of High on the Hog BBQ - CLOSED

High on the Hog BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Food was good, not the best. It was your mom and pop BBQ, we were in town for one night, stopped in for a bite to eat. No beer, I would go back if ever in town again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jphill51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We saw this restaurant as we drove by on Main Street and decided to give it a try. The decor was pretty cute inside and the staff seemed very friendly. In fact, our waitress was extremely nice--we really enjoyed our experience with her. The food seemed reasonably priced--dinners were around $10--there were choices not only for BBQ but for seafood as well. We tried the BBQ and ordered a pulled chicken meal, beef brisket meal, and a hamburger. The meats were all pretty good and we loved those baked beans--they are they type where they get cooked down so much they get mushy--just right for BBQ. The meals also came with slaw, which seemed a little bland--some seasoning or sweeting of it would have helped dramatically. But that can be forgiven as the rest of the meal was very good, so overall our dinner was pretty good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ. Clean and friendly atmosphere. An excellent find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Great BBQ. Clean and friendly atmosphere. An excellent find.
Pulled pork sandwich was great. Small place but well worth finding it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JK_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Will Try Again But . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Live local and has not had a chance to get in here until today. Started off poor as it was at least 88 inside but the server said she would put me by the wall AC unit they were using since the main wasn't working right. Hopefully no AC is short term. Decided to get a platter to see how they were overall. Ribs were excellent. Meaty, moist, great smoke taste and color. Pulled chicken had apart no flavor and no smoke at all. Pulled pork was dry, a mix of overlooked end chunks and no BBQ smoke flavor at all. Came with mushy no flavor baked beans (would have been better with store Bush's beans) and cole slaw that needed a makeover. It was even dry. Service was fantastic however. Friendly, fast, and quick drink refills. Maybe just a bad day but would think a Saturday night would be the best food they have. They also have some interesting seafood dishes I will have to try on my One More Try trip. Crab cakes, shrimp dishes, and some creole specials.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good road side stop on your way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The service was great and the food was good, but our pulled pork and beef sandwiches were not as tender and soaked with flavor as we had hoped. Both were a bit dry until we slathered with some of the provided sauces. A great stopover though, who doesn't love a bit of BBQ, even if it isn't the best you have ever tried? I still enjoyed my lunch and the baked beans were actually pretty darn good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High on the Hog BBQ also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing