We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History. Hospitality. Comfort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“History. Hospitality. Comfort”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our goal was opera at the nearby Castleton Festival, but our stay an Hopkins Ordinary was a wonderful bonus. The hosts are gracious and hospitable, and it is quite a thrill to stay in a building that has served guests from before the Civil War. The town of Sperryville is not only convenient to The Castleton Festival, but near the glorious Blue Ridge Parkway and home to a wonderful boutique Wasmund's Copper Fox Whisky Distillery, We have already begun recommending the place to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
272
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Hopkins Ordinary in the last weekend of June and had a great time in the area. Our stay at the cottage was comfortable and pleasant - and the attentiveness and helpfulness of owners Sherri and Kevin made it even better. The homemade cookies are such a nice touch (breakfast is great too) . . . but they went over the top when we discovered that we had left our baby sling at home and needed something to carry our 3-month around in as we visited the area. Kevin and Sherri actually borrowed one from a friend of theirs, and went to pick it up for us. Does it get any better than that??

They clearly love what they do at the Hopkins Ordinary and we would happily recommend it to anyone - and look forward to another stay in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superchuck500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed one night at the Hopkins Ordinary B&B to get away from D.C. The house was very nice, conveniently located close to a restaurant, and the hosts were fabulous. I especially liked Kevin's home-made beer and the great breakfast we received. Kevin and Sherri gave us good tips for nearby hikes, and Sherri was kind enough to wash my wife's shorts after she took a spill on one of the hikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beached56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker, WV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Kevin & Sherri missed no details for our weekend stay. They were waiting for us at the time we suggested we would arrive. Offered us a complementary glass of local wine or beer, had freshly baked cookies in the parlor, and were ready to make our dinner reservations (we opted for beer and pizza on our private porch, after hiking for 4 hours on Massanutten Mountain). They had a local map and directions to the Castleton Festival, which we were attending. When we put our feet up, the bed had both soft and medium firm pillows to chose from. Fresh coffeed greeted us at 7:30 a.m. and a delicious breakfast was on the table at 8:30. When we had hiking food to keep cool, they had a refrigerator, and freezer for our ice packs.
Oscar & Linda

Room Tip: Our Thyme Room had a private balcony, over looking garden. Other rooms had a shared balcony overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

With a relaxed attention to detail, a refined mastery of culinary expression, and a readily accessible knowledge base of regional offerings, the innkeepers and staff at Hopkins Ordinary provide exceptional hospitality which is as memorable on the second visit as the on the first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NieFie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Kevin and Sherri welcome you in this wonderfully restored house. The room was beautiful, sunny, and clean. Nice linens were on the bed and fluffy, white towels in the bathroom. Breakfast each day was homemade and delicious. I can't wait for my next stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The proprietors were very warm and generous and knew a lot about bread and beer making. The accommodations were appropriately "period", clean and offered a nice size porch for relaxation. The food was wonderful and very sufficient. The owners knew a lot about the surrounding area and provided us with relevant information. The town itself was quiet but it appealed to us for the night. Hopkins comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
960 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,209 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
282 reviews
14.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing