We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming quite attached”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Becoming quite attached”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our second stay at Hopkins' Ordinary - almost 6 months apart, and it was just as perfect for September as it was for March. Classy, simple, immaculate furnishings, very comfortable bed, lovely light bathroom with a soaking tub. Kevin and Sherri are warm and welcoming and absolutely ready to help with so many things (local brew on arrival, recommendations for local hikes and sights, even a driver for our trip out to a restaurant a town over), without being anxious or overbearing - quite a balance to strike and they do it perfectly. And Kevin's breakfasts: to die for. We're already looking forward to next time!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
281
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This historic 19th century inn is steeped in historic charm. Kevin and Sherri were excellent hosts and made me feel welcome. I especially appreciate their sharing the history of the inn. The rooms are nicely appointed. I slept well on a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good and included homemade French toast with locally grown fresh fruit. The view from the front porch of the village is beautiful, especially in the evening. A nice restaurant and a historic general store (good for groceries, snacks...etc.) are within walking distance. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were just here for one night, but it was the best. Kevin and Sherri were so friendly and sweet. They make you feel at home and they make the BEST scones and cookies! The rooms were so clean and perfectly private and made is feel so at home. Bed was soooo comfortable. We can't wait to come back! I got engaged here during our stay and were excited to make it a tradition

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessrm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a great place to escape the city for the weekend! We came here for Labor Day weekend and stayed 2 nights in the Lavender Room. We were greeted by our hosts and offered our choice of a glass of wine or a beer (both were good, quality offerings), and wonderful fresh baked cookies -- a very nice touch. The inn itself was lovely, with great details, including beautiful hardwood floors, unique built ins, and a pretty wrap-around porch. It has a bright and airy feel to it, and is very clean and nicely decorated. Our room was large and well-appointed, with a very comfortable bed, with cozy fresh linens and a private balcony with a porch swing that overlooked a small mountain. It had it's own air-conditioning conrols, and the air conditioning worked very well. (It also had an awesome-looking wood stove that I would have loved to have used if it weren't 90 degrees that weekend!) The bathroom was great too -- it was a good size, was very clean, and had a beautifully restored clawfoot tub, perfect for soaking in after a long hike! There was also a separate stand-up shower area, the towels were good quality, and items such as a heating rack, blow dryer, and soaps/shampoos were provided. Sperryville, is a cute little town that is perfectly located near some fantastic hiking, a beautiful scenic drive on Skyline drive, or multiple wineries. There are some good restaurants within walking distance, and it is only a short drive from the famed Inn at Little Washington restaurant. The Innkeepers are very attentive, and the meals are wonderful. It's a quick trip back to D.C. but you really do feel like you had a vacation when you leave!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coinjock,nc
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the cottage in the rear and as it was great other than the narrow steep stairs and lack of headroom in the upstairs bedroom, it was fine. The owners are very accommodating and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank was49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hopkins Ordinary B&B is an idyllic retreat with charmingly creaky floors and clean rooms filled with antique furniture, a healthy stash of boardgames, decks with rockers and porch swings, and warm, hospitable hosts who happen to be talented chefs. Sherri and Kevin baked delicious cookies from scratch on a daily basis and made a knockout breakfast of fresh fruit, raisin scones, and frittatas in three flavors with ingredients fresh from their garden. It made Sperryville easily the highlight of our trip and we look forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WkndWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Everything about our stay at the Hopkins Ordinary was absolutely wonderful. The owners take great care of you, offering tips on where to visit, creating a welcoming and warm environment, and even allowing us to sample their homemade beer AND cheese! The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, and we were able to walk right over to dinner at the Thornton River Grill. We are actually returning this weekend and cannot wait for another great stay. Thanks Kevin and Sherri!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,260 reviews
14.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing