We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hopkins Ordinary B&B for 2 nights this week. Our stay couldn't have been better. Kevin and Sherri, the owners/innkeepers welcomed us with open arms and took care of our every need. Our room was very comfortable and well-appointed with period furniture. The B&B was built before the Civil War and much of the interior is original, but well-preserved and kept in good repair. All of the bathrooms have been updated with modern fixtures and plumbing. The AC/heating has also been modernized and each bedroom can be individually controlled. The breakfasts are first-rate; delicious and well presented. The Sperryville area has much to offer, and your Innkeepers know all the best places to eat, shop, and sightsee. The Hopkins Ordinary is a great getaway. We highly recommend it.

Mike and Linda, Annandale, VA.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
275
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at Hopkins Ordinary B&B for four nights on a hiking trip and it was outstanding. The hosts Sherri and Kevin were delightful to be with, and most helpful in hiking and dining advice. Their B&B has been completely restored, and is conveniently located in a small town but close to many hiking opportunities. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhmgadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I spent a night in the Lavender Room at Hopkins Ordinary. The room was spacious and immaculate, There was a large soak tub (also a shower), a towel warmer in the bathroom. and separate thermostats for the bathroom and the bedroom for special pampering. The big plus for us was the wrap around porch accessible from our room on the second floor complete with bistro table and fabuolous swing ideal for reading. Our hosts, Sherri and Kevin, were laid back delightful people who clearly enjoy what they are doing and excel by going out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They are also extremely knowledgeable about the area and are happy to share their information.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hopkins Ordinary was a wonderful home away from home in Sperryville. We had decided on a whim to spend a few days outside of the city, and were lucky enough to book the last available room at the Inn. We couldn't have been more delighted with the choice. The rooms are immaculate, beautifully furnished, and very comfortable. Innkeepers Kevin and Sherry are so kind and welcoming. They took the time to chat with all of their guests and provided helpful information on things to do in the area - where to hike, where to eat. And on top of that, they are fantastic cooks. The french toast and bacon - sublime. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

From the moment I checked in until my departure, my stay with Kevin and Sherri was delightful! They were very welcoming and accommodating. The Inn is amazing - completed renovated, beautifully furnished, charming and quaint (they did a magnificent job with renovations). Kevin and Sherri offered a lot of information about the Inn, local businesses, tourism, etc. And the food is AMAZING. They served the best French toast I've ever eaten in my life! Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Hopkins Ordinary. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoratticoSunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the inn this summer. We were on our way to a family wedding and chose the Inn as a half way place to stop. What a wonderful choice. We were welcomed by Kevin and Sherri. There were home made Oatmeal cookies waiting! The Inn is absolutely beautiful. Our room was so peaceful and comfortable. It is located at a Skyline Drive and we enjoyed some sight seeing before we continued our drive, We definitely plan on returning. Thank you Kevin and Sherri.

Sharon P.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank btlmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our second stay at Hopkins' Ordinary - almost 6 months apart, and it was just as perfect for September as it was for March. Classy, simple, immaculate furnishings, very comfortable bed, lovely light bathroom with a soaking tub. Kevin and Sherri are warm and welcoming and absolutely ready to help with so many things (local brew on arrival, recommendations for local hikes and sights, even a driver for our trip out to a restaurant a town over), without being anxious or overbearing - quite a balance to strike and they do it perfectly. And Kevin's breakfasts: to die for. We're already looking forward to next time!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,239 reviews
14.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing