We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very friendly and helpful, very clean and excellent breakfast. Kevin the owner even leant us a waterproof map of Shenandoah national park. Its across the street from a very nice restaurant and pizzeria.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floater268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
272
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Excellent spot for your wedding night!! Kevin was so kind to upgrade our reservations to the Lavender Room, where we shared a glass of wine by the fire. He was such a gracious host, suggesting places for dinner and taking pics in the morning. We shall return!!
Kathy and Phyllis

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Sperryville isn't Times Square, but it was a great place for my wife and I (and another couple) to spend our New Year's Eve this year. The "Oridinary" is charming and inviting .... country comfortable, and clean as a whistle. As other reviewers have commented, Kevin and Sherri are delightful, generous hosts, and genuinely nice folks. Be sure to take time to talk with them .... the story of their journey to becoming "innkeepers" is fascinating. We stayed in the Garden Cottage, which is a great deal .... and even better if you're splitting the cost with another couple. Total privacy when you want it, and a tremendous breakfast delivered to and served in your own dining room in the morning. Each afternoon of our stay, when we returned from our day's activities, we were delighted to discover freshly baked cookies left in our kitchen. We raved about them to Sherri (and, unprompted, she later emailed us the recipes!!) The Ordinary is itself worth the trip to Sperryville, but there's so much more to be experienced while you're there. Hikers will love the dozens of local hiking trails in the Shenandoah National Park, anglers will enjoy pursuing wild brook trout in the Park's many fine streams, and cyclists can stretch their muscles on the Skyline Drive (5 miles from the Ordinary). Surprisingly fine dining is available as close as across the street at the "Thornton River Grill," just up the road at the "Inn at Little Washington," or at "The Griffin Inn" in Flint Hill (11 miles away). Sperryville's not that far away!! Don't miss this gem!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have stayed at Hopkins Ordinary twice now, for our fourth and fifth anniversaries. The house is beautiful and very well-kept. We stayed in the Rosemary Room both times - it has a fireplace (helpfully supplied with a Duraflame log and lighter), and it's a bit more private than a room upstairs would be. Sherri and Kevin are wonderful hosts and fantastic cooks. Sherri's scones are the best we've ever had, and Kevin's omelets are delicious and filling. Sherri and Kevin also know a lot about the trails and trail conditions in the area, so don't hesitate to ask them for recommendations if you want to hike.

If you are in the area for fun, check out the Copper Fox Distillery down the road, too. The tour is really interesting. We've also enjoyed going out to dinner at the Thornton River Grille right across the street from the B&B (reservations recommended).

Room Tip: Rosemary Room is a little more private and has a fireplace. I think it is also ADA-compliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapequena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed at Hopkins Ordinary as part of a weekend visit to The Inn at Little Washington because it is so close and reasonably priced. We loved staying here. It was comfortable, has all the amenities you need, clean, quiet, and cozy. The owners are friendly and unobtrusive. Plus, the food was delicious. Woke up to the smell of scones baking! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sherri and Kevin were perfect hosts who were engaged and helpful yet still gave you space to use the B&B as you liked. We were very relaxed and did not feel like we were intruding their home - I am not usually a B&B fan for that reason. We stayed in the Oregano Room which faced the rising sun. A welcome treat on a frosty weekend! The size of the room was perfect for two with a small deck that we did not get a chance to use. The bathroom was small but immaculate and just perfect for my husband and me. The renovation that they accomplished created a quaint feel with all the modern amenities.The breakfast was thoughtfully prepared with a focus on flavor and filling. So delicious! We would stay at the Hopkins Ordinary again, I can only imagine the spring summer and fall!

Room Tip: We were able to take a look at the cottage in the back. If you want you own little house with some l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outta_WNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was in Sperryville not for fun, but to attend a memorial service for a dear friend. Sherri was especially kind to me, even showing me his obituary in the local paper. I had to leave the next morning well before breakfast was served, but Sherri made me a meal to go.
I certainly plan to come again under better circumstances.

Room Tip: Although I didn't need it, my room was handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
962 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
814 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,213 reviews
14.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing