We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to spend our engagement weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My boyfriend--er, I mean fiance--made our reservations to stay at the Hopkins Ordinary the weekend we got engaged (in nearby Shenandoah National Park). It was a delightful place made even more special by the attention to detail from the innkeepers, Kevin and Sherry. They welcomed us with (seemingly bottomless) drinks on the porch, and we stayed in the Sage room. The house was in incredible condition for its age, decorated tastefully but not too much floral (a definite plus as far as my partner and I are concerned), and the bathroom was all completely modern, clean and updated. Breakfast was a delicious homemade trio of quiches with various fresh ingredients from the garden, as well as fruit, homemade scones, and peach-lavender jam. We enjoyed the porches (upstairs and down) most of all, and my apologies to the other guests there that weekend; we did hog to porch swing for a lot of our waking hours (!). The only thing that could be better was the bed; it was quite firm and my fiance didn't sleep well (I, on the other hand, would be comfortable sleeping on a wood floor...). Great inn with very convenient access to Shenandoah National Park (Thornton Gap entrance is closest, but Sperryville is also on way to the Old Rag parking lot). Highly recommend to couples especially. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k99js06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

This is a lovely old inn with a fantastic wrap around porch that sits on the main street of a tiny town that you come into after taking the first exit off the beautiful Skyline Drive. The rooms are refreshingly simple and lovely. Our room had access to the upstairs porch where you could view not much going by. The hosts were very helpful and friendly but also made you feel like you had the whole house to yourself. Breakfast was whole grain waffles with fruit and local sausage beautifully prepared. The dueling raccoons in the night and dual shower in the room are the entertainment. There is also a good meal just across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriveNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My husband and I participated in an Italian cooking weekend with 2 other couples/friends. We had no idea what to expect so we came with open minds and large appetites. The entire weekend was fabulous; we enjoyed homemade cheeses, homemade cured salmon and wonderful French toast to name a few dishes. We spent 8 hours on Saturday cooking a meal for ourselves with a wonderful CIA instructor. Our menu was quite ambitious but we succeeded and everyone tried a food that they were not familiar with. It was a great learning experience. The most unexpected part was the innkeepers. When we left we felt like we had made new friends. They were so informative of the food and area. They both have a wonderful passion for food and where it comes from.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

My wife, dog, Oliver and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend for an Italian cooking class. Students collaborated on a Mario Batali-style meal - this was a blast. Our hosts, Kevin and Sherri could not be more hospitable. Additionally, their wine selections and culinary skills are world class. We enjoyed this visit even more because we could bring our dog. Hopkins Ordinary has a well-appointed cottage that is very private and comfortable.

Kevin and Sherri did an outstanding job of renovating this 1820's inn by maintaining the sense of an old inn while providing the modern essentials that make a visit that much more enjoyable.

The Inn is very convenient to Washington DC and there is abundant outdoor activities and dining opportunities nearby. Our hosts were very helpful in rrecommending hiking trails, restaurants, and other activities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivers_Dad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We hiked Old Rag Mountain and needed a place to stay the night before. There was not much open in Sperryville, VA in March, but our hosts could not have been nicer. The room was comfortable, clean and decorated very nicely. This would be an excellent place to stay if you are hiking Old Rag or hiking in Shenandoah National Park.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogagirl921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Outstanding proprietors--gracious, friendly, and refined. Superb breakfast, very comfortable bed. Located in a magical region, made better by the existence of this reasonably-priced, high-quality establishment. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank LDeckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hopkins B&B and would recommend this place to others. I now think our reviews of other B&Bs may have been overly generous as I do think Hopkins nails what it is seeking to offer better than some other B&Bs. From what I have seen, I believe this to is probably the best B&B in the area in their price range ($150-200/night).

Setup: run by a great couple. They aren't "too country" and are very hospitable without being intrusive. They live in the back of the B&B, across a formal divide (kitchen), so it is like they are off-premises and feels much more like small hotel/inn than someone's home (always our concern about a B&B).

Facilities: Owners said B&B rennovated 4 years ago (used to be an apartment building), and it shows. Very modern, but classicly done. Shower was big enough to stand/sit. Patios are very well done. See attached photos... Only complaint would be beds are a little creaky and 2nd floor floorboards can be a little creaky, but the latter we didn't even notice after a day.

Location is great. Sperryville is a tiny "town" and location is right on the "main street"..which is perhaps 4-5 blocks long. Thorton River Grill is literally around corner, so this is a great dining option in close proximity. This is important as the other two good fine dining options (aside from Inn at Washington) are literally in cities 30-60 minutes away from each other. We did to drive to one, and it was fine.. basically drived straight till we were at restaurant 25 min later in Culpepper. Horseback riding was 2 min drive away. Shenandoah Park was ?10 min? drive away, but a nice winding drive. Also on the Main Street there are a new BBQ restaurant (decent), deli, pizzeria. We spent a little time in Luray and Culpepper and very glad we stayed in Sperryville. More "class" in this town and B&B from what we have seen. We drove by one B&B in Front Royal that we had considered staying at for less $, but very glad we had paid up as that other place seemed a bit scuzzy.

Breakfast: Well done. Since folks have talked about them, I will provide more detail... breakfasts are all homemade from scratch (some herbs come from their own garden) and they clearly source local ingredients. Breakfasts are generally fruit + entree, with occassional scone tossed in. We had i) cheddar-corn waffles with heirloom tomato salsa and jalapeno syrup, served with fried egg on top, ii) lemon/blueberry scone + frittas served 3 ways (ricotta/squash/tomato, goat cheese/something, feta/something), iii) peach french toast + bacon. I have requested an extra egg, or egg on side etc. and these requests were accomodated without incident. I read about the waffles and actually emailed them ahead of time to request it, and they were happy to do so (though they may have done it anyway as corn was in season). They offer seconds and are glad to accomodate dietary restrictions etc. They like to cook. And I like to eat, so that worked out well.

Concierge: Owners are *very* responsive via email, which I value highly. They helped us design itinerary (horseback riding, restaurant reservations, which vineyards to hit, which organic farms to hit), and specifically which hiking trails to hit for different desires (difficulty levels, watering holes, more/less crowds, etc. etc.). I am not a hiker and this was a 1st trip to Shenandoah Vallye, so this was all great. There were some restaurants which we avoided as they simply just didn't mention them.. they are foodies so we came to trust their judgement.

Extras: Place has Wi-Fi, but I didn't try to use it. There was a closet stocked with hair dryers, towels, blankets, and other toiletries which was great to have easy access to. A shared fridge is provided for the few guests, which we used to store wine/cheese. We borrowed utensiles/olive oil from kitchen to barbeque with which was very helpful. They bake cookies every day and leave it for guests.. their chocolate chip cookies were amazing.

Clientele: tend to be older, but we were absolutely fine there despite being much younger. There was another couple our age that joined later on the trip on their honey moon. Everyone really seems to just soak in the vibe of the area/B&B and are friendly and respectful.

In conclusion, a very nice B&B that manages to incorporate contemporary demands (wifi, customer service, modern facilities) with rustic expectations (cozy, quiet, quaint).

If this is helpful, we didn't spend much time at the B&B. Basically had breakfast, drove away. Would return sometime at 5-7pm, clean up, and then head out for dinner. then return for sleep. Spent some time on the patio reading newspaper after breakfast, or perhaps after cleaning up/before dinner or borrowing their chess set. We used this B&B as a staging ground for the day's activities.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
6.5 mi away
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Sperryville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
253 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
328 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: £94 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing