We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B&B Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2006

We have just returned from a two-night stay at Hopkins Ordinary over the Thanksgiving weekend. What a wonderful find! The rooms were lovely - immaculate and very comfortable. One of the nicest things was the delightful porch that runs along the entire front and side of the inn on both floors. We sat out there both mornings and enjoyed the morning sun and suprisingly warm November weather. The breakfasts were excellent - best pancakes I have EVER had on the first morning and two delcious frittatas on the second. Kevin and Sherri were superb hosts, helpful, warm, very friendly. We are lucky to have family with a house in Sperryville, so we plan to return to this delightful place for many more visits.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2006

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at Hopkins Ordinary and loved everything about this bed and breakfast! The owners were wonderful hosts--very friendly and helpful in suggesting hikes nearby and other activities. The rooms were lovely, retaining the nineteenth century charm of the old building, while possessing all of the modern amenities. Our room had a balcony and we enjoyed taking in the beautiful November weather on it. As far as the breakfast goes, it was fabulous. We all agreed that the pancakes were perhaps the best we've ever had and the frittata served on the second day was to die for. I would recommend this B & B to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank b&bconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

A friend and I had a wonderful stay at Hopkins Ordinary in late October. The owners were very hospitable, welcoming us with cookies and wine even though we arrived very late! They knew the area extremely well, made dinner reservations for us, and provided excellent recommendations for local wine, food, and activities. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and meticulously maintained. We could not have asked for a better weekend in Virginia wine country!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank time2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

While the room at Hopkins Ordinary was beautiful and clean, the welcome was lacking. When you stay at a bed and breakfast, you expect courteous service and a warm welcome, however, my friends and I received neither. One of the owners seemed inconvenienced by our stay and was rude and snappy when we asked for their assistance in booking reservations. (Mind you, their web site indicates that they will help you in booking restaurant reservations and spa appointments.) It's a gorgeous location, but we were unfortunately unhappy with the service.

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank FortGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

Hopkins Ordinary has pretty rooms and a convenient location..but that's about it. The owners, Sherri and Kevin, are not helpful and somewhat rude. The breakfast is lacking and for the amount of money you spend to stay there its ridiculous that you leave hungry after. They advertise that they are willing to help with reservations however they do act like its an ordeal.

7  Thank smooshy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Alexandria, VA
14
Reviewed 4 June 2006

My husband and I just spent one night at the Hopkins Ordinary for our anniversary. We loved it! We arrived in a rush, having only 30 minutes before our dinner reservation. Our hosts, Kevin and Sherri, were extremely gracious. They helped expedite our check in and even brought us refreshments to enjoy while getting ready for our evening. Our room was very comfortable. The Ordinary was renovated in 2004 and the rooms are nicely decorated, many having fireplaces. Breakfast was taken on the 2nd story porch outside of our room and it was delicious! The fresh currant scones were lovely and the locally roasted coffee was perfect for helping us wake up. The town of Sperryville is a small one, but worth a visit. We found Main Street very charming with art galleries, antique shops, and a wonderful organic grocery/ice cream shop/burger joint around the corner (Sunnyside Market). We are already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeLennister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
6.5 mi away
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Sperryville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
253 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
328 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: £94 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing