We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tex Mex - Popular & Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austin Grill

Austin Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Austin Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 192 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Southwestern, Bar, Mexican, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tex Mex - Popular & Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We've been eating at this Austin Grill location since 2007. The quality and menu offerings have varied over the years, but when we want a margarita, queso or a Mexican brunch…this is where we go. Always good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuRuRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    33
    19
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crazzzzs
Level Contributor
336 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Austin Grill, Springfield--What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have been going to Austin Grill in Springfield for many years. In the last couple years it is one of the few places my dear friend likes because of their gluten free menu items. We went last night (11/22/13) after a 3 month hiatus and found there were a lot of changes, and not for the better besides the large screen TV in the back of the restaurant. Where shall I start!?!? Margarita on the rocks . . . use to be a great way to start a great meal. I had to send mine back it was so sour. I got punished with what tasted like a virgin margarita. Our friend who arrived 15 minutes later also ordered a margarita and same sour first drink which she also had to send back. NEXT, the menu was changed substantially - no more tamales, no Joe Ely combo -- me sad. So I ordered the Stevie Ray combo (A chicken enchilada with mild green chile sauce and a grilled skirt steak taco) as did my friend's husband. Plentiful beans and rice. Small, tightly rolled chicken enchilada (really looked loke a chicken tacquita from Costco) and a taco filled with 5-6 small pieces of skirt steak and cheese (didn't even fill the flour tortilla half way). I brought it to our server's attention to no avail. My husband ordered the taco salad with spicy beef and asked for Ranch dressing instead of the red salsa vinaigrette; he got both!?! During our 2+ hour dinner (engaging conversation) not once did the manager stop by our table about the lousy drinks and skimpy portions. In these economic times with manufacturers packaging things like ice cream in smaller containers and charging the same or more, I don't think that marketing strategy works so well for restaurants!!!!!! Think that's our last time at that location. Husband said the Austin Grill in Old Towne Alexandria is still great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazzzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New menu,too bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Tried the new menu and was completely unimpressed.Plus,they used to have a fairly good selection of gluten- free food for my wife.Very few choices on the new menu.add- in poor,un txt entice service and we Won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 51Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Austin Grill every couple months for 13 years. Every few years it gets a new menu.... and never really seems to improve. We loved it for many years, excellent food and staff. Went back last Friday to a new menu and new decor, and we were extremely disappointed. The chicken was dry and tasteless, it used to be mouthwatering tender. The taco tasted old...like it had been reheated several times. Oh, I almost forgot.... Not only has the food quality gotten poorer and poorer the prices have gotten higher and higher.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Austin Grill has gone downhill...at least in my opinion. We used to go there often...we enjoyed the food, friendly service and nice atmosphere. But it has changed. It is loud and hard to hear. The food has gone downhill and the service is often hit or miss. The chips are good! But the food in general is bland, sometimes cold, and just not good. We were there with friends, and they were disappointed as well...overdone eggs, server was slow and not attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichIsHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austin Grill also viewed

Springfield, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 
Springfield, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 

Been to Austin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing