We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed at the hotel only for one night. Check in was very quick. It was a typical Holiday Inn Express. Everything was clean and in order. The TV was outdated and there was not very much in the way of cable channels to watch. Used the hotel shuttle to go to Mike's American Grill (See my review) Bed was clean and comfortable. I got a second floor room. It had terrible view to HVAC units. A continental breakfast was waiting for me in the morning. It was your typical Choice Hotel/Hampton Inn breakfast options; you know with the waffles, cereal, pastries, juice and coffee. Tried to use the business center but I couldn't get internet access. Check in was really easy. The best thing of this hotel was the location to restaurants, stores and pharmacies. They were in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Philly_Dan,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    94
    36
    26
    11
See reviews for
82
41
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed t this hotel on 3/31/2012. Hotel room was above average. This is not a luxury hotel but a good, solid place to stay that is very near downtown Washington DC (approximately 12 minutes straight shot on 395). Mattress was a bit firm for my taste. Everything was clean and moderately updated. Shower head/pressure was wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was your standard fare for a freebie (eggs, sausage, biscuits, otameal, pancakes, cinnamon buns, bagels, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice). The breakfast area was constantly being restocked. Did not experience a noise issue though I saw several large groups of young people. Restaurants are close by, though we chose to eat in DC. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbnixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I always stay at this hotel an everytime I stay there my stay gets better an better. Staff is very friendly an helps out with whatever I need. The shuttle is a plus I go eat an to shopping centers. A person who stands out is STACEY BOULWARE.....He goes above an beyond, I was ahving a bad day and was very irritated. He welcomed me with a warm big smile an complimented me on how nice I was. I really needed it at that time an it brightened my day. I needed directions to a place, by the time I got my room he called me with the direction and divning directions witha direct number to a nice car company that was willing to take me. Stacey remembered my name and had the room I like the most available. I appreciate my stay an Ill always stay here and I commend Mr. Boulware for going over an beyond, with not just me but all people staying there including having respect for his co-workers. I just appreciated him. Thanks Stacey

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We were having a mini-family reunion. At the last minute my parents discovered that they could not stay at my sister's and had to get a room at the hotel we were staying at. Mr. Stacy Boulware took excellent care of my elderly parents (in their mid-80's). They are in the room next to us and he gave them an excellent rate.

I stay at Holiday Inn Expresses whenever I can. I do so because of employess like Stacy who understand true customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I find myself wondering what the last few reviewers were smoking... the only way this place would ever see 5 stars is if it added up its 2 stars for value and 3 stars for service. In fact if you look at the reviews closely it seems quite obvious that the hotel management wrote them. I mean how many people from Springfield VA with the same initials as the manager are staying at hotels in Springfield VA? And on top of that giving every aspect of the hotel 5 stars, give me a break. So I'd suggest ignoring the 2 or 3 reviews below this one because anyone who rates this dump as 5 stars is clearly faking it.

In any case let me give my honest review:

I stayed here on business for an entire week and this place was a huge disappointment. While the lobby is nice and the staff is pretty good, there is no more to compliment here. The rooms are crap, the beds horrible, and the pillows in particular are awful. The AC/heater units are so loud that they wake you up every time they kick on. They claim the hotel has been 'recently renovated' but the furniture is beat up and stained and the doors, walls, and bathroom fixtures look decades old. The ceiling, which was water stained, is a popcorn ceiling... hello 1980's???. There is no closet, but rather a type of metal coat rack that was ripping out of the wall in my room. The phone in my room would randomly hang up in the middle of phone calls, so I stopped using it at all.

The free breakfast was okay, but I have had much better at other Holiday Inn Expresses. But even getting to the food was a challenge since each morning seemed to bring another busload of high school students on a class trip that dominated the entire breakfast area.

Someone below compared this place to a Motel 6, and I'd say that is a fair assessment. Except that Motel 6's are usually a little less beat up and about a third the cost.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
frank3355,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel compares to 5 star hotels I have been to in customer service, cleanliness, and overall atmosphere. All the staff is great, but one sticks out in particular - Stacey Boulware. He is always in a great mood and uplifting even if you're not having a good day. I in fact sat down the manager of the hotel and complinted her on her whole staff. Another great thing is the hotel has a free shuttle that will take you around to local places and pick you up from the Metro free. Ths hotel gets an A++ from me, and I was there for several weeks.

Room Tip: For just a little bit more get a fridge and microwave in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many nights over the several past years. I have also stayed at other hotel in this area as well and I have settled on this one as the best overall. It is an older building but has recently been beautifully renovated. The staff is generally friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I would, however, single out staff members Stacey Boulware and Vera Ellen. Their genuine friendliness, helpfulness and knowledge of the area are the attributes that have made me a regular at this hotel (and I'm sure many others). I have seen the same rapport I have with them displayed with many of the other guests. I see them greeting many guests by name and the guests returning the greeting and acknowledging Stacey and Vera by name. They work really hard to make the guest feel at home!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.3 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Springfield
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Springfield
Best Western Springfield
#10 of 12 in Springfield
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#9 of 12 in Springfield
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Address: 6401 Brandon Ave, Springfield, VA 22150-2514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing