We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Major Need of an Update” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“In Major Need of an Update”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The entire hotel is in need of a facelift. The furniture and carpet is stained or gouged, both in the rooms and common areas. The room I stayed in had a musty smell. The cleaning staff is not managed well as evidenced by the fact that when I returned to my room at 3:30 it had not been cleaned. On the up side, the breakfast bar was well tended and they keep a bowl of apples available around the clock. I will find a new hotel when I am in the DC area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valorrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Your feedback is important and we listen to our guests. As our hotel is currently undergoing renovation, we will be able to showcase newly renovated guest rooms, meeting space, public and outside areas very soon. It is a big project and we are not only committed to getting it done but also with as few interruptions and inconveniences to our guests as possible. Our housekeeping staff is usually on the floors cleaning rooms between 8 am - 4:30 pm during the weekdays and between 9 am and 5:30 pm on the weekends. We are happy to accommodate any special requests and specific times during which service is preferred or not desired at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    87
    33
    26
    10
See reviews for
74
40
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

There is ample parking and it's free - YAY.
There are restaurants and shops right across the street so you don't need to drive - double yay.
The staff is pretty decent in that they all seem pretty nice for the most part too and the rooms are nothing to complain about. It's pretty cheap to stay here and it looks like any other hotel you'd pay a little more to stay at as far as the rooms go but there is a massive catch. The walls seem to be paper thin so everyone in the hall way even talking with "indoor voices" can be heard. There always seems to be kids running up and down the halls without fail at the most absurd times and the slamming of doors is abundant. That's probably everywhere you go though right? Well sure maybe but this hotel is literally right next to a major road and just behind ramps to major highways so the noise from the road is almost non stop and it's SUPER loud. This is one of the noisiest hotels I have ever been to and if you don't have earplugs you will not get any sleep. For the noise level alone, I will never stay here again but that's just because I treasure my sleep and am a very light sleeper so it being as noisy as it is just does not allow for me to get any rest whatsoever. If you can sleep through a hurricane this wouldn't be a bad place for you as everything else seems decent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zellywelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear zellywelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your kind words towards our hotel staff and parking service. However, it is truly regrettable that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay because of the noise levels experienced. I have shared your concern with our hotel management for review and consider improvements where needed.

Though we would have preferred you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

On the second morning the fire alarm was being tested all morning. This was very irritating since we were there until 11:30. Also, the pipes were washed out, and the whole parking lot was under water when we needed to load the car. The breakfast was good, except the orange juice is terrible. It separates immediately and tastes like water and sludge on the bottom of the glass. We did not use the van to take us to the Metro because we had 3 small children. I used part points, part cash and was only able to get double beds. I am a Premiere member and asked for an upgrade. We were on the 9th floor where most of the rooms were being remodeled and furniture replaced. We had to walk around furniture and boxes to get down the hall. The room door was old and repainted, making it stick and hard to open. I don't think that was much of an upgrade. The hotel is right by several interstates intersecting, but the noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel previously, but this time I was very pleased with the changes. The hotel is renovating its rooms, and I was fortunate to receive one of the renovated once. It looked and felt very nice and modern. Although the bathroom is still on the small side, it looked clean and bright. Everything else was as I expected from this chain and this location. One issue that I noticed upon entering the room was that they forgot to provide large bath towels, but this was corrected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that does not face the busy interchange off I-95. That side is too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelber155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us as we continue to improve our interiors, exteriors and customer service skills in an efforts of becoming the number one place to stay in the Springfield Area. We listen to our guests and take action on their behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff but the room smelled like cigarette smoke even though it was a non smoking room. AC was also very weak in the room leaving it slightly muggy. The free breakfast was barely edible. The ATM was also broken when I needed cash for a cab that didn't take credit or debit. Coffee was good. I would not recommend staying here unless you have no other choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Buddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Buddy F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A lot of the staff do not all speak English as their first language, but everyone was friendly there - no bad attitudes. I was given bad directions to the Metro and got lost. Seemed to be perhaps it was better to give bad directions than none at all? We were awakened around 2pm to banging from the construction. It went on a couple hours. They need to do it sometime, and waited till most people would be out of the hotel. We were just trying to take a nap at the time.

We got this hotel last minute for a steal, so we were impressed with what we got. The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, nice coffee maker and mini-fridge. Area was nice, convenient and safe. Breakfast was better than most hotels I've been in - they have a pancake maker and if you get there early, high quality yogurt. Coffee all day with real cream in the morning and creamer cups for the rest of the day. Free cookies and punch were out one day. We didn't use the shuttle, but it's only a few minutes from the Metro. Close to plenty of stores, a lot you could walk to if needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is under reconstruction. The pool is closed. The breakfast is mediocre at best. I try to carefully filter places i will stay to get value and a good minimum standard. This hotel is far below that standard. It's a two star and at that an average one. No where near any normal Holiday Inn standard. Perhaps they should close, remodel and reorganize. Then see what product they can offer the public. They need change big time.

Room Tip: Alexandria is nearby maybe there's a better hotel there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canad_ian1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations. As we continue to identify areas of improvement during our renovation process, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are currently renovating one floor at a time and do our very best to do so with as little interruption to our guest service as possible. Our seasonal outdoor pool is available between Memorial Day and Labor Day Weekend. While our full hot breakfast is being served in accordance with Holiday Inn Express Standards and is usually widely enjoyed by our guests, you will be glad to hear that a few new items have been added this month and will be available moving forward. We now also offer additional items such as turkey sausage, Greek yoghurt, an oatmeal station with additional condiments, as well as selection of Kellogg's Cereals. If you allow us the opportunity, we would love for you to visit us again soon and enjoy our newly renovated product, additional new features and hopefully our seasonal outdoor pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.3 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#4 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield
BEST WESTERN Springfield
#11 of 12 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Address: 6401 Brandon Ave, Springfield, VA 22150-2514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing