We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic inn in beautiful Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Certificate of Excellence
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Historic inn in beautiful Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We went to this B&B with a group of friends. Alan, the owner, was very welcoming. He prepared a 10 course wine-paired dinner which was outstanding. I highly recommend it for a special treat. The inn has a lot of history which Alan shared. It even has ghosts! Only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that it was a bit chilly, and drafty in the rooms. It probably took an hour for the rooms to heat up to a comfortable temperature, with the space heater and fireplace. Also, you needed to go outside to get to the dining room. None of the rooms allow access to the main house so you need to put on a coat in cold weather.. Rooms were otherwise comfortable and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLover001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    46
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
129
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We greatly enjoyed the Chef's dinner and stay in the Inn. The food & wine pairings were amazing. We so enjoyed the evening with lots of incredible food & plenty of delicious wine. Afterwards we enjoyed just walking up to our quaint room with a romantic fireplace and champagne to boot! The french toast in the morning was literally the best I've ever tasted. I am challenging myself to reinvent my own french toast after a tip ;) from the chef! Thanks Alan!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindystate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The rooms at the inn were run down and in need of repair. The bed in the Washington room was so uncomfortable we got no sleep. The paint is chipping, there were big stains on the ceiling and it looks like whole place needs a make over.

The burgers we had for lunch were great however the chef tasting with the wine, the food was not very good and of low quality. I'm really dissapointed with the stay and would never go back here or recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mybyzz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this B and B in the small town of Stanardsville, which is nestled in the middle of Virginia wine country. Our room was very comfortable with nice touches including a welcome split of champagne and premium coffee. Food was terrific, served in a lovely dining room. Service was excellent too. We hope to return next time we travel to the area.

Room Tip: The Tyler room has two suites both each with a sitting area. There is a bath between them. Excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had the 10 course chef's dinner with wine pairing. There were 4 other couples. Be on time. Excellent choices for foods & wine. Alan is quite knowledgable and very entertaining. Breakfast was very nice also. there is some history of haunted rooms but our 'spirit' never showed up. Overall a very worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreakfastQueenOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the Chef's tasting dinner with Chef Alan. He was great at describing each course and the corresponding wine pairing. The food presentation was great but even more importantly, it all taste fantastic! It was truly a special treat. Our room accomodations were very attractive. I especially liked having the working gas fireplace. It was very romantic.

Room Tip: We were in the Madison room. As it was on the back side of the hotel, I think we heard less road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 11/3/13, as part of our 10yr anniversary trip. What a wonderful treat! I saw the Groupon and just could not pass up on such a great deal! We went to Harpers Ferry on Saturday & spent the night, then drove down Skyline Dr & got off just over halfway down. We got to the Inn & was taken up to our suite. I was sooo impressed with the room & the decor. We also received a split of champagne, ice & popcorn. The room included a mini fridge & Keurig coffee pot w/ an assortment of K-cups. We relaxed, drank our champagne & took our time getting ready for dinner. All I can say, is that dinner was one of the best meals I have ever had. Chef Alan is wonderful & gave great commentary on each course and the wine. We enjoyed every bite & sip of our dinner! Slept wonderfully, the bed was very comfortable! And the towels in the bathroom are so soft & fluffy! I can't wait to go back & bring some friends &/or family next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
16.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
20.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ebenezer House B&B
Ebenezer House B&B
#1 of 2 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Inn and Restaurant

Property: Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Address: 146 Main St, Stanardsville, VA 22973
Region: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Inn and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Travelers Choice" for both the Inn and Restaurant. * Award winning restaurant- on site. * Happy Hour- Fridays & Saturdays 4pm-6pm on the Upper Deck (May-Oct) * Gourmet Burgers * Ice Cream- Rated on of the top in Virginia * Sunday Brunch * Local craft beer, cider, wines as well as full bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing