We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Chef Tasting Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lafayette Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
1 review
“Chef Tasting Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife & I enjoyed the tasting very much, lots of fun. Small portions of 10 items that were more than filling. I enjoyed the wine paring, but have to admit that I am not good at tasting the compliments of the wine to the food, but all the wines were very good, and must have been because I didn’t have a hangover the next morning which always happens to me when I mix drinks. Breakfast was a choice of very delicious French toast, or fresh mozzarella, tomato & basil omelet. The room was very nice & spacious, private bath bedroom & separate sitting room. My only “less than positive” comments are that the two common rooms are dining rooms, so there is no interior communal gathering areas/lounge. This would be a fun time for a group of people. There isn’t much to do in the town of Stanardsville , but there are several wineries in the area that would be nice to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    45
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
125
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This is such a quaint and charming Inn!!!!! Lovely scenery for the drive to arrive to such warm hospitality! The ten course chef taster's dinner with wine pairings was excellent: great pairings and southern food taken up many levels! Beds were comfortable, but do not expect much TV! Breakfast also very tasty! A very high end experience at a very reasonable cost! What a gem of a find!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks so much! Come back and see us...Chef Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We bought a living social voucher and were pleasantly surprised by the value of our stay. We stayed in the Monroe room which has a gas fireplace but I tend to be cold natured and based on the reviews I was worried I would be chilly. We called in advance and when we arrived our room was fitted with extra blankets and 2 space heaters. We were toasty:) The room was nicely decorated and cozy (albeit walls not entirely soundproof.) The tasting menu was really good. In addition to the yummy food and wine pairings, Alan accommodated my gluten intolerance. What a treat. Breakfast was also excellent. We recommend you try it out:)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We enjoyed your visit- and gladly addressed your Gluten sensitive menu request. - Come see us again! Chef/Owner Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Deptford, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The fireplace was a wonderful touch on a snowy weekend. The food was delicious! The food and beverage paring is an event to be savored. The service was beyond compare. Alan owner and chef is very personable and made us feel like old friends. We sould definately recomment the Lafayette Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
I can't think of a more enjoyable couple to have gotten snowed in at the Inn with! It's fun when we not only "give" but also "get"- We look forward to your return! Chef Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

From beginning to end this was a wonderful experience. Our visit had to be postponed because of weather. Alan, the owner, graciously rescheduled. Once we were able to go, the check in process was easy. The town is small but their is a wonderful pottery shop just a few blocks away. We went for the tasting dinner which begins at 6:00 The lights could have been a little lower to give some ambiance, but the food was wonderful. What added to the experience was Alan's explanation of the menu and wines. He obviously has a passion for what he does. I am looking forward to returning and enjoying some of the historical sites in the area and eating at the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brn2trvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We certainly enjoyed meeting you as well. Thanks for the review- greatly appreciated. - Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My stay consisted of 2 nights, 2 breakfasts. I stayed in the Tyler suite which consists of 2 bedrooms, one with TV and fireplace, One with large sitting area. Very comfortable beds. Very private and quiet.

Now on to the FOOD ! Fabulous ! The breakfasts (included) were order off the menu. The eggs, omelets, sausage, bacon, home fries were excellent. It was the Red Velvet waffle that was outstanding !!

Thank you Alan and Kaye for a memorable stay. (That rhymes)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you! :) Alan & Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Kaye and Alan know how to pamper you! This B&B is full of character and coziness! We have stayed here several times. Dicey's Cottage is a home nite self with a jacuzzi tub! It also has its own deck! Our favorite is the Madison because we can bring friends to stay right beside us! The restaurant is first-class with ambiance in abundance! The food is fantastic and very affordable! Plenty to do or relax in your suite! If you're visiting in the Washington DC or VA area -- The Lafayette Inn IS the place to stay!!! 5 Stars is not enough for this review!! Hats off to Kaye and Alan Pyles! FIRST CLASS!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 220kck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thanks so much! Alan & Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
16.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
20.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ebenezer House B&B
Ebenezer House B&B
#1 of 2 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Inn and Restaurant

Property: Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Address: 146 Main St, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2970
Region: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Inn and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Travelers Choice" for both the Inn and Restaurant. * Award winning restaurant- on site. * Happy Hour- Fridays & Saturdays 4pm-6pm on the Upper Deck (May-Oct) * Gourmet Burgers * Ice Cream- Rated on of the top in Virginia * Sunday Brunch * Local craft beer, cider, wines as well as full bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Lafayette Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing