We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanardsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heavenly Acres Campground
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Week Vacation”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There is no perfect campground so let me start of with the only con. Pick your tent campsite carefully. Several have slopes and when it pours down rain, you could be sleeping in a river. But with some tenting experience you can figure out what sites to choose. We chose tent site 4. Its right next to a field which looks like a pasture, but grass was grown up and looks as though it hadn't been used. Great view of mountains and nice breeze.
That being said, the pros of this campground outweighed that minor con. First off, the owner/manager, Gary, is probably the nicest host you could ever meet. My worked schedule allowed me to get to the campground early. He allowed us to check-in and gave us a choice of a few sites. He is a workaholic! Constantly running around the campground fixing things, checking on things socializing with campers. The restrooms were never dirty and showers were always clean no matter what time we used them. Pool is always open and also clean. Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elora
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We were headed to the mountains and this was very convenient. This is a Passport America Campground so the price was affordable $20 a night. The owner was very nice and the campground was adequate for our overnight stay

We were in a 36' Fifth Wheel. Our site had 50 amp and water and sewer and was a pull through. Nice pool by the office. We did not se any of the facilities offered. We were only there for the night. We would return. Remember it is a basic campground with dirt and gravel sites. Sorta level, maybe.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in our 45ft. Large shaded pull-through sites, great fire pits and grills. The location is great of you have a car to drive through Shenandoah National Park where there are hiking trails and water falls. Many wineries near by.Also a great camp ground if you want to just hang out and relax. The owners are super friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sherilbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the little cabooses for a long weekend trip and had a wonderful time. We wanted to be somewhere with good access to hiking and vineyards but did not want to pay as much as the local B&B's were asking. It was a cute and affordable experience and we would definitely stay there again in the future!
The campground is conveniently located with plenty of vineyards within a 30-minute drive (and one just down the street). The caboose is small but has everything you need: bed, sink, dishes, stove, shower, toilet, and even air conditioning. The only problem we had was a small leak in the caboose during a torrential downpour, but we informed the owners (who were lovely) so hopefully that's all fixed!

Room Tip: The little cabooses are perfect for two people, but any more than that and you should definitely get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at this campground April 25-27, 2014 in a 13 ft Scamp with 3 friends. It was clean, inviting and met all of our needs. The hosts, Jan and Gary Schneider were more than accommodating and courteous. I thought that the toilets in the immediate campground were unique and adequate. They look like outhouses but are traditional flushing toilets and the lights are always on! They do not have a sink, mirror or electrical outlet in them which means you do not have to wait for a glamper to apply make up, curl hair and charge her phone. However...can the ladies side be painted pink inside and out to keep the "stinky morning men" from using it? (They were in the big trailers that kept their lights on all night) The girls and I thought about pelting it with natural objects of the earthly kind. The full service toilets, showers and dressing rooms are near the pool. This was a great value and will stay again.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the cabooses but were given a tour of one. Full kitchen and bath with a large dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowthreepopups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I tent camped here for a week over spring break. Gary, the owner, was very friendly and didn't charge us any extra for having an electric site instead of a basic tent site. He also gave us our pick of the available sites. The price is very reasonable: only $22 per night or $132 per week. The sites were spacious and I loved the huge rock pile fire pit.

We did have to "rough it" though with the shower houses not being heated when it was below 30 degrees out. There was only cold water to wash your hands with which isn't pleasant when its so cold. Also, to conserve water you have to hold onto a dog leash in order for the water to flow which also makes its difficult when its freezing out. I'm sure this is not as much of a problem in the warmer weather.

We also had some difficulty sleeping. I don't know if there is a nearby animal shelter, or kennel, or just neighbors with a ton of dogs but we could hear various dogs barking throughout the night. This kind of takes away from the serenity of camping. Again, this might not be as much of a problem when there are more leaves on the trees to block the sound.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our RV site was level and clean. Shower house not heated despite cold 40 degree Fahrenheit temperatures most mornings. We did ask Gary if it could be heated and he never got back to us. Also, shower temp not adjustable and one must continually hold dog leash handle for water flow. Women's shower house had 2 of 3 working showers. Men's had 1 of three working. We blew a power circuit while two of us we're blow drying our hair and Gary responded quickly to reset the breaker.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank buckwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
2.0 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
211 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
18.9 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,128 reviews
22.3 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
551 reviews
18.4 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heavenly Acres Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavenly Acres Campground

Property: Heavenly Acres Campground
Address: 2010 Madison Rd, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2911
Region: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Stanardsville
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Heavenly Acres Campground Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing