We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night!”

Lafayette Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lafayette Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 33 Bypass
Description: 2014 DINERS CHOICE- Open Table. Sophisticated Southern Cuisine. An approachable yet elegant dining experience. Named "Virginia"s Restaurant of the Year" by the Food & Wine Society. Regions top "Gourmet Burger" lunch. Wine Enthusiast award winning wine list representing dozens of Virginia wines and countless other New World selections. Located just 6 miles off of Skyline Drive. 30-40 minutes East of Harrisonburg, 20 minutes north of Charlottesville and 30 minutes south of Culpeper.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Lafayette Inn for a night to celebrate our anniversary and it was wonderful! The Chef's tasting dinner was fabulous. It was a very intimate setting with just 10 people, served by Chef Allan himself. It felt like we were at the dinner party of a good friend. It was a great night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you very much!- Chef Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you ever have the opportunity to visit the Lafayette Inn, please do because it is amazing. My husband gave me the "sous chef" package as a Christmas gift, which we recently enjoyed and can say this was truly a wonderful experience. We spent the entire weekend at the Inn, where owners Alan and Kay are wonderful hosts and make it a extra special visit. The package allowed me to be in the kitchen with Chef Alan Pyles who shared culinary skills and dishes that are made at the Inn. Each plate made at the restaurant is done with extra TLC by the Chef and entire staff, and simply delicious. The final evening was enjoyed by my family, that I helped to prepare in the kitchen that day.

Special experience not to be forgotten. Thank you Chef Alan, Kay, Brian, and the entire staff.

Bon Appétit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks so much- Appreciate the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a fantastic evening at the Chef's Tasting dinner at the Lafayette Inn. The food was outstanding and Alan Pyles, owner and chef, was a wonderful host. He was happy to share his expertise, thoughts and even recipes. This was an evening my husband and I will remember for a long time. The whole experience could not have been better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks so much! We hope to see you again!- Chef Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We loved our food and the atmosphere. The service was fabulous and they even brought out a lovely appetizer for us to try. The prices were fine for such a nice place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We just spent an evening in the Jefferson room at the Lafayette Inn. The owner and his wife were very hospitable, and the food delicious. The B&B was the oldest we have ever stayed in, built in 1840, and served as a hospital during the civil war. The room was homey and comfortable with a fireplace, and welcoming Proseco, The location was great, as the next day we went to Early Mountain Winery to taste wine, and spent the afternoon at a book fair browsing 1000's of books in Mt. Crawford. My ideal day!

The evening 10 course chef tasting was an adventure (but not a risky one as all the food was comfortable and familiar) with Chef Allan explaining the wine parings and the food. It was great fun and I highly recommend it! Thanks Allan and Kaye for a lovely get-a-way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenniferGS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Greatly appreciated. We look forward to your coming back again. Chef Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lafayette Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lafayette Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing