We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meal”

Lafayette Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lafayette Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 33 Bypass
Description: 2014 DINERS CHOICE- Open Table. Sophisticated Southern Cuisine. An approachable yet elegant dining experience. Named "Virginia"s Restaurant of the Year" by the Food & Wine Society. Regions top "Gourmet Burger" lunch. Wine Enthusiast award winning wine list representing dozens of Virginia wines and countless other New World selections. Located just 6 miles off of Skyline Drive. 30-40 minutes East of Harrisonburg, 20 minutes north of Charlottesville and 30 minutes south of Culpeper.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had dinner here and enjoyed excellent service and a great meal. I had a Brazilian beef dish, with the meat marinated in a lime and cilantro sauce. It was very good. My wife had a filet that was done to perfection. The wine list is impressive and the service was prompt and attentive. This is a good place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    40
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alexandria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quaint and fun”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The best part of our meal were the amazingly fresh salads, clearly from local gardens, with champagne vinaigrette. This is a funny historic hotel, right on the main street. The service is good and friendly and the food is a bit overpriced. It is good not great, but there are not many options in tiny Stanardsville, near the entrance to Shenandoah Natl Park from Swift Run Gap entrance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jgAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great for wine lovers and couples!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend purchased a deal from livingsocial to stay here and to participate in the 10 course dinner for two. We were very excited because not many places provide pairings with each meal course. We had such a fantastic time! We were greeted with a small bottle of champagne for two and goldfish crackers :) Dinner was amazing as well as each wine pairing. Each meal is prepared fresh and you can tell when you taste it! Allen was able to provide information for each course and why the wine paired so well together with each course. Allen was also able to substitute a chicken dish for me when it came time for the salmon trio because I do not like seafood. I loved each dish but my boyfriend and I agree that the egg rolls were our favorite. I did also love the chicken with mango salsa (part of my substitute meal). If you do participate in the 10 course meal, please skip lunch that day and come hungry and sober as they say! I skipped lunch that day and was still full by the 7th course!! Even the breakfast the next morning was amazing! I loved the room that we stayed in, its very 'old fashion.' The outside of the building is very gorgeous. We really enjoyed our stay and would recomment it to anyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Anniversary stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a living social deal that we used to celebrate our 26th anniversary. It was great value for money with a very enjoyable tasting menu and comfortable overnight stay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryJeanWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us!- Alan & Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Lafayette Inn for a night to celebrate our anniversary and it was wonderful! The Chef's tasting dinner was fabulous. It was a very intimate setting with just 10 people, served by Chef Allan himself. It felt like we were at the dinner party of a good friend. It was a great night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much!- Chef Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lafayette Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lafayette Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing