We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend in the Woods”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanardsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lydia Mountain Cabins
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Weekend in the Woods”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I want to start by saying I'm glad my girlfriend and I booked the cabin prior to reading the reviews on this site. For the people complaining about the dirt/gravel road or the lack of fancy accommodations, remember you're staying in a cabin in the middle of nowhere on a mountain. It isn't Baltimore, DC, etc.

We originally booked the Mountain Paradise for a two day weekend. Unfortunately five days prior to our arrival there was a death in the family and the funeral was set on the day were were supposed to arrive. Tina was very accommodating and was able to talk to another couple and switch our cabin/days.

We ended up staying in Luvin in the Woods. It was a nice/quiet cabin off the dirt road. The hot tub was clean and overlooked the woods for a gorgeous scenic view while relaxing. The fireplace was nice, although the wood was wet and made for some smoke in the beginning. The grill was surprisingly clean, as were the dishes in the kitchen. The only thing I would say is the bed is in the same room as the fireplace/futon/tv and there was not a private bedroom. This was not a problem for the two of us but had we stayed with another couple, it would have been close quarters. It should be advertised as a one room cabin that sleeps four.

All in all I thought our stay here was just what my girlfriend and I needed after a long and stressful week and we both can not wait until we are able to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    18
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Recent stay at Lydia Cabins with family was a lot of fun. Most of the cabins are well located and charming - ours was remote and very hard to get to with steep and twisty roads and no sweeping view - but was well maintained and very comfortable. We had the 2 bedroom cabin 'at natures edge' which was very comfortable for a family of four. Clean bathrooms, clean kitchen and rooms. Kitchen was stocked with all the cooking supplies you would need. Hot tub seemed very clean although we didn't end up using it. Firewood ran out and was not replenished so we went and got our own at the firewood mound, but it burned very nicely. Our cabin had a lovely firepit area right next to the small room wtih the foozball table which was a hit with the kids.

Cons - Hauling your own trash away is not easy in an already jammed car when the cabin was so far from the motel area we were asked to take it to. You have to be absolutely certain you have everything you need before dark with this cabin as it is very difficult to get to and from at night. Service was spotty - did not receive a confirmation email with the access code or a map/address so finding the cabin took a long time. Had to call for more firewood and there was no answer or voice mail returned. On the flip side - we left a bag at the cabin and they shipped it back to us overnight and were very pleasant in doing so.

Overall - if you want to do nothing and getaway from it all for a few nights this is a good location to do it. I would certainly enquire about cabin location and size as that seemed to vary. Views at many of the 1 bedroom cabins seemed to be of trees only - so you won't find mountain vistas. Friends had booked 'old damn cabin' which was clearly misrepresented and not worth the money - i do not recommend you book that cabin as location is on main road next to motel and has no privacy.

Room Tip: Ask very specific questions about the location of cabins and proximity to other cabins - some were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTaxidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to book a cabin for a long weekend and made a reservation request online. 10 days later and having still not heard back from Lydia Mountains, my boyfriend sends an email. Their response? " When did u wanna come. ..cant find your request..." and "You may want to give us a call then as we may not have gotten a request for that..." One-liners with no greetings, no apologies and apparently they are even too busy to right entire words and/or proper English (or maybe Tina the manager is in fact a disgruntled teenager?!).

Well of course by the time we called them the cabin was booked and so were most of their cabins. No romantic getaway for us :(

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anonymousVb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgetown
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We went for a 4 day weekend to do some wine tastings and visit luray caverns. As usual in the Virginia mountain cabin scene, the roads are small and barely paved - keep an eye out around the twisty one and a half lane turns for oncoming vehicles. This cabin is at the top of the hill on a cul de sac with only 2 other cabins, very private and built last year. View is breathtaking from inside or the covered back deck, as well as the welcoming hot tub. Be aware that this cabin is basically one room, bed is in the back of the living area, but for two people it's perfect. Also pet friendly, so the dog had a great time too! Only complaint (very minor) the firewood was completely unburnable, too green, bring your own or don't bother. The cabin got smelly from it charring so we had to take the logs out to the driveway Also, if you're arriving from route 29 (not 33) be aware there is NO sign for the right turn to the cul de sac, it's pointing the other way! We would absolutely book this cabin again, spacious comfy king bed and very nice kitchen. All in all, a 10!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thezoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in an efficency cabin with a covered deck with a hot tub. The views are wonderful and Skyline Drive is only about 20 mins away!! The cabin we stayed in seemed pretty secluded, there must have been a good acre and a half or 2 in between our cabin and the other. I will recommend this resort to all of my friends and my wife and I will be returning !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b00gins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Sweet Reunion cabin this past weekend and the cabin itself was pretty great with a few exceptions. Shortly after we arrived two very large, intimidating dogs showed up at the cabin. Being dog people (who had brought our own dog), this wasn't immediately an issue, until the dogs started aggressively barking at us. It was at this point that we made a call to the number that was on the confirmation sheet management had left for us. No answer so we left a message about the dogs and the fact that the hot tub was not working. We asked for a call back.

A call back never came. The dogs eventually left and we figured out how to fix the hot tub (fuse was tripped, but this was hard to figure out since the outdoor light bulb was also burnt out). Even though we got the hot tub to turn on, it was very dirty with random grossness floating and no smell of chlorine. Even though we stayed at the cabin for 2 nights, we never got a call back.

We sent an email following up today and the customer service was horrible. The manager (?) was rude, condescending, and stated that she got our message too late and since we didn't call maintenance she "assumed" that everything was fine. If we call about an issue, it is not expecting too much for a call back, especially to check that everything is ok.

The issues with the cabin weren't that big of a deal, but the terrible customer service is. And as such, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at "Sweet Reunion" with another couple very recently. We were under the impression that this was part of a cabin community of sorts... but no. Cabin was on a hillside right next to another private cabin (a little creepy, didnt seem like anyone was there).

Pros:
-Well equipped, all necessary kitchen/grilling items which arent normally available. Made things really easy.
-Clean
-Really nice firepit area

Cons:
-Not close to Charlottesville at all (40min drive to downtown, almost an hour to Monticello) Solid hour to Crozet wineries, King Family Vineyards etc.
-Hot tub didnt work. Also, was very very old and seemed dirty.
-Someone's dogs (large mastiff and another one) were roaming the property barking at us - had to keep our dog inside.
-Second bedroom is a bunk bed of sorts - really doesnt work for 2 adults...maybe for kids.
-you pass a beautiful view of the valley on your way in - but there is no view here. only into the trees.

So, we called the owners of course about the 1) wild dogs 2) hot tub - no response. Of course at this point they have our money, why would they care? Tina sent a 10% off coupon for "next visit". What a joke - and she knows it. Good strategy though.

You'll find these types of vacation rental owners are quick to take your money for ANYTHING (not cleaning, taking away all the trash).. but if they don't hold of their end of the bargain? Not their problem.

Go elsewhere for the same price and a view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjosephb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
3.8 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
211 reviews
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
22.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,239 reviews
13.7 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,115 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ebenezer House B&B
Ebenezer House B&B
#1 of 2 in Madison
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia Mountain Cabins

Property: Lydia Mountain Cabins
Address: 134 Mountain Laurel Pass, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Stanardsville
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins, constructed from real logs with rock foundations, reflect a style from days gone by. The rock fireplaces create a cozy atmosphere along with the central heating and air, hardwood floors, log furniture, linens, towels and complete kitchens. On the deck, you can enjoy the view or relax in the large hot tub. Each cabin offers privacy in a beautiful mountain setting. Single and Double bedroom cabins available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lydia Mountain Cabins Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing