We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lydia Mountain Cabins
Nearby Hotels
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$162
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
82
19
7
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
19
7
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubshenandoah national parkskyline driveunpaved roadfire pitback porchcrooked oakwheel drive carsugar shacklog cabindancing bearrelaxing getawayfully equipped kitchenpots and panswonderful weekendliving areastar gazing at night
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Secluded, very relaxing, extremely clean! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbcdefgVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed in the pet friendly one bedroom cabin for 2 nights for our first anniversary and it was everything we could have asked for. We loved the privacy of the cabins, the proximity to Shenandoah and wineries, and the hot tub!!!!! The gas fireplace was great too. It was a little cold so we would come in after a day of hiking and crank up the fire until we were nice and toasty. THe cabins were extremely clean, way more than I would have ever expected, which was a nice surprise. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thebenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

From start to finish our stay was amazing!! My husband and I celebrated our 9th anniversary @ Lydia and plan on coming back for our 10th this year. The cabins were so clean and secluded and the hott tub was soooooo romantic on those November nights. We had everything we cld ask for :)

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank summerbrezze29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We just back back from a weekend at the Lydia Mountain cabins. What a wonderful place to stay!

It's definitely not a "hustle and bustle" area, but I suppose if you're headed to the mountains you're not looking for a whole lot of action. I wouldn't try to find the place at night if you aren't familiar with the area at all. Highway 33 is very curvy, and only 2 lanes, so I'd suggest trying to get up there before the sun sets.

The cabins are up a very rustic gravel road, pretty deep into the woods. We stayed in Cabin 3. It looks exactly like the web page pictures. I mean exactly. It was so cute and perfectly kept. The hot tub was warm and ready for us. Because the trees were full of leaves, we didn't exactly have a mountain view, but I would imagine in the late fall, winter and spring there is a better view of the blue ridge.

The cabin has a bedroom downstairs with a queen bed, and a loft bedroom upstairs with a king that is open to the living room/kitchen below. The one thing I would add is that it was unbearably hot in the loft, even with the a/c going, so the cabin might not be great for more than two people during the hottest summer months. We ended up sleeping in the downstairs bedroom, which was perfectly lovely!

The bathroom is gigantic, with a separate tub/shower. The tub was a jacuzzi tub, but since we had the big one out on the deck, we never used the inside one. It looked plenty clean. Always plenty of hot water for showers. The kitchen was the best equiped cabin kitchen I've ever seen, and I've stayed in a lot of cabins. Everything you could think of, from BBQ tongs to several corkscrews, to a flashlight. Even salt and pepper, coffee, sugars and creamers.

We truly enjoyed our stay and will undoubtedly return in the future. It's only a 5 to 10 minute drive to the Swift Run Gap entrance of skyline drive, which is smack dab in the middle and perfect for a day trip in either direction.

Oh, Luray Caverns - big disappointment. They're cool, and maybe on a weekday it would be less obnoxious, but it was so crowded that you often had to wait just to move ten feet inside the caverns. They were really poorly organized. Maybe it was just a bad day, but the tourists were downright nasty, pushy, and loud. Spoiled the entire experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

If you are looking for a great getaway to the woods near Skyline Drive, this is the place! We contacted the cabin manager via email through another website and they worked with us to make our stay very enjoyable. We were offered their newest cabin and it was very beautiful. We checked out their website and the pictures do no justice to just how pretty they are decorated and the special touches...from candles to a nice tourist information book to even a logbook for those who stay there to write about their stay! We had a little trouble at check-in because it was a Sunday and were sent to the wrong cabin, but after getting ahold of the cabin manager, all was rectified. We were even offered free ice cream while we waited for the cabin manager's call. We loved the hot tub, loved the kitchen complete with all utensils, loved the surroundings! Skyline Drive is nearby and loved it also! Very peaceful and great view! We were not too thrilled with the satelite television being that we are sports addicts and couldn't get local or ESPN channels, but settled on GSN, HDTV and MTV. We were able to build a fire (they provide firewood) and even cooked out on the grill outdoors (complete with picnic table). We hope to come back again some day! They are building a lodge and more cabins!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RichandCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews