We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Winery with a Hidden Treasure”

Wisteria Farm and Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Stanley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our small farm winery is nestled on the western slope of the Blue Ridge mountains. We are located in the Shenandoah Valley in Page county, known for its rural character and scenic beauty, between the towns of Luray and Stanley. This is a working farm and vineyard; we also have a flock of natural-colored Romney sheep as well as free-roaming chickens.We invite you to come out and enjoy a day in the country. Bring a picnic and wander around the farm and vineyard or just sit on our deck, enjoying the wine and the surroundings.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
880 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Beautiful Winery with a Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wisteria is a nice, little winery in Stanley, VA... just outside of Luray. When we got there they were crushing freshly picked grapes to make grape juice which would soon be turned into wine. They showed us this process and taught us what they do. This was very interesting!

The tasting went very well as they have a nice selection of whites, which is what we were looking for. They also have reds.

After we bought a bottle, they said we could walk their trails and hang out by the creek. They have great trails with picnic tables along them going back to the creek all the way in the rear of the property. It's a great hidden location and a great, secluded location if you're enjoying a bottle of wine and want some privacy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
“delightful”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The wine is wonderful and definately one of my favorites. The place is wonderful and the owner made us feel at home and we had a wonderful chat and tasting. Wish they were closer! Very beautiful country and being from Wyoming and my husband from Ohio we enjoyed the scenery. We have been to many of the vineyards in Va since we are from Chesapeake area and this by far is one of our favorites. Keep up the great wine and we will hope to see you again when we come up later in the year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank biggiofan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend the afternoon”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We visited Wisteria Farm and Winery while on vacation in the Stanley/Luray area. It is a wel kept relaxing setting. The flowers are beautiful and the roosters wandering around the farm add to the quaintness. We enjoyed chatting with the owners during the tasting. From our conversation it is apparent the winery is a Labor of Love for them. After the tasting we walked around the farm looking at the sheep and the grapes. Such a pleasant afternoon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

So very nice, the owners are wonderful, the staff is very knowledgable about the wines and the grapes. The property is lovely, we took our daughter (10 months old) she enjoyed all the chickens and sheep, and especially their very sweet dog Tammie. We did a lovely wine tasting, then took a walk down to the creek through the vineyard, so wonderful. They had live music set up, we sat with our daughter and listened to music and enjoyed the sunshine. It was a great relaxing afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gabbytrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint and off the beaten path...”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were in Luray for a weekend outing, and decided to stop past Wisteria Farm for a quick tasting, and to maybe purchase a bottle of wine.

Set on a scenic quaint farm locate in the foothills of the scenic mountains, we popped in a little after noon on a Sunday. Quickly greeted by our host, we each took a tour of the wine tasting menu. Separated into sweet and dry lists, the tasting itself took only about a half hour.

As with any tasting, some wines were more to our liking then others. We selected four bottles, some for gifts and a couple for "personal use" and a dozen farm fresh eggs. I was tempted by the family made olive oil also offered for sale, however my wallet yelled at me and I declined that purchase.

Friendly and inviting, a worthy deviation if you are on a trip in the area!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doppler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wisteria Farm and Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Wisteria Farm and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing