We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing homestyle experience!”
Review of Hawksbill Diner

Hawksbill Diner
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
crozier, virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An amazing homestyle experience!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On a recent trip to the Luray area, we asked some locals for a recommendation on where to eat dinner. We were told to try the Hawksbill diner. As soon as we drove into the parking lot, we could tell this is the place the locals eat. Once inside, we were greeted by the owner and a waitress who told us to pick a table and make ourselves at home. The menu was filled with all sorts of homemade delights such as fried chicken, ham, chicken fried steak and sides like fried apples, pea salad, pickled beets and rice pudding. There are also daily specials. For $6 you get an entree plus two sides and rolls. On Monday evenings, there is home made corn bread. Lucky for us, it was a Monday and that cornbread was moist and sweet enough to be a dessert. My husband loved his fried chicken and rice pudding. We ended up going there to eat two more nights and back for breakfast on the last day of our trip. Each time we were warmly greeted and every meal was a throwback to being in your grandma's kitchen. Everyone in town seems to be there and they all know each other. The atmosphere is warm and authentic. No frills here. Just good ole home cookin' and prices you can't beat anywhere. We are planning to go back there soon even if it means a two hour drive each way from our house!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rocky847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome home cooked food!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd trip to the Hawksbill Diner and each visit has been perfect. It is definitely a local spot but the staff is friendly and food is excellent. The prices are so reasonable for quality of food. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Went here for breakfast on our way out of town, and so glad we did. Seems to be one of those places where everyone knows each other there (except us out of towners), but the staff was very warm and welcoming. The food was very good. The sausage gravy and biscuits were amazing. I will definitely visit this diner again next time I am in the area.

Helpful?
Thank honestreviews225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place for down home cooking”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had lunch here after horseback riding at Jordan Hollow Stables. The food was savory and well-made, and the service was warm and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDaddy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Cute little place, locals hangout”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Old-fashioned diner recommended to us by a local. The food was okay but the barbecue was not made in house. Pea salad was great. Burger was good. Price was fantastic but be aware they don't take credit cards! There is an ATM down the road they will direct you too. Overall a decent place for a fast unpretentious lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lab12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawksbill Diner also viewed

 

Been to Hawksbill Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing