We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped here on our way home from Florida. We got 2 rooms. It was an excellent value and it seemed to have been recently renovated. Super clean, nice staff and great breakfast included. I would not hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Comments good and those suggesting improvement help us to offer superior service to future guests.
Thank you again

gm.va289@choicehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is the fourth time we've stayed at this hotel on the way to Florida. This time Staunton VA received 18 inches of snow the night we arrived so we had to stay a second night. The ladies at the front desk were just great making sure we could get snacks and they provided us with fresh towels. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Excellent front desk staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks so much for your review. I'm sorry you got stuck in the snow storm, but I'm happy you were able to spend the time with us and be safe.
I'll pass along your kind words to the staff and we look forward to hosting our Canadian friends as the travel the Eastern US.
Thanks again for the review. Please let me know if I can help with future reservations. You may contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com. We'll see you on the return trip!

Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here several times in the past, and always will when passing through. Clean and well kept, great location, and the staff makes you feel at home. Eat nearby at the sushi/hibachi restaurant, then frozen yogurt next door.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

It is good to hear your accommodations were satisfactory and our staff was helpful and made your stay comfortable. I hope you will keep us in mind on future visits and please let family and friends know Sleep Inn in Staunton is a good stopping point.

gm.va289@choicehotels.com
540-887-6500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Passing through on our way to Philly, speedy check in by friendly staff. Wifi worked better than many hotels we've stayed at, our teens thankful for that. Breakfast had great options with trays that you could bring up to your room, nice! Clean rooms and the rubber ducks were cute. Would stay again when we come up this way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockardClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

I am very happy you enjoyed you stay with us and our staff met you expectations. If you are passing this way again please keep us in mind and all Choice hotels for your lodging needs.

gm.va289@choicehotels.com
540-887-6500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We chose the Sleep Inn from the road on a long drive up the East Coast based primarily on TripAdvisor ratings on the mobile app. We needed a place to rest for one night on the journey and the hotel did not disappoint.

First off VERY convenient from I-81 and very easy to get right back on the highway. We arrived at 8:30pm and just walked in to get a room. Front lobby is clean and the staff was friendly. Got us checked in quickly. Entire facility was very clean, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Your room key also gets you 10% off a few of the local restaurants. Coffee is available 24 hours in the lobby and there is an included continental breakfast in the morning. Nothing fancy, but it's something to eat. If you want a "real breakfast" there is a Cracker Barrel about 1/4 mile away.

There's a good sized fridge, microwave and coffee pot included in the room as is free wi-fi. Wi-fi is slow, but it's free.

This is definitely a great rest stop along the way of your travels. It's not a four star hotel, but it's what you want along the road, clean and efficient. Quite unexpected and thanks to TripAdvisor folks for recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biscardicreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your business. We are happy you chose Sleep Inn and used comments on Trip Advisor. We do strive to offer our guest a clean room and excellent customer service. Please keep us in mind on your next visit to Va. Also please pass on your experience to anyone you may know who is traveling through Staunton,

gm.va289@choicehotels.com
540-887-6500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ended up at this hotel for two consecutive nights due to bad weather. Because we were on our way back from a huge shopping trip, we did not have very much in our checking account, but had plenty of cash. The manager, Billie, said that it was fine for us to pay cash for our room as long as we provided them with a card to have on file. We obliged but made it clear: do NOT charge our card! The next morning, we decided the roads were still too messy to leave and booked the room for another night, reminding the older woman behind the counter that we were paying cash and once again NOT TO CHARGE OUR CARD! She told us that we were supposed to pay in the morning at the time of check out, for whatever reason. I am 9 months pregnant and for anyone who knows sleep is very hard to come by at this point. I finally dozed off around 5am only to be awoken by a phone call from the front desk at a quarter to nine (over two hours before check out) saying rudely that we could "pay at any time". Turns out that this inconsiderate hotel decided to ignore our multiple requests and charge our card anyway. The transaction did not process due to insufficient funds. I rolled over and attempted to go back to sleep but more inconsiderate staff were running the vacuum cleaner right outside of our room! I couldn't believe it, but it gets worse; after the first phone call where I told the front desk I would pay at check out, they called our room a second time, waking me again and still long before 11am. My husband was furious at this point and made his way down to pay. I am shocked and outraged at our treatment after spending almost $200 at this hotel. I would like to think they would apologize but on our way out we were instead told to "come again soon!". Fat chance...this was major salt in the wound. I am still waiting to see if the bank is going to charge us $32.50 for a insufficient funds fee due to OTHER PEOPLE'S blatant disregard and disrespect. Please, don't stay here, they don't deserve anyone's money.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogarbagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

It was very disturbing to read such an attack on our staff and hotel. When trying to investigate what had happened we tried numerous times to contact you to find out if the cc you used was a debit card.The front desk manager distinctly remembers it being a credit card and in checking our files you were not charged. Had we been able to talk to you I'm sure this would have been resolved. However, you should not have received a phone call in your room asking you to pay and I am sorry that happened. The other comment about staff cleaning at 9:00 in the morning is not uncommon. If you needed quiet later in the morning and had let the front desk know we would have left that area to vaccum for later in the day. I am very sorry that a routine stay turned out to be so complicated for both of us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

booked this hotel for long drive home from the South to New England. Found good rate, including breakfast and free wifi. Room was clean, comfortable, and efficient. Staff was polite, professional and helpful. Breakfast was substantial, plentiful and a good start.

Room Tip: ask for room on the first floor facing back of hotel. This is quieter than some
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulG53ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for responding. I am very happy you found the staff and the accommodations satisfactory. Please keep us in mind on future trips to VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
900 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 222 Jefferson Hwy, Staunton, VA 24401-6601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#5 Family Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: £64 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is centrally located off Interstate 81 in the Shenandoah Valley. Surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, this Staunton hotel is close to the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, Mary Baldwin College, P. Buckley Moss Museum, Blackfriars Theatre and Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library. The scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
Staunton Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing