We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine CA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Sleep Inn in Staunton, VA was below the average quality of a Choice Hotel to which I have become accustomed. The room as adequately furnished but somewhat spartan by Choice Hotel standards. The bathroom was small and the shower the smallest I have seen in years. The complimentary breakfast was slightly less than the average quality experienced at other Choice Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I am sorry you found our Sleep Inn unsatisfactory. You menttioned the room set up not being up to Choice Standards. We have very strict standards we must follow and that includes every item in the guest room includng the furniture and decor. These are all mandated by Choice. I am also sorry you did not find the breakfast satisfactory. We are not required by Choice as a Sleep Inn to offer a hot breakfast, however we do have a wide variety of breakfast items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    133
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
118
141
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Following your recommendation we have decided to sleep here. What a great hotel. Staff was very friendly and accommodations perfect. Room was clean and comfortable. Near the blue Ridge parkway and the skyline drive. Breakfast is very good. You need to sleep here if you're looking for the best buck for your money. Will stay here again for my next trip

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oscareasy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are very happy you choose Sleep Inn and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice stay here. Clean and good breakfast. Would stop here again. Room very comfortable with amenities. Pick up your free duckie here. When traveling from north to south you should stay here. Great value. Nice staff.

Room Tip: I do not wish to fill in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the good advertisment which is the best when coming from past guests. Thank you for choosing Sleep Inn and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
778 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Overnight stop after 600 miles. It was a great place to sleep, shower and have a nice breakfast. Room was modern, clean and very functional with refrige and coffee maker. Convenient to the expressway. Staff was super nice! We highly recommend this hotel based on our wonderful overnight stop and stay !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Always good to know our guests Sleep well. Also very happy that your stay was pleasant.. We are close to I-81 and I-64 so please keep us in mind when traveling in VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We needed a hotel just for an overnight sleep on our way to pick up our daughter at camp. The front desk staff was wonderful. Lillian and Joyce were friendly, attentive and welcoming. The hotel is very clean and decorated nicely. Our room was not huge, but certainly big enough for our needs. The morning breakfast (included in price) was more than adequate. In addition to variety, the lady who was in charge kept it clean and certainly seemed to enjoy her job. She had a smile and a great demeanor. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMF552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for you comments. We are alwasys happy to hear we have made our guest stay pleasant. Pleas keep us and Sleep Inns in mind on future trips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family and I were passing through and stopped over in Staunton on our way north. There were 7 of us total and we needed 3 rooms for the adults and kids. I was a bit hesitant about Sleep Inn and typically stay at one of the larger chains.

Everything was great. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. Wi-Fi was free and there was breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am very happy you choose our Sleep Inn and had such a good expereience. You stated in your comments that you normally stay at larger chains. Sleep Inn is a Choice hotel like Comfort Inn-Quality Inn-Clarion etc. I hope you will try another Sleep Inn or Choice property.in the future. We would love to have you return to our Sleep Inn should you travel in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had been traveling all day and decided to stop for the night. I thought the outside of the building and the surrounding area looked fine, so I decided to get a room. I was greeted by Lillian and Joyce at the front desk and these two ladies couldn't have been any nicer. The inside of the hotel was decorated very nice and it was very clean. Our room was a nice size for two of us and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was included and it was also very good. Looks like a nice area and would definetly come back to explore another time. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It sounds like you accidentally found us and it was a positive experience. Thank you for your comments and I will pass on the inormation to the two ladies you mentioned. Please stay with us again on future trips to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
798 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Staunton
271 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 222 Jefferson Hwy, Staunton, VA 24401-6601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#5 Family Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is centrally located off Interstate 81 in the Shenandoah Valley. Surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, this Staunton hotel is close to the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, Mary Baldwin College, P. Buckley Moss Museum, Blackfriars Theatre and Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library. The scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
Staunton Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing