We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat After All Day Driving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Staunton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Real Treat After All Day Driving”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Hampton Inn at 40 Payne Lane, Staunton, Va. is a real treat after a long day of driving on Interstate 81. It sits very high overlooking the city and land around it with great views of the mountains. It is immaculate in cleanliness and astonishing in friendliness. Reservations are strongly suggested as it fills quickly daily. The front desk staff are competant (a rarity these days) and genuinely willing to help you find just the right local resturtant/store/ whatever to satisfy your need. I have been there 3 times now and feel very much at home. The morning breakfast is just right, with newspapers and TV to accompany your meal/or not if you want a little quiet like I do.The rooms are fine and the beds are divine ! Staying here is a refreshing treat for the weary traveler...try it ! Harry from Highland Falls, NY

Room Tip: Make a reservation, smokers rooms are a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    145
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
202
240
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times and it is always a great. Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms, nice morning breakfast. It is also located next to great chain restaurants for dinner and lunch (like cracker barrel). We would never stay anywhere else. All chains should strive for this luxury and service at a great price. Thank you to all at the Hampton Inn in Staunton! P.S. we came home and ordered the pillows, shower curtain and mattress pad online when we got home --- that's how much we loved the room!

Room Tip: Shop online for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank You so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor! I really appreciate the nice comments you made regarding our property. It is always such a pleasure to hear from our guests after they have checked out, and we are constantly striving to provide just the experience you have had at our hotel. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance, and I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Hampton Inn-Staunton, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This was up to the fine Hampton standard, and cleaner than some. Only complaint is weak internet in our room. Good location for charming downtown Staunton (good restaurants, Shakespeare theatre) and regional touring. Across the street from a big mall with department stores, on a 'strip' with every kind of fast food.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This was a lovely place to spend the first night of a long road trip. The staff was friendly & efficient, a pleasure to deal with. The location although near the highway, was pleasantly situated on the side of a wooded hill overlooking a valley. The room was good sized and the bathroom luxurious with a great shower. Only unfortunate aspect was the dismal free breakfast buffet with few choices including dried out eggs and potatoes.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cares4Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This hotel was clean, and the staff was awesome. They were genuinely concerned about our comfort and at every turn they went out of their way to make our stay a delight.

Everything was relatively new in the hotel, and I really had no complaints. We drive through this area pretty regularly for business, and I'll definitely stay here on the next go around.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eemsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
I am so pleased to hear that we not only met, but exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to share your review with our team members. Our goal is to always provide top notch service and accommodations to our guests as well as to uphold the brand standards that Hampton Inn has set forth. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed last night. Perfectly fine. Check in was smooth, and young lady gave nice and complete directions to our desired restaurant. Breakfast was good. By way of this note, I'm informing management of a need to fix a rattle in the heater/air conditioner in Room 325. It didn't bother our sleep, as we were very tired, but it does need fixing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank You for your review. We continually strive to make our guests feel at home and completely satisfied when staying at our property. I hope we will have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We are actually locals who have been displaced by a fire. We are in this hotel perhaps more than most and as such, are experiencing it unlike many do. We listen as each guest is given a warm reception, assistance without limit, genuine kindness. The team operates as a team. The accommodations exceed any I have experienced as a seasoned traveler and a frequent Hampton guest. I am in the hospitality business and consider myself a fair critic. I am overwhelmed at the level of consistent service provided. I think this hotel stands as an example of what many say they have but don't and what many of us in the industry seek but seldom find. Well done - from the crew to management. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanNortwick-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
1.8 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Property: Hampton Inn Staunton
Address: 40 Payne Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-5513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Staunton 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing